We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Denver City Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #41 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Atlanta
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Marriott Denver City Center”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Well I agree that the rooms are typical box type and the bathrooms are small, but the room was fresh and clean, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the service was WOW!
The Valet attendant was over the top, the concierge RICH, went over the top to help with last minute dinner reservations and very attentive to group.
Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to offer a review. We appreciate your kind comments on the clean and comfortable rooms, and the great service throughout your stay. We look forward to passing along your kind comments about the valet and concierge. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, should your travels bring you back to Denver in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    368
    182
    56
    28
See reviews for
104
114
45
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is your typical Marriott, quite dated and box like rooms. It is clean and the rooms are quite big but the pillows are a cross between large cushions and half size pillows. Air con is a little noisy but it is very efficient. Staff are efficient but the ones that come across as friendly are the room maids who often get overlooked. Very nice.

Thankfully for me this was a quick visit but it should be mentioned that my real pet hate came to light big time while in this hotel. For some reason the Hotels in the US (with very few exceptions) use very powerful self closing door mechanisms, metal doors and metal frames, which results in the most annoying bang always when you are trying to rest. Why they cannot modify this system is beyond me as 7 of my colleagues all commented on the same issue. With constant door slamming and loud talking in corridoors you do take a chance on undisturbed rest.

My comment may sound harsh but this problem seems to occur at every hotel I visit (especially Marriott) and no one has ever responded to my comments specifically, replies have been the bog standard mail shot type. It really has become extremely frustrating especially when you have limited time to rest before a flight.. !

Also on this stay I had an unpleasant issue with the Bathroom which does not need to be described here, Maintenance arrived very quickly and spent some time sorting the issue. The Maintenance Man was very helpful and extremely apologetic, when I checked out there was no mention of this problem or apology so obviously channels of communication are quite closed.

Unfortunately I do not have a choice with where I stay but if I did I would definitely search out something that had some character and was more personal, sorry but Marriott really does not do it for me !

Green Features: Interesting when outside the Temperature was 92degrees but in reception there was a very large fire feature running.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your very candid and honest feedback. As far as the service you received at the hotel, it sounds like the Hosts you came into contact with were friendly, came quickly and efficient. The people truly make the difference within our hotel. I’ll meet with our Engineering team to ensure your comments are reviewed. We value your feedback and will do everything in our power to fix this noise issue. Come back and see us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Checking in and out is fast and efficient. There is only 1 food outlet which served better food than expected from appearance of the outlet. Bed was comfortable and Air-condition was strong although some may find the noise annoying. Lifts can be slow especially when occupancy is high.
Gym has many Cardio machines and basic weight stations.
Again it is the small items that gets noticed by the traveler such as no replenishment of tea and coffee despite staying 4 nights. In addition no leeway on check out time even though there was a massive check out due to end of conference and from a practical view there was no way housekeeping could clean all rooms at the same time so giving 1-2 hours would have made little difference to the Hotel. There was no complaint about housekeeping except they were slow and the room would only be cleaned by 5pm.
Location is convenient but no compulsion to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Park7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your experience at the Denver Marriott City Center! We appreciate your honest feedback on your experience as your comments allow us to continue to maintain and improve the guest experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the dining and our fast and efficient front desk. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future to be able to offer an experience that exceeds your expectations, should your travels bring you back to Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this Marriott Hotel this past weekend for vacation and the hotel is conveniently located close to many bars, restaurants, stores and local attractions downtown Denver has to offer. We pulled in the valet area, checked in inside the lobby which took less than 5 minutes, attendants there offer to take your bags up to your room and help unload your vehicle. Once inside the room, the bags are brought up to my room and I was asked if I wanted anything else, and I asked where I could purchase bottled water and our attended went to go get us some at no charge, complimentary. The double beds are fairly small, smaller than a queen size bed but comfortable, desktop area is fancy provided with wireless keyboard, granite countertop at the bathroom sink, the bathroom tub itself is standard, basic channels on their 32 inch LCD TV, only a couple of HBO channels with bad reception, internet is NOT FREE, $4.95/day fee, is fairly good internet for basic web surfing but should be complimentary for the price your paying to stay here. The room didn't include a mini fridge so I called the lobby to request one and it's free at no charge, they brought it up in about 5 minutes and set it up themselves. Our rooms included a breakfast package at the Allies American Grille, just provide them your room number and your all set. They offer menu items fairly pricey, but it was included, so I got their breakfast buffet included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, croissants, danishes, yogurt, fresh fruit and potatoes as well. The breakfast also included unlimited Starbucks regular coffee and juice refills so that is a plus, Our waitress attended us fairly well, and we off we headed to the 16th Street Mall. When it came the time to depart, a valet attendant is sent up to our room to load our luggages and take it down to valet and load it onto our truck. This hotel is ideal for business stays or for leisure if you want to avoid driving in downtown Denver, a bit pricey but the service and ammunities here make it all worth it. The fitness center offers a variety of equipment and is located next to the pool on the 2nd floor.
P.S. Get the breakfast and parking package for more than a night stay, more bang for the buck.

Room Tip: High floor rooms less foot traffic, parking/breakfast package more value for your money if staying m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utpb432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review of your experience! We are quite pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for your positive feedback on everything from our location to the breakfast. We appreciate your honest feedback on your stay, both positive and negative. This feedback helps us to continually improve the guest experience. It is wonderful to know that you found the staff service to be welcoming and helpful, as we take great pride in our guest services. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This was initially my third choice but found it should have been first on service alone! We had booked too standard rooms but were given a standard and a connected suite instead. complimentary breakfasts, extra roll aways etc were also given. Awesome service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 001527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience at the Denver Marriott City Center! We appreciate your positive feedback on our service as we strive for the best in our guest services. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodations. We hope you will join us again in the future, should your travels bring you back to Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caswell Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

To charge a premium price for a nice hotel is ok. But to nic-pic and charge for Wi-fi goes against all logic. The more inexpensive hotels offer Wi-Fi for free. Their business model brings dollars to the bottom line, but may leave customers looking for other hotels. I still enjoy their locations in the big cities, but maybe I need to look at Hilton's,Holiday Inn's, etc.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your comments about the WiFi charges you incurred while staying at the hotel. We take the feedback from our guests very seriously. WiFi service is available in our hotel for free in the lobby. When comparing like-size hotels in Downtown Denver, the charge is about the same at the bigger hotels. While the smaller limited service hotels you referred to do offer complimentary internet, in most cases those same hotels don’t offer amenities such as room service, bellmen, multiple restaurants on-site, bars, concierge, etc. which all add to the enjoyment of guests at larger hotels. Thank you again for sharing a review and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a conference this past week. The male concierge (cant remember his name) is fantastic. His dinner recommendations were spot ON and he was able to get us tables on short notice - The hotel is a corporate type hotel....typical Marriott...but the location and proximity to the 16th Street mall is great. Loved Denver and had a great time....Starbucks in the lobby is a bonus!

Room Tip: See if you can get a corner King for a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14tidewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay at the Denver Marriott City Center! We appreciate your positive feedback on our concierge, as we strive for the best in our guest services. It is wonderful to know that he was able to help give you great dinner recommendations. We are glad to know you enjoyed our location as well. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, should your travels bring you back to Denver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#55 of 157 in Denver
749 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#46 of 157 in Denver
292 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#37 of 157 in Denver
2,719 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Property: Denver Marriott City Center
Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Denver Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing