We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #34 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked this hotel as it was a DOUBLETREE property and have stayed at many hotels of the brand. This hotel give DOUBLETREE a bad name.

The room was not clean, with much mold in the shower and the white shower curtain turning yellow.

Room Tip: There is no tip for a good room, not sure if the have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello Don P;
I'm so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room at the Curtis. While we are a soft-branded DoubleTree, we certainly put our own spin on things....but there should never be a question of cleanliness.
I would greatly appreciate it if you would email me at kate.thompson@thecurtis.com and let me know which room you stayed in, or just general information about your reservation so that I can find that room and ensure that this is addressed ASAP.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great downtown hotel with a very friendly staff. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the local restaurants and nightlife. Close to the convention center, ballpark, capitol, zoo and excellent food. Only issue we had was finding room service. Our room was not cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank I_love_seafood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello I_love_seafood_13;
Thanks so much for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear about your room not being cleaned daily. Obviously, this is not at all common practice, and we have brought this review to the attention of our Gleam Team (AKA Housekeeping). We definitely hope to be able to welcome you back to the Curtis!

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were billed $250 for a cleaning fee because someone who we don't even know pooped on the floor in the bar's bathroom. A manager decided to bill us because we just happened to buy that person a drink earlier that night so they had our credit card info at the bar. We don't know him & are definitely not liable for his actions. It took us over 2 hours on the phone with a different manager to have the charge removed. Absolutely ridiculous and infuriating. What they attempted to do isn't even legal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Brianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not sure if I would stay again. Rate is high for an old hotel. Service was good but the restaurant in the lobby is way overpriced. Buffet breakfast for one adult and child $29.00 not including tip. Not much food for buffet. Restaurants outside hotel a lot cheaper. Rooms were ok. Cookies were warm when arrived at hotel. Free coffee 5a-1Oam in lobby but I didn't know right away since its hidden from view and that makes no sense. Free newspapers in lobby. I was there for family wedding. I would have chosen different hotel but wedding was right across the street so it was right nearby. I wasn't thrilled overall experience but it was ok. Don't leave anything in the linens when you leave the rooms since the maids just take the sheets off without looking. My daughter had a note from my wife who could not make the trip and on the second day it was taken with the linen. we forgot to take it off the bed and my daughter was upset. I called housekeeping and they could not find it but the hotel sent up an bucket with 2 sodas, a toy and a pack of mixed nuts and a note which was nice but we don't drink soda...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank sinustacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi sinustacky;
We're so sorry to read that the Curtis was not your cup of tea. We always strive to be so much more than just a so-so experience but understand how the lost note in the sheets can tarnish a stay. Thank you for your feedback and please know that we have shared this with our housekeeping team.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Oh wow! This hotel is quirky and fun but not because the hotel is designed that way but the people that work there are amazing! I have to give a huge shout out to the Valet team there (I think his name is Erik) when I arrived I was a mess and lost but he helped smooth everything and made check in a 5 star quality. I didn't even bring my one piece of luggage in as they walked me in from my car! The people there just simply care. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Jake S!
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you so much for the shout-out to our staff. They are AWESOME! We have passed along your message to Eric as well. Come see us again soon!

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here on Memorial Day weekend while doing a show at the Buell Theatre. Nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel!! Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, rooms are original and fun, and there are tons of food options walkable from the hotel. Would absolutely book this hotel again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Stacy M;
We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For Downtown Denver this hotel is a great place to stay. About 17 floors each with its own wacky style. I stayed two separate times during my visit to the US. On the Laugh Out Loud Floor,7th Floor. The Scary Movie Floor on the 13th Floor of course. We were tempted to try every floor in the elevator to see what it would say on each floor. Warm cookies are given to you to welcome you to the hotel. Breakfast is a choice of cereals, toast (bread & bagels), yogurts, a cooked breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon etc.. Juices, tea & coffee. No cheeses, cooked meats, pastries this is the US not Europe. The rooms were both clean & tidy, the room on the 13th floor seemed bigger than the one on the 7th floor. The bathroom was nicer on the 13th floor as well, only a sower on the 7th floor and a bath with shower over in room 1308.Hairdryer, tv, telephone, safety deposit box and fridge all in the room. Cost to/from Denver International Airport was $55 for 2 people & bags. The Super shuttle was $22 per person with bags. Staff were very polite and helpful. Hotel had a gym I believe but didn't see it. Parking for cars seemed to be right next door again I didn't use it. Walk downtown to 16th Street Mall use the free bus service.

Room Tip: Room 1308 seemed nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leicestershireduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear leicestershireduo;
Thank you so much for making the Curtis your home twice while in Denver! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time and we certainly hope for the opportunit to welcome you back.

Stay Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,793 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 160 in Denver
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 1405 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-2349 (Formerly Executive Tower Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Denver
#16 Family Hotel in Denver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £77 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to downtown Denver's refreshing new hotel experience. The Curtis Hotel, remodeled and reopened in January of 2007, features chic, contemporary guest rooms and all of the ameneties that one would expect from a world-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Curtis Hotel Denver
Curtis Denver
Curtis Hotel Denver Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing