We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Denver visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #35 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel was fine, but I left a shirt behind, called twice to inquire as to whether or not it had been found, was transferred to voice mail, and never received a return call. Location was favorable and a great running trail nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hi Brent R -
Thank you for your recent review of the Curtis. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't "wow" you and we would love another opportunity to welcome you the next time you make it to Denver. This time, with the WOW factor.
I would very much like to help you to retrieve your shirt - can you please email me with the details and I will look into this for you straight away? My email address is: kate.thompson@thecurtis.com

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

After arriving on Friday night. We awoke to a sewage smell in the lobby and di not go away until after we left on Sunday. Called down to the management and they said they where aware of the proplem, but nothing was done to get ride of the smel. It made you feel ill to your stomach. I was very displeased with them not getting rid of the smel or at least masking it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hello Robert M;
I am so, incredibly sorry for what was clearly an uncomfortable stay with us. We strive to make your experience feel like you're at a "home away from home" and we certainly missed the mark here.
The odor issue has been addressed and corrected, but we needed to take better care of you and find the best solution possible while you were with us. If you do have an opportunit to return, please feel welcome to reach out to me directly at kate.thompson@thecurtis.com and I will be happy to help arrange your stay.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel was chosen due to the reviews I had read here and a few other places, we were looking for something downtown with a bit of character and not too expensive. From a quality perspective I would say that it is on average with hotels in its price range, nothing blew me away, but it wasn't bad. The personality of the hotel was interesting, if not a bit too kitschy. Unlike other reviews I found the bed to be perfectly comfortable (though the throw pillows are a bit much and I'm not happy that pillows that I'm forced to put on the floor end up on my bed every day).

I had two issues with this hotel, the first being the train that sounded its horn all night every night. There's nothing one can do about it, but I wanted to make people aware that if you're on the West side, you are most likely going to hear the trains. Secondly was the bell service, both days that we needed Taxi's we couldn't find anyone to help and even when we did, they pretty much ignored us.

Overall the hotel wasn't bad, but there was no defining characteristic that I could say would make it above average.

Room Tip: Avoid the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hi there Ben 617;
We are so sorry for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this information so that we may work to correct it. As you mentioned, we are not able to do much about the trains, but we will always be happy to move you to another location in the hotel.
The lack of attention from the bell staff is absolutely unacceptable. We've addressed this with the team, knowing that these associates are usually the first point of contact that any guest has at the hotel. We definitely hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Curtis.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Should have stayed at another nearby hotel with better amenities, like free Wi-Fi, in room fridge, microwave, etc. Front desk staff was not very enthusiastic or welcoming. Restaurant did not have many choices for lunch, dinner. Hotel has nice theme, but just misses the mark in service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hello Gene A -
Thank you very much for leaving these comments about your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that your experience was not special and, when service is part of that equation, that is a massive concern for us. Please know that we have shared your comments with our management team and we've covered this with all of our front office associates.
We do offer complimentary standard wireless internet access and all guest rooms are being updated to include refrigerators in all of the rooms. While we understand that these things will not make up for poor service, we do hope that you'll give us another try.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very good experience, there is only 1 thing the beds are not what i would expect from a Hilton, the beds were hard. Everything else was great, the downtown Denver location for the Double Tree "The Curtis" is great plus located near "Sams 3" Diner good place to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Trip Advisor Member!
Thanks so much for the review - we greatly appreciate the feedback and will definitely share your thoughts on the guest room beds with our Hilton team.

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Curtis is a fun little hotel with lots of personality - a pleasant change from the ordinary, indistinguishable experience of most major chains. (Just having the robot voice in the elevator announce "Eighth floor, the science fiction floor" after a long day, was a nice diversion.) Close to the convention center for business guests, yet in the entrainment area for a little local flavor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi George B!
Thanks so much for your awesome review - we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to come back and visit after March 2014 when all of our rooms will be renovated and there will be a "hyper-themed" room on each floor (think Star Trek heaven on the Sci-Fi floor).

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've always wanted to stay here simply for its niche factor. I've passed the hotel several times and finally got to stay here. i have to say that i did feel that the bathroom was extremely tiny. and the annoying speaker in the elevators

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Justyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Justyn W -
Thank you for your recent review and we're glad that you finally made it to the Curtis. When you come back to see us, check out one of our corner rooms. These bathrooms are more spacious and better accommodate multiple travelers.

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#45 of 160 in Denver
2,798 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#37 of 160 in Denver
1,616 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 1405 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-2349 (Formerly Executive Tower Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Denver
#16 Family Hotel in Denver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £87 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to downtown Denver's refreshing new hotel experience. The Curtis Hotel, remodeled and reopened in January of 2007, features chic, contemporary guest rooms and all of the ameneties that one would expect from a world-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Curtis Hotel Denver
Curtis Denver
Curtis Hotel Denver Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing