We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Denver Marriott City Center was very clean, and in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Denver Marriott City Center was very clean, and in a great location”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at this Hotel and were very happy about it. We got a great price for such a cool spot in Downtown Denver. Walking distance to almost anything downtown, and if not, the 16th St shuttle runs free and the light-rail was only $2.25 each ride. We had 3 rooms and all was well. We had a large van and paid $29 per day for the valet parking. They let us keep the vehicle there much past checkout, without a charge. We were also allowed to checkout later, without a fee. Very nice staff. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricksour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    358
    181
    56
    28
See reviews for
103
111
45
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a great Marriott location if you are a Marriott Rewards member and want something close to all the great parts of downtown Denver including the 16th Street mall and the Convention Center.

Concierge Lounge is on the 17th floor with staircase access (inside the lounge) to the 18th floor.

Service here is fantastic. Rooms are standard Marriott with LCD televisions. Lounge bar on lower level has fantastic bar burgers.

Room Tip: If you are a MR you want a room on the 17th or 18th floor for easy access to the Concierge Lounge. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtail1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

this hotel looked very beautiful on both the inside and the outside and so when i arrived here i was already very excited. the amenties were brilliant and i made full use of them. the best part was the lobby which was very well decorated and also had a starbucks in there which was very convenient for me. my experience here was amazing. the only complaint was that i was expecting a little bit more from the rooms in terms of size and neatness, which is why I gave this palce four instead of five star.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is a good example of a classic Marriott chain hotel. Rooms are clean, spacious with the finishings one becomes familiar with when staying at a Marriott. The facilities are 4 star with restaurant etc, and the staff are courteous and helpful. The hotel is well situated downtown for all your requirements in the city. Only concern I have is value for money- I believe the room rate is ~25/30% more than it should be, when compared to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I'm actually still inside the hotel at the moment, awaiting checkout, but I felt it was time to write the the review.

I'm staying here for a conference down at the Colorado Convention Center.

The hotel creates a great first impression - the staff are enthusiastic and polite. The reception is beautiful and having the Starbucks located inside is great. The rooms themselves (I'm on the 18th floor) are ok, there are no decent views in this hotel as it's surrounded on all sides by high rise buildings and the rooms are not the largest I've stayed in for the price. But the location for the convention center is superb and at least they refresh the in room coffee every day.

The concierge lounge is nice enough and provides a good breakfast in place of what you can get in the main restaurant. Although you can only use this on weekdays. The breakfast in the restaurant (as you'd expect) is pricey but the quality is good.

The downsides of this hotel: The gym is small and not that well equipped. The pool is absolutely freezing cold and small. It is also desperately in need of some renovation - the filter sides on the pool are all cracked and broken and there are one or two tiles cracked. There's also some bubbling you can feel on the walls under the lining. The dry sauna wasn't working on the day I was down there, but the steam room was.

I also had problems with the TV in my room. If I left the remote too long - it seemed to suddenly ignore the button pushes and I have to turn the TV off and on again at the switch to make it respond.

The other issue - which started as minor and became a major frustration - is the proximity of the trams outside. They use their horns all times of day and the windows aren't thick enough to prevent the noise coming in. It's loud enough, from the 18th floor, to hear it at all times. You also hear chattering in other rooms and noise in the corridors suggesting the walls are thinner than other places.

The food in the bar is vastly over priced for the quality - despite being described as a 'plate of deliciousness' by the waiter - my burger on the first night was only a step or two above a McDonalds one.

All of these things are minor irritations and not worth bothering over to complain individually, but put together they bring the value of the property down considerably.

I doubt I'd stay here again - not unless the price was a lot less than what I've paid on this trip.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible and try to be on the side opposite to the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chihuahua
Level Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Located in the heart of Denver Downtown, just two blocks away from 16th street, this Marriot it is a sure option to go to Denver. We selected a rate with the breakfast included and it was a nice selection: the breakfast buffet was excellent, which also included coock to order fresh omelette. Everyone at the hotel are very corteous and eager to help. Our hvac did not work propelry (heating section was off), we let it know 8am to the front desk in our way to the breakfast, and when we returned to the room, it was already fixed! The only think we missed was to have fridge and a microwave (maggianos it is very near!!). Will defenetively return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Signore_Colomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This hotel is huge, right in the middle of downtown Denver. The staff was friendly, helpful, and quick to provide recommendations on nearby services. There is a Starbucks right inside the lobby, which was perfect because I didn't have to go far for my caffeine fix! The indoor pool was spacious but cold, as I was expecting it would be heated. Also, I was expecting to be able to have breakfast on the Saturday morning that I was there, but I had to wake up early, and nothing but the Starbucks was open: the hotel restaurant and room service, the nearby bagel shop, everything was closed. My room was comfy though, and although I did not use the workout room, it looked very clean and inviting. I probably would not have stayed here had my company not paid for it though, as it was way too pricey for my budget.

Room Tip: All rooms have central access to the elevators, so you should be good with whatever room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#56 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#45 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Property: Denver Marriott City Center
Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Denver Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing