We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #71 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Checkin and checkout went smoothly. Efficient and friendly.
Valet carparking was quick.
Room much larger than I expected from other Comfort Inns.
Room could have done with a few minor maintenance issues.
Room was clean.
Elevators were slow due to renovations being undertaken. A fair bit of noise from tradespersons working on the elevators during the early evening.
Breakfast was above expectations of the normal Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndPancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

This high-rise hotel is in a great part of town for exploring Denver. You can get to the free shuttle on 16th St. in less than 2 minutes (1 block away) which takes you to LoDo. My room was fairly small, and the bathroom was also small. The bed covers were older style as was the furniture and carpeting. In fact, the entire hotel is dated. But I will say the entire hotel seemed clean. My room was certainly clean.
The hotel is currently upgrading the elevators and while you can hear the elevators in the room, the noise is fairly faint, however because its constant I can see it being bothersome to some guests. I wear ear plugs so it didn't bother me in the slightest.
Breakfast was very generous, hot eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogurt, danishes, toast and cereal.
What I didn't like is they do not offer a morning paper and the price to park your car is really high at $20 per night. I parked my car at a nearby parking lot for $10 per night. Otherwise its a really good bargain. I paid $69/night and for the location, that just can't be beat!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Attended a conference and was impressed by the customer service and cleanliness of the room. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This place is a gem. If you want to be in downtown denver, the location can't be beat. Walking distance to just about everything - malls, restuarants, a fantastic local bookstore called the Tattered Cover that I'd take over a B&N anyday. The staff was VERY helpful. Good business center. Really, the amenities were quite nice, especially for the $99 price. And it's connected via skywalk to the Brown Palace, which is fantastic. Head over there just to experience the lobby. Both hotels are owned by the same group and share staffs. Just had a great experience. Only downside I could find was the $20 parking fee that wasn't well advertised. But even at $120 this is hotel is a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Others on trip-advisor seem to have had the same problems with this hotel. I spent months trying to get some kind of compensation for a guaranteed room that was canceled by this hotel. If your room is overbooked by this hotel don't expect any help from this hotel, only the run run- run run- runaround! And to top it all off THEY CHARGED MY VISA FOR THE ROOM! WHAT?????? Luckily, they agreed that was a mistake. Don't bother even to take a chance on this so called hotel. Nothing but headaches.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The location for downtown and easy access to most things a tourist wants to do in Denver is wonderful at this Comfort Inn. This is a really old building, so one needs to keep that in mind, but it has everything a Comfort Inn has to offer, same type rooms and bathrooms, tvs, breakfast, etc, and then so much more. The Brown Palace is attached to this Comfort Inn and you can use their facilities. The gym is shared, (yes a really nice gym at a Comfort Inn) and on the Comfort Inn Side. Brown Palace has wonderful restaurants, pubs, happy hour and 24 hour room service (yes 24 hour room service at a Comfort Inn). Plus you get a 15% discount when you eat at the Brown Palace when you are a guest at Comfort Inn. IMO this has to be the best value in Denver. Except for the room, it is like you are staying at the Brown Palace. We thought the room was very quiet, never heard anyone else. The only negative is the elevators are slow, but again old building. Great place, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

If you are bothered by noise, do not stay in this hotel. I live in NYC and do not expect ultra quiet rooms. The elevators going up and down all night is unbelievable. The noise is as if you were out there riding with the thing. I changed rooms and I'm certain you can hear the noise anywhere in this hotel. I stayed at the brown palace the first night. They were unable to accomodate me for a second night and booked me at comfort inn. What a mistake!!! Only good thing is location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonimills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 158 in Denver
1,573 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: £116 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing