We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey But Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pricey But Nice Stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Denver Marriott City Center for one night as part of a business trip. Overall, the accommodations are what you would expect from a Marriott. My room was very nice and the service was professional. I did not visit the bar, restaurant or gym during my stay so I can't comment on those amenities (although the bar was packed when I check in on a Tuesday night). My main criticism is that like most hotels these days, all the adds on are very expensive. The only parking they have available is valet parking for $30 a night and of course, you have to pay to connect to the wi-fi. Given the room rate and the fact that this Marriott caters to business travelers, it would be nice if they would provide free wi-fi rather than trying to nickel and dime their guests for every amenity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Great feedback! We pride ourselves on providing a great product and service. We offer alternatives to valet parking to our guests so please take advantage of those the next time you are in town. Thank you for being our guest and come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    358
    181
    56
    28
See reviews for
103
111
45
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are tiny and cramped. There was a lightbulb burned out in the bathroom. Parking is very expensive. No water pressure. The beds are extremely uncomfortable. You can get a lot better room for your money.

The only good thing is that it's in walking distance of 16th street mall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
We appreciate your feedback as we always continue to try and improve our products and services we provide our guests. I would encourage you that anytime you stay in a Marriott hotel that you let the staff know if there is something wrong with the room. We have a team on-site dedicated to ensuring everything is in working order when you arrive. In this case, your light bulb could have been replaced in seconds. Please compare room sizes and parking charges the next time you stay in Downtown Denver as we believe we are comparable to other hotels like ours. Give us another chance the next time you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
320 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We switched our hotel to this one from the Brown Palace, wished I didn't do that.

This Marriott in the center of the city is convenient, but that's about it. Service was sub-par - especially as a platinum member. Room condition was poor, breakfast was a rip-off.

Upon checking in we went to our room, which had a decent "mountain view", but definitely not what I asked upon checking in, nor asking about an upgrade to a nicer room with a better view. The room was also in stage of disrepair, with paint/wall paper peeling and many scuff marks throughout the room.

Additionally, the room was rather small and the bathroom was tiny - definitely not the quality I was expecting.

The bed itself was not the most comfortable of marriott bed's I've stayed in either.

As a platinum member I get breakfast for free - this hotel said that if I wanted hot items I had to pay $6 extra per person to receive this. I mentioned having over 70 nights stayed this year in a number of hotels and have never experienced this before. She said that is their policy. Strange/bad policy - definitely not the experience I expected.

Definitely will not stay here - will certainly try the Brown palace on the next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback about the hotel. I want to thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. As a platinum member, you are our most valued customer and should be treated as such. We continue to improve the hotel by spending money on various renovation projects and enhancements. As for the service in our hotel, we often times are complimented on it. Our service scores are always on the forefront of what we do so I urge you to come back and try us again the next time you are in Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

When your rooms are small and dated, you are under renovation and you recently were cited for cockroachs in the kitchen, you think you would make up for it with customer service. I checked in my a coworker who received a rate $100 less per night than me for side by side rooms (his was $189 and mine was $290). When I asked them to reconsider my rate they said they would get back to me and never did. When I reminded them, they refused to do anything about it saying that I booked later and they were close to full so our corporate rate did not apply. I checked out and went to an outstanding room at the Hotel Monaco for $100 less and free internet and received a suite because they actually wanted my corporate business. The Monaco is rated as one of the best 500 hotels in the world! This Marriott might not even be in the top 500 hotels in Denver. I am an executive of a company with offices across the street from this hotel and no one from our company will ever stay there again. I am a Marriott fan but this hotel stinks.

Room Tip: Ignore this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for your feedback as we would appreciate the chance to regain your trust in our hotel. Room rates are dictated by our availability at the time of booking which is most likely why you did not receive your special corporate rate. We are conducting on-going training for our staff to be able to respond back to our guest questions about rates and availability.

We are aware of the reported issues related to the hotel. Marriott takes food safety very seriously and as a result has established very strict food handling policies and procedures. We have corrected all matters identified in the inspection report and are taking the appropriate steps to prevent this situation from happening again. At no time were the hotel’s food and beverage operations closed and the hotel passed the most recent health department inspection in December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell, Nebraska
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Along with two other couples, we spent the night of Dec 31, 2013 at the Denver Marriott. We were in town for a concert and to ring in the New Year. We've stayed at this hotel before, so we knew what to expect. It's conveniently located to the lower downtown area of Denver and was close to the concert venue we were attending. The rooms are small and the entire facility is in need of a bit of maintenance and updating. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. Value is average and since there are so many choices of good hotels in downtown Denver, I would probably choose to stay elsewhere in the future. The concert we were attending recommended this hotel and supposedly had a "special room rate", but I'm a bit skeptical about that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for your feedback as we welcome you back anytime! We are currently in the midst of updating our lobby and other public areas of the hotel. We have many special rate agreements with venues across the City. Black-Out dates sometime apply during the course of the year which New Year’s Eve is included in those. I’m excited to hear your experience with Breakfast was “excellent” and our “conveniently location” came along with your stay with us. Give us another chance as I’m sure your experience with us will be different next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
643 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Not the best Marriott I stayed in. The room was very small which is not typical for the Marriott hotels in the US. Great service at the front desk! Excellent location very close to the Convention Center. However, I would not dare to walk there at night alone but Denver as a city does not seem to be very safe, so it is not about the hotel location. Good choice for a short business trip.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Noraatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your business and your loyalty to Marriott! Did you know the FBI rated one of the Country’s Safest Downtowns? I’m glad to hear you found our location and service “excellent”. . We are in the process of renewing our lobby with a new fresh look and Colorado feel. The size of our guest rooms is actually pretty comparable to other similar hotel brands in Downtown Denver. We hope you come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

They cost more than enough for their crappy rooms, which don't even have a veiw, I've stayed at hotels for $50 a night with better service and nicer beds, and they also charge you for wifi... which is free in most of America. also they charged me a smoking fee for $250 and i don't even smoke. they were very rude when I confronted them about the charge. I am surprised they don't have a coin machine to allow you to use their bedsheets. I would never even look at this hotel agian!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamerinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback as we strive to provide positively memorable customer experiences for our guests. While we would love to have perfect views out all of our guest rooms, the construction of our building does not allow for that. Since being the first hotel company to make all of its hotels “smoke free” our guests have responded with rave reviews. The charge of $250 is a way to deter guests from smoking in the room and the cost to clean and refresh the room. At times, the room needs to be taken out of service in order for the odor to go away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#56 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#45 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Property: Denver Marriott City Center
Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Denver Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing