We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic evening and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Ranked #46 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

For our 17th wedding anniversary, we used a Groupon we purchased in March for the Magnolia Hotel. I expected a nice room and hidden charges. What a surprise.
When we checked in, the clerk noticed we had a bottle of wine and offered us a corkscrew - how nice to have a service person be so observant.
Our room was a suite! Gas fireplace in the sitting room with a flat screen tv; bar area had a refridgerator, bar sink, wine glasses - the works. The bathroom had a beautfiul tub/shower as well as a modern counter and sink. the bedroom had view of downtown Denver, flat screen tv, king size bed.
It was a wonderful evening and what perks - in the early evening there was a cocktail reception in the lounge and then between 8 and 10pm there were cookies and milk!
Upon checking out, the only thing we owed were taxes and the valet parking charge.
We would definitely go back and I am going to keep my out out for another Groupon!

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was fabulous. The light-rail system ran up one street, but we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkenn1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 2,798 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

I looked on line for a hotel in Denver! I actually wanted one with a nice big bathtub. The Magnolia Hotel came up. I read many reviews and wasn't so sure after I read them. Said the hotel was noisy and staff not very helpful. Rooms not cleaned, and beds not so good and other things. I actually called the Hotel directly and told them what I had read and actually got a better deal then I would have if I would have gotten it threw a cheap hotel sight! The rooms were very nice and we had no problems. The Bed was very comfortable. The room was like an apartment. Very nice! Perfect for walking down to the 16th street mall. We did not park our car with them but drove around to find a cheaper place across the street to park. Totally recommend that to everyone!
Only bad was that I forgot my phone charger and I had only gotten to the car and turned around to go back in and they had already gone threw my room. hmm Why so fast I am not sure. My phone charger was gone but I did end up getting it back. They had to search for it. So be sure and double check your room before you leave!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSantana07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Very nice hotel with very helpful staff. Most convenient location (a block away from free shuttle up and down downtown and in front of transit trains). Excellent breakfast. If you self park, there is also a public parking garage a block away that has better overnight rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 030612nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Overall, my stay at the Magnolia was nice.
Pros of my stay:
*Staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, shopping, etc
*Beds were very comfortable
*Room had nice darkening shades
*Milk & cookies from 8-10 every evening
*Great location--only a block from 16th St. Mall and many businesses in the area

Cons of my stay:
*Room cleanliness could improve but was not awful (staff could have taken garbage out on a daily basis, put away iron, ironing board, cleaned water spots on desk)
*Quality of food at Continental breakfast was just OK (eggs, sausage, bagels, fruit, juice, coffee, hot tea)
*Internet was very difficult to connect to (no wireless)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelalynn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Staff are all nice, friendly and helpful. Decor is cool. Breakfast buffet was good in terms of selection and quality. Night time cookies were a great touch and very tasty. The hotel bar/restaurant is a little small but there are lots of restaurants near by. The lounge area where breakfast, evening reception and cookies are served is a great space (complete with water/rock garden)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcromarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is in an old building (which you can see mostly on the elevators), with very nice design elements in all areas like rooms, lobby and bar. The service is friendly - even someone to hold the door for you which I did not really need. They offer free beer in the afternoon and milk and cookies in the evening, which is a nice touch.
The hotel is right at the 16th Street Mall, so to go to LoDo or to the cultural center, all you need to do is hop on the free shuttle bus.
What I did not like all that much was breakfast - officially, it is available until 9am, but already 15 min before that, the staff starts to put things away, so that at 9 sharp, nothing is left. Since the hotel is not exactly cheap, I found that not very service minded.
Also, the bar (Harry's) was cooled down to fridge temperatures so lingering was not encouraged.
Rooms are small but nicely furnished, and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaley_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was my second time to stay at the Magnolia Hotel Denver in 2011. The room was spacious and comfortible. The staff was very helpful when I had questions. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is near many restaurants and stores for shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharons1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#37 of 160 in Denver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,136 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Address: 818 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#28 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £101 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for corporate and leisure travelers that desire a location walking distance to attractions including the Denver Convention Center, 16th Street Mall, Union Station, Coors Field, and all of downtown's restaurants, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing