We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is our place; my wife's and mine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #31 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lupton, United States
1 review
“This is our place; my wife's and mine!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

When I arrived I thought that I had paid for the hotel online, but the counter attendant told me otherwise and he was correct. I was a bit upset, but he handled the situation perfectly and professionally. I feel you should understand this person defused what was probably a stressful situation – he’s a keeper. Also, I mentioned online that this was for my Wife’s Birthday and I felt that the Curtis showed a great deal of class by sending up a bottle of wine. My wife and I love the atmosphere at the Curtis it isn’t stiff and cold. DO NOT change it ever!!! This is and always will be our favorite Denver Hotel! We love it and the people that work there. LOVE IT!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi Alan R;
We love being your place - thank you for the awesome review!
The only things that we are changing are to make the hotel better and almost (if you can believe it) a little more quirky. Our guest rooms and lobby are all getting a refresh to update and upgrade the hotel, but our sense of fun and our amazing associates will remain. We can't wait to see you and the wife again!

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    527
    172
    67
    37
See reviews for
223
406
74
732
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel has a great location in Denver downtown. The room was nice and clean. The hotel personnel was very friendly. The price of the hotel was very reasonable, and much cheaper than that of most of the hotels nearby. Overall, I had a very pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hello Michela B;
We greatly appreciate your review and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Denver!

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall had an excellent experience. I was on the highest floor so the room was cold, despite the heater working properly. The hotel has is pretty funny because each floor has a theme and there are songs or some phrases that you hear in the elevator whenever you arrive at a floor. Room was in great condition. Staff was really nice. You even get a cookie when you arrive! Definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hello Ivana M!
Thank you for the awesome review - we hope to see you again soon!

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The music in the elevator is cute, with a bit of a theme to each floor. In reality, that 2-second sound bite is about the only memorable thing about the hotel. The rooms are modest. The horrible noise from the air conditioning unit was so bad that I just left it off. For 14 days. Yes, 14 days in the same hotel room (kill me now). In 14 days, you can find just about every fault with a hotel property. Easily. They feature a "Call Line" that replaces all the customary Operator, Front Desk, etc buttons on the phone. NOT HELPFUL when they will not answer that line, and the individual extensions are not printed anywhere. The wireless was terrible. I spot-checked the performance several times throughout the stay, and found download speeds that were well below 0.5Mb/sec. So any sort of streaming (netflix, etc), you tube, etc is impossible. It's so bad that VPNs time out and business email will be unbearable.The bathroom contained a small shower, no tub. The shower curtain needed to be changed. If you, your spouse, your kids, whatever, want a tub, you're out of luck. The TV station selection is meager and the preset volume is way too loud. Train station and street noise can disrupt your sleep. Some positives- they stack USA Today and WSJ at every elevator lobby, They have warm cookies. Just ask. They are pet friendly. I did hear a bit of barking, but it was no big deal. There are dog biscuits and water at the hotel lobby entrance. The Office (restaurant) has a tasty breakfast buffet for about $20, including the ability to custom order an omelette or something other than the traditional undercooked scrambled eggs. Of course, for about $7, you can go 1/2 a block to Sam's #3 for their yummy and vast breakfast menu. The Office also has a nicely stocked bar and pleasant staff for evening festivities, if you are so inclined. This particular area, just North of the Convention Center, is convenient for Convention Events. However, I will consider other options in the same price range the next time I am in downtown Denver...

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. A/C unit noise is very distracting. Lower floors reduce wait times for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freqtraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hello freqtraveler86;
We really appreciate you leaving your feedback and I am so sorry to read that your stay was less than stellar. It is not acceptable that the hotel Care Line was not answered during your stay and this issue has absolutely been addressed with the hotel associates. That one-stop-shop should make your stay more comfortable with accessing various departments with ease and I'm sorry that this was not the case for you.
Please know that we do offer guest rooms with bath tubs and we are always happy to accommodate this request when these rooms are available. We also offer a high-speed "streaming" option for internet that will absolutely cure the internet speed concerns.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to Denver!
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loved everything about my stay, ESPECIALLY Jason, from MN, who was a huge help in making our trip memorable. The only bad thing was that the shower would fluctuate from ice cold to scalding hot during every shower. It was miserable and instead of enjoying a leisurely shower in the lovely shower I was leaping around from the hot or cold and trying to get out as fast as possible. It became functional and almost survival.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hello Melissa G!
Thank you for visiting us recently and thank you so much for your review! I am very sorry that your shower water was not working properly; that can be a very uncomfortable way to start the day. Please do give us a call if this ever happens again. We will be more than happy to have someone repair that straight away, or help you move to another room in the hotel, if that is a better option.

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

From a first glance the room was wonderful. Large by European or Japanese standards. King size bed, 42" TV. Fancy design. Friendly staff. Good for one night stay with a girl.

But it is autumn and I turned on the heater.
It was awful! The noise. It's like living and sleeping at the factory. The rasping sound from broken fan bearing didn't let me to close my eyes.

The staff was telling me that they don't hear any noise and this is normal. They didn't want to fix the heater or change the room first. It took at least 3 hours of time lost for insisting on the room change. Including my flight, I didn't sleep for 2 days because of such friendliness.

Next day I finally got another room on the last floor with a little bit softer sound coming from a heater.
A bit shabby with an AWFUL SMELL. I don't know what is it. Maybe that is the vomited room reported 2 days earlier, maybe someone died there. Additional smell of fried dust comes from heater. The ventilation doesn't work well. I couldn't breath. I couldn't sleep well. After turning off the heater I finally got cold and was returning back by 12 hours flight in awful shape. Thanks to this hotel.

And a week after that they sent me an extra bill, that they hid from me when checking out. What a cheap trickery! They included $8 for 2 extra 0.5 bottles of water, attached to the teapot. WHAT THE HELL!? There were no price tag or any price list in the room for this. There's even no minibars in the hotel. Even teabag was used and empty when I entered the room first time.

I should also include in the report that the facilities doesn't include slippers, tooth brush or anything for hygiene, except standard soap and shampoo. In the first room one of 3 bath towels was dirty.

In Denver, there's an airport shuttle ($22). But I failed to catch it from the first try. I was lucky to jump in the next shuttle. The driver told me that the hotel stuff usually shoos shuttles away because they get thank$ from "airport limo" companies ($50+tips).

The only good points are location, big bed and room size (not the bathroom size).

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and check the heater condition. Or better just choose another hotel. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Someonefromjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear SomeonefromJapan;
I can't tell you how very sorry I am for the issues that you encountered during your recent stay. It was embarassing to read your review and to read that we did not make things right for you when you addressed your concerns with our team. We have shared your review throughout the hotel and will use this as a training opportunity.
Please know that we do offer additional hygene products and will always be happy to bring those to you, upon request. Also, while there is a charge for the bottled water in the guest room, it is not intended to trick you and I would be more than happy to remove those charges for you. Please feel welcome to reach out to me directly at kate.thompson@thecurtis.com and I will be happy to help however I can.

All the best,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel was fine, but I left a shirt behind, called twice to inquire as to whether or not it had been found, was transferred to voice mail, and never received a return call. Location was favorable and a great running trail nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi Brent R -
Thank you for your recent review of the Curtis. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't "wow" you and we would love another opportunity to welcome you the next time you make it to Denver. This time, with the WOW factor.
I would very much like to help you to retrieve your shirt - can you please email me with the details and I will look into this for you straight away? My email address is: kate.thompson@thecurtis.com

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 1405 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-2349 (Formerly Executive Tower Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Denver
#26 Family Hotel in Denver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to downtown Denver's refreshing new hotel experience. The Curtis Hotel, remodeled and reopened in January of 2007, features chic, contemporary guest rooms and all of the ameneties that one would expect from a world-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Curtis Hotel Denver
Curtis Denver
Curtis Hotel Denver Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing