We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Held A Week Long Conference Here For 300+ people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Ranked #87 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The good:

- The conference space was spacious.
- The banquet staff was generally polite and helpful. When we asked for extra chairs and stairs for the risers they were provided promptly. They also kept the trash cans from overflowing despite us constantly needing to use them to throw away food containers.
- They let us bring in outside catering.

The bad: Where do I start?

- Despite having floor power sockets all over the place, we were told none of them actually worked and we had to pay them to run extension cords from a central power station. We were told several they were 20 amp lines but they were clearly only 15 amp lines. We didn't actually NEED more than 15 amp lines, but they shouldn't tell us things that aren't true.
- The tables they provided were old and in terrible condition. One of them collapsed, dumping a TV on the floor and breaking it. It wasn't even a heavy TV!
- The risers we requested were also in terrible condition, including missing screws, exposed splintered wood, and bent metal frames.
- The hotel staff kept coming in and adjusting the thermostat in the conference space to "sub-arctic" for no reason.
- The AV/network staff member for the hotel was rude. Knowledgeable and competent, but rude.
- Despite having two conferences next to us that had music somewhere this side of "the bass is rattling my teeth", we got noise complaints because somebody was yelling a bit too loud.
- Refrigerators and microwaves missing from several rooms, and only replaced the day after most attendees had left.
- Several broken bathroom doors.
- Housekeeping failing to keep the rooms clean and/or replace towels in a timely fashion.
- We were promised free breakfast for the attendees but since it never actually got written into the contract for some reason they didn't actually provide it.

In short, if all you need is a large banquet hall, then this might be suitable for you. Expecting anything more than that is probably a waste of your time and money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Benjamin C,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We also appreciate you letting know of issues that were not brought to our attention during the convention. We are working with the event staff privately and are confident that we will resolve all issues necessary. We hope to see you next year.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently spent 8 days at this hotel/convention center for a major charity event known as Summer Games Done Quick. Many of the things we were promised for our rooms were not included, not the least of which was the mini fridge. It's not that the rooms didn't have them, it's that they were TAKEN OUT OF THE ROOMS before the event began. We we're given no reason for this change to our rooms and on the last day of my stay room service actually tried to DELIVER our fridge back to the room.

In addition to these issues the door on our bathroom could not lock and was barely usable due to their being no strike plate in the doorway. We were also told there would be a free continental breakfast with our stay at the hotel which was suddenly not available during the duration of our stay, again with no explanation.

The housekeeping staff did at least observe the do not disturb signs, however, when the signs were not up getting the room cleaned was nearly impossible. Twice during the stay i had to actively call the front desk and request cleaning service because our room was ignored for no explainable reason.

While the staff itself was friendly, the general management and the mysterious charges many of us have had to dispute on our cards in addition to our stay has caused no end of frustration with this hotel. In no context what so ever would i recommend anyone stay at this lodging as the issues that arose during our charity event were non stop and rarely resolved.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel in denver. This place is atrocious.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
18  Thank Travis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Travis N.,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and letting us know of issues that were not brought to our attention during the convention. We are working with the event staff privately and are confident that we will resolve all issues necessary. We hope to see you at this convention next year.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently attended the major Charity Event SGDQ that was held at this hotel, and the hotel's quality was abysmal. They actually removed the fridges from every hotel room the event attendees were going to be staying in. (A couple people had gotten in early and saw this happen) And they put them back as soon as the event was over (again, late stay people observed) The beds were rock hard (though the pillows were nice.) They had also initially offered the charity event free breakfast for attendees, but canceled that somewhere along the line. The location isn't that great either, some fast food places nearby, but not a lot of options. The hotel shuttle, which supposedly is 24h and marketed as taking people anywhere in a 5mile radius, has the hidden clause of "we do not do this until after 4 PM." The service was terrible, constantly had to call housekeeping to get restrooms cleaned and restocked, the hotel room I stayed in was cleaned once over the entire week, the hotel liked to try and put hidden charges on your bill, basically DO NOT GO HERE EVER.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Daniel F.,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We also appreciate you letting us know of issues that were not brought to our attention during the convention. We are working with the event staff privately and are confident that we will resolve any and all issues. We hope to see you next year at this convention.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a great value for the price. I used priceline express for the room and it was a great value. The only complaint that I have was that there was not a coffee shop in the lobby. The pool room is open late, which is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashadevonneellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi sashadevonneellis,
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, specifically the late pool hours. We are sorry we don't have coffee in the lobby and we appreciate your feedback. We will look into that option. Thanks for staying at Crowne Plaza DIA and we hope to see you back soon.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Older property but clean and comfortable enough. A great deal of the staff were excellent. The room was quite well updated, and the bed and linens above average. No fridge which is more and more annoying as ice buckets seldom carry the weight in 2014. This isn't really in Denver and pretty much anything you want to do will require a car. The only convenient thing you can walk to are the restaurants in the area and there are some good ones. Wifi service was fast and useful, business Center was small and the equipment didn't work well.

Anyway, for the money it was pretty middle-of-the-road, the staff bumped it up for the most part. If I had to go again I wouldn't be upset.

Room Tip: The property is right on the highway. I would suggest a room facing the front of the hotel as that r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HavanaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi HavanaBob,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. At Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport, we're constantly working to improve our property to ensure the satisfaction of our guests. We understand that you have several choices when choosing a hotel and appreciate your choice to stay with us.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location and service if you have to catch a flight. The standard is good as is the rooms and beds. They have a 24 hour shuttle bus service to the airport. We used the spa area, which is more or less only a pool and a jacuzzi. Very relaxing though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi Stefan J,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. At Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport, we're constantly working to improve our property to ensure the satisfaction of our guests. We understand that you have several choices when choosing a hotel and appreciate your choice to stay with us.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good location, nice breakfast, could use some renewal. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location to the airport. Nice bar to relax in. Room service is available after the restaurant closes at 10 PM.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dschwab_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi dschwab_13,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. At Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport, we're constantly working to improve our property to ensure the satisfaction of our guests. We understand that you have several choices when choosing a hotel and appreciate your choice to stay with us.
Don Woodin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 160 in Denver
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Address: 15500 E 40th Ave, Denver, CO 80239-5701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: £64 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Center hotel has undergone a full sleeping room and public area renovation, complete September 2011. Located 15 minutes from Denver International Airport and minutes from great shopping, dining and entertainment at Northfield Stapleton, shuttle service is provided complimentary. The hotel features 84,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including an impressive 60,000-square-foot Convention Center that accommodates as many as 4,000 guests and offers planners an 8' wide x 18' tall access door for heavy machinery and vehicle displays. Additionally, the hotel offers 1200 complimentary parking spaces and complimentary shuttle service to and from Denver International Airport. The hotel has earned a Meeting Service Excellence Ribbon from surveyed meeting planners who have held events at the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport. With the ability to fly to Denver International Airport in 2 - 3 hours from anywhere in the country and easy access on I-70 or E - 470, this suburban Denver hotel and convention center is ideally suited for annual conferences of any kind. The hotel is centrally located between Downtown Denver, Denver International Airport and Buckley Air Force Base and is a short car or shuttle ride from the Rocky Mountains. Industries that are concentrated in the area include Aerospace, Military, Agriculture, Sustainable Energy, Medical, Pharmaceutical, and Technology. Also, Anschutz Medical Complex is just a few mile from the hotel and a shuttle is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel Denver
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing