We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location solid Marriott experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location solid Marriott experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Marriott provides a solid hotel experience. I shared the room with a business colleague and we were able to split the room bill and Marriott awarded both of our accounts rewards points. Nice restaurant and bar area and generally efficient and reliable Marriott experience. They have a great rewards program. Good location close to the local 16th street mall and 3 blocks from the Convention Center. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendeezquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    353
    178
    55
    27
See reviews for
101
109
45
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at the downtown Denver Marriott for business last week. The check in was a breeze and the lobby is nice. When I got to the room, I found it a little small, but it did have two queen beds. A king room would have had more room to move, I think. The size is probably normal for a downtown hotel. The work space was fine, with good lighting and plenty of electrical outlets, although they were a little far to the left for my iPhone and iPad cables to reach comfortably. I understand profit and revenue streams, but $12.95 per day for internet use is quite steep in this day and age. I didn't try to use the movie option on the TV, but a colleague did and he found the movies priced at $17.95 each. That's pretty pricey. I at lunch at the restaurant one day. The food was OK (burger & fries) but the service was quite slow. I was staying on the 17th floor and the concierge lounge was across the elevator lobby from my room. This was my favorite spot. They had some really tasty hors d'oeuvres (bacon-wrapped grilled shrimp, lobster in filo, really good cheeses) and an honor bar. The view from the window seats is great, toward the southwest. The location of the hotel is good with the 16th St. pedestrian area only a block away with plenty of restaurants. The only real problem that I thought could use some improvement was in the bathroom. It was quite dated with ceramic tile floors and shower walls from about 1980 and the door had moisture damage along the bottom and the hinges were rusty. Not quite up to Marriott standards. I had trouble sleeping, but I don't think it was the bed which was quite comfortable with nice linens.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkoonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hotel is old and worn out. Staff was pretty friendly, though. Fitness center was spacious and they had a great set of free weights near the pool (much more expansive than weights at most hotels). Good location, close to convention center. Starbucks in lobby was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The location is fantastic. The room decor is somewhat updated and rooms are certainly serviceable. The staff are helpful and service oriented. Sleeping rooms, meeting rooms, and "public" lavatories could be much cleaner. The hotel seems a bit old and a bit tired overall. Trolley noise outside can go into the wee hours. If you get a great price for a few nights, this hotel may be a good choice. Breakfast is very nice: remember if you just stick to the cold buffet it is cheaper.

Room Tip: When asking for a room, be sure it is not near elevators, vending, or meeting rooms (as are some on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-fl-oz-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Upgraded to Hospitality Suite at check in to have more room for our gathering of girls. Hospitality room was very spacious! Had THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed I've had in ages in a hotel...and it was a Murphy bed! Totally impressed with the bed! Also had a wet bar and nice sitting area with a sofa (queen sleeper), love seat, a matching chair and coffee table. Lots of space for gathering before our night out. Had connecting room with two queen beds. I slept in the Murphy bed so I can only speak of it in the comfort department. The one HUGE disappointment...the postage stamp bathroom...in a suite...seriously. It was so small you had to maneuver around the toilet to close the door. Strangest thing I've ever seen in a "suite". Had to go over and check the bathroom in the adjoining room...it was the same size. TINY! That was my only complaint. The gals that slept in the adjoining room complained of the AC being bothersome clicking on and off thru the night.

Probably wouldn't stay there again..there is also a Hyatt close by and a Ritz Carlton...would pick one of those over the Marriott in a hear beat.

**the people on the street outside the hotel were sketchy at times. Got asked for spare change and had the pleasure of being down wind of some pretty stinky folks...ewww.

Starbucks in the lobby is not full service...no hot breakfast sandwiches...had to walk down to 16th St promenade to acquire one. Bummer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maromatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My teenage daughter and I spent our last night in Colorado here after sightseeing throughout the state. Restaurant was relaxing and open and the food was great. Pool was excellent. Room was what we'd expect from a Marriott: comfortable bed, very clean, plenty of space.

TIP: They don't have their act together for parking. Especially when you need to check out in the morning (when they're really busy). Give yourself extra time when you call for your car to be brought out, because the 15 minutes they recommend isn't enough. They don't park on site, and with a flight to catch (and rental car to return) it took them over 30 minutes to get my car. Then they accused me of not calling down ahead of time (even though I did).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a beautiful view of the city from the 19th floor! The hotel let me check in early without any additional fees. They provide bottled water in the room with no additional charge which was really nice. The room was clean, bathroom fit my needs. The bedding was comfortable and the pillows were fluffy! It was nice to be all the way up on the 19th floor as I didn't hear much of the city traffic. The only negative that I experienced was the hotel was so busy, the maids didn't make it to the room until after 2 pm and by that time I was back from my conference. I liked how close this hotel was to 16th street, the convention center, plenty of restaurants and how accomodating the staff was. When I called the front desk to ask for a bottle of water (as the maid had not been to my room yet) they had room service bring me a nice big COLD bottle of water from the kitchen, at no charge. Overall, I would say this hotel met my expectations and the location is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level..........great views and less noise!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheffieDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#57 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#47 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Property: Denver Marriott City Center
Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Denver Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing