We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff + roomy guestroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent 5 nights, during a conference. The entire staff was courteous, friendly and helpful, able to answer any question I'd have brought to a concierge. My good-sized room had two queen beds, a lounge chair and side table, desk, small fridge, and coffee-maker. The 24-hour fitness room has a moderate selection of machines and an inviting outdoor track (at 12 laps per mile, can grow repetitious fairly soon). This downtown hotel has outdoor seating on a balcony by the pool. Oddly, the lounge chairs look appealing, but once you stretch out, you face a brick wall.

The Hyatt, on a very bland strip of Welton, is less than two blocks from the popular 16th Street mall, with constant free shuttle buses, and a 10-15 minute walk from State Capital and Denver Art Museum. In our group's catered events as well as at Pub 17, the food was fairly good, and moderately priced for a hotel restaurant. At least four lobby computers and printer were always available for guests.

Two regrets: the irksome key system [which many of my colleagues groused about] requires rubbing it on elevator panel, room door, fitness entry at a specific angle to get in or move between floors. And the hotel totally lacks personality. Guest rooms, lobby, meeting rooms are all functional, non-descript, inoffensive, and utterly forgettable. At this tier of hotel, it's fun to see a little distinctiveness.

TIP: from airport, take Denver RTD bus, route AF, to Downtown. It goes to Market Street bus depot on 16 Street corridor. Hop on frequent free shuttle bus (low to the ground and luggage-friendly), about 1/2 mile to Welton, then walk 1.5 short blocks to Hyatt. The cost is $11 -- or $5.50 if you're over 65 and say "Senior fare" when you board the bus. The comfortable ride takes under an hour. www.rtd-denver.com/schedules

Room Tip: From the 19th floor, traffic noises were low. But when the wind kicked up, you definitely heard the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,635 - 1,641 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Here for NONPF Annual Meeting (600+ NP Faculty) for 4 nights -- paid a little extra for the Concierge Floor -- well worth it!!! The Concierge Bar area is comfortable and nicely appointed, very nice breakfast, snacks and honor bar -- non-ETOH drinks available on day -- computer and printing station as well! Workout room small but nicely done -- small pool with outdoor patio. Great place to relax with friends and the bar in the lobby is lovely as well. The staff is excellent -- particularly Bill (night manager), Peyton (reception), Brian (manager) and Abel (the poor guy from facilities who I inadvertently caused trouble for -- I'm so sorry!!!!!). Seriously, large, absolutely beautiful, comfortable room (get a King room on the 25th floor), great location and excellent staff. i would recommend this to anyone coming to Denver!!! Thanks so much for everything!

Room Tip: Floor 25 or 26 -- ask for a King Room and it's really spacious -- go for an odd number, though...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. I have given 4 stars out of 5 due to lack of parking. Rented a car from air port and should have had the hotel pick up. Had to pay for valet parking. This is my only complaint. Check in was great. The gentleman was professional and pleasant. Services, food and cocktail time was awesome.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Not having stayed overnight in Denver before, choosing a hotel on Hotels Combined was a bit of a risk, but the Grand Hyatt was a good choice. Reception is friendly and helpful and the two bars are good meeting places for people travelling alone.

Breakfast is typical of most hotels, but good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demondruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a one night stay in Denver at the Grand Hyatt and found the hotel satisfactory in all respects. A typical large covention-type hotel, we had a standard 2 bed room which was a bit crowded for our family of four but was fine for a brief stay. I especially liked the automatic floor lights that went on in the middle of the night to guide you to the bathroom without waking up everyone with the ceiling lights or lamps. The food at the Pub made for a great lunch and the location was ideal for exploring downtown to Denver. Valet parking was expensive but typical for a downtown hotel. We had club access which was great for breakfast (smoked salmon included) and cocktails, while not free were enjoyable in the club at 5:00 pm. All folks we encountered from the front desk to the bellman were particularly cheerful. A nice all around stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel was great -- I'm hard-pressed to think of a single negative thing! When I first checked in, the clerk informed me that they had run out of regular rooms so she was going to upgrade me to a corner suite with a king-sized bed for no extra charge. The room was very spacious and clean and had lots of nice touches, including motion-detector night lights at the foot of each nightstand that turned on when I had to get out of bed in the dark, and another motion-detector light that came on when I opened the closet door. The hotel also provided free wi-fi, and the bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. The bathroom had all the necessary amenities (e.g. soap, shampoo, Kleenex, hair dryer). The workout room was well-stocked with equipment and very clean. The food at the conference I was attending in the hotel was good, and the wait staff brought special meals (e.g. vegan/vegetarian) promptly, unlike other hotels I have seen. When my friends and I went to get a drink in the lobby bar one evening, the waitress was swamped with a large group that had arrived just before ours, so after a few minutes of waiting we gave up and went to another bar in a different section of the hotel, where we were served promptly. While we were enjoying our drinks, the waitress from the first bar appeared and apologized for our earlier wait! When I ended up having to leave the hotel a day earlier than expected, the front-desk clerk didn't charge me for the day I missed even though I informed him rather late in my stay. Finally, the hotel was very conveniently located near the 16th Street Mall which features lots of shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel; kudos to the management for a job well done!

Room Tip: Get a corner suite if you can -- mine was large and comfortable, and they are always located far fro...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccasionalAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a pretty nice hotel, clean room and updated. Valet is around $40 including tip each day however there is a parking garage across the street which will charge you $19. Good location, walking distance to 16 street mall. Our room was very clean and had modern furniture. For the price, you are paying for the location and convenience. Wifi and breakfast is not included. For the price we paid, it would be nice, but downtown, you will not find any hotel with free wifi or breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
867 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 158 in Denver
1,094 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown

Address: 1750 Welton St, Denver, CO 80202-3940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Denver
#6 Business Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#17 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £129 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Diamond AAA award winning Grand Hyatt Denver is in the heart of the Mile High City's business district and one short block from 16th Street Mall. Complete with a host of comforts, each spacious accommodation, one of the region's largest, features the Hyatt Grand Bed, well-lit work stations and free guest room WiFi. The hotel offers outdoor jogging track and tennis court, indoor pool and complimentary 24 hour fitness facility. In-room dining is available around the clock and the hotel features Pub 17 on Welton, with regionally sourced fare and a selection of Colorado micro brew . Linear stacked sandstone fireplaces in the lobby provides a warm welcome for arriving guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hyatt Denver Downtown
Denver Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing