We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a little updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Newcastle, Wyoming
1 review
“Needs a little updating”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Room we were in had the smell of stale smoke. The breakfast, though hearty, was cold and expensive. Service at breakfast was good.

Room Tip: top floor room was tiny. Toilet loose from the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 297Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    171
    131
    74
    45
See reviews for
97
106
54
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT USA
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza on August 30th. We booked through hotwire.com. The lobby was nice but it went downhill from there. The carpeting in the lobby to the elevators and on the 2nd floor where we stayed was worn and bumpy which is a trip hazard for all guests. The first room we got smelled of cleaning products and a faint hint of smoke. The second room smelled of cigars. The third also had a lingering smoke smell. The fourth room was fine overall. After time, we could smell a little smoke remnants. The bathroom vanities are updated but the floor is not. The wallpaper in the room looks like it was put up in the 70's. While we were assured that there has not been smoking allowed for several years in the rooms, the smell is an issue that needs to be addressed. To have to call down to the lobby 3 times to get a room that was acceptable and the wait for each staff member to assist us was frustrating and disappointing.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craftycat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihg care at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with the hotel conditions.

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

A decent hotel with terrible service. Don't count on the shuttle to take you or pick you up. Was given the wrong information twice. Given your other options take one of those.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiseytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused you.

I am pleased you did like our hotel. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our flight was delayed into Denver and we called for transfer services at 3:20 am. Told by D... at the front desk that we would have to wait forty minutes. It was how he spoke not only to me but a business man who had already phoned for pick-up. When the driver finally arrived, I inquired the distance to the hotel and was asked, "You got a problem"? Thinking that I misunderstood him, I asked the same question two more times. I finally learned that the Crowne Plaza Denver International hotel is actually 12 miles from the airport. At that point, since I did not know where we were going and we had a beligerent employee. I said no more. Clients should not have to feel intiminated and concerned for their safety.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihg care at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards our staff services. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you.

I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

I would like to thank you for your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

All necessary ammenities for business travel, wireless in the room worked great, refrig, microwave - everything was great. Free shuttle from DIA to the hotel and back. Big atrium area with restaurant, which was too pricey for breakfast ($5.00 for a sweet roll that was stale and 3 inches in diameter?) But there are plenty of food establishments nearby, so go to Applebee's for dinner and fast-food for lunch or breakfast. Workout room was visible from the atrium area, which was unusual. The best part was the shuttle right to your door.........I'll go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My parents and I stayed at this property the day before and the day after our seven day bus tour. We got a great rate through Hotwire. Wow, I didn't realize how good we had it the first day until we stayed at some of the bus tour accomodations!

When we arrived at the airport, I called the hotel to find out where the shuttle was going to pick us up. It arrived within 15 minutes. There was a number of guests going to the same hotel, but the bus driver was quick and efficient on both loading and unloading luggage when we were picked up and dropped off.

When we got to the hotel, there was only one person at the reservations desk, but the security manager also stepped behind a desk to check guests in, so the line went quickly. We were given a room with king bed and sofa sleeper (with no earplug/eyemask/linenspray sachet!); would've preferred a 2 queen room but it was late and we were tired. Had to call down to ask for linens for the sofa sleeper; they were brought within 5 minutes.

The next morning, we used the exercise room, which was quite large with a variety of equipment. There were towels and a water filtering machine, which was nice. Check out was quick and easy. The airport shuttle again was efficient. Make sure to ask to be put on the schedule the evening before; again, heading to the airport it was a full bus!

After our tour, we rented a car and drove back to Crowne Plaza to stay the night. It was easy to reach from the car rentals at the airport. This time, we asked for and got 2 queen beds. All amenities were in place and fine. This evening, we used the pool and hot tub facility. Striped towels located nearby. I liked how the pool room was seperated from the lobby with frosted glass, but not from the parking lot? Unless the parking lot side had tinted glass, the fact that others could look into the pool is a bit disconcerting.

For the business traveler, they have a business center with 3(?) computers, a printer, and a copier/printer/fax. It was convenient for me to print out our boarding passes before we left. In-room wireless signal was strong (we stayed on Floors 2 and 3). Did not get to have a drink at the bar, and indeed, the fountain in the main lobby is beautiful.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. We found that it was everything it was advertised to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

wonderful staff.Jason at front desk is wonderful.The resturant staff was polite and accomidating to our needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricktforaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver Airport at Gateway Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Property: Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Address: 15500 E 40th Ave, Denver, CO 80239-5701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Center hotel has undergone a full sleeping room and public area renovation, complete September 2011. Located 15 minutes from Denver International Airport and minutes from great shopping, dining and entertainment at Northfield Stapleton, shuttle service is provided complimentary. The hotel features 84,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including an impressive 60,000-square-foot Convention Center that accommodates as many as 4,000 guests and offers planners an 8' wide x 18' tall access door for heavy machinery and vehicle displays. Additionally, the hotel offers 1200 complimentary parking spaces and complimentary shuttle service to and from Denver International Airport. The hotel has earned a Meeting Service Excellence Ribbon from surveyed meeting planners who have held events at the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport. With the ability to fly to Denver International Airport in 2 - 3 hours from anywhere in the country and easy access on I-70 or E - 470, this suburban Denver hotel and convention center is ideally suited for annual conferences of any kind. The hotel is centrally located between Downtown Denver, Denver International Airport and Buckley Air Force Base and is a short car or shuttle ride from the Rocky Mountains. Industries that are concentrated in the area include Aerospace, Military, Agriculture, Sustainable Energy, Medical, Pharmaceutical, and Technology. Also, Anschutz Medical Complex is just a few mile from the hotel and a shuttle is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel Denver
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing