We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great place to stay and the staff was very nice and very helpful. The location is perfect for someone who would like to be the downtown area. My room was big and clean. I will be sure to stay here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yes, this is a typical downtown multistory Marriott. But the staff was great, "friendly professional" answering questions and providing assistance with a smile and knowledge. You know they have to answer the same questions day in and day out and to do that with sincerity isn't easy. I'm a reward member so they put me in an end room on the concierge level. It was a large room with a very comfortable king bed and quiet, except for the doors. (It would be really great if the door manufacturers could come up with a way for the doors to close securely without slamming shut, waking the dead from down the hall. It would be kind if people closed the door on their own but they don't.) The lobby construction was done when I was there except for a little spot over by the conveniently located full-sized lobby Starbucks. It's an open, clean, welcoming lobby with lots of space for gathering. The gym was well stocked with ellipticals, treadmills and recumbent bikes. The circuit training area was a bit dated but very spacious. This hotel is a great choice as it is located on the light rail, 5 minute walk to the convention center and two blocks from 16th street. I would stay here again and recommend it for business or family.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmag10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Was in Denver for a conference but the other hotel was sold out, which is good because I do prefer Marriott's. This hotel is very close to the major attractions downtown and an easy walk to just about anything you need or want.
It is also only a few blocks from the 16th street mall which had enough shopping and good food to please most people.
The rooms are very comfortable and offer just enough sound proofing to allow sleeping even when the cleaning staff are busy in the morning.
This will be a place I come back to for future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The lobby was under extensive reconstruction at the time, but the staff efficiently directed us to an interim check-in desk. The hotel has limited and unremarkable choices for dining on the premises, But the hotel is a short (5-minute) walk to the 16th Street Mall which has a good selection of restaurants, shops and a couple of drugstores if you need supplies. Valet parking is expensive ($32/day), although the rate is consistent with what daily parking at any commercial garage nearby would cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We really appreciate your candid feedback and invite you to come back and stay with us during your next visit to Denver. The lobby renovations you experienced during your stay are almost over as we attempted to not disrupt normal business as much as possible. To your point, the valet parking charges are consistent with other hotel and parking garage in Downtown Denver. As a comparison, San Francisco hotels are in the $60 price range for overnight parking. Our location to the 16th Street Mall is fantastic and that affords our guests to get out, see the City, and enjoy all that Downtown has to offer. Thanks for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Great location in downtown Denver. Excellent service. Spacious and clean room. Helpful concierge and responsive management team. I'll definitely stay here again next time and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkingMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Not impressed. Dark, gloomy room with the usual c1999 furnishings of Marriotts. I don't mind paying for wifi providing it is fast and reliable. Kept on dropping out. Had to constantly re-connect. Arrived in my room. NO soap. None, zero. Called the front desk and asked for some to be delivered -'sure will get that sent up'. No apology, no explanation. Breakfast average. No cold cuts of meat of cheeses.

If I had a choice of hotel I would definitely choose elsewhere. Regrettably for me I am tied into a work contract with Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebej1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We would love for your to come and experience our hotel again as I’m feeling like this was an aberration. The hotel just invested money into our internet system which enhanced our guest’s ability to connect both in the guest rooms and meeting space. We have received rave review from our guests. All guest rooms have soap, shampoo and lotion as standard amenities so I’ll pass your comments on to our housekeeping department to conduct additional training on auditing rooms for these items. Please give is another chance the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is too (like Chicago) is under construction but WOW it is going to be cool...the lobby is going to be so beautiful. check-in was not bad actually great as I just had to go down an escalator to get to the desk..and the staff was super. There was no noise at all for the construction and the rooms are in great shape! The location is fantastic right down town! I see everyone says the rooms are dated, but I think they are in good shape...I cant wait to get back to see the lobby reveal!! Oh yes, lunch was great! and so was room service!

Room Tip: No real suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thanks for all the great feedback! We are so excited about our lobby renovations and would love to have you come back to see it all. We'll be opening a portion of our lobby on Tuesday or Wednesday with the rest of the lobby opening in the middle of March. We know you'll love the results!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#61 of 159 in Denver
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#42 of 159 in Denver
2,778 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £108 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denver Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing