We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Like "Old School," Then you'll like "The Brown"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2011

If you like old historic hotels, then The Brown is worthy of consideration. Once you pass through its doors, you go back in time to another era that is refreshing from all of the trendy new offerings out there. The rooms have been updated, so they most assuredly are not "long in the tooth," yet they still retain a refined elegance in keeping with the rest of the feel of the hotel.. My wife and I also had an excellent meal in the main diningroom which is the Palace Arms and would return there again. All-in-all, a great experience and while not the cheapest place in town, not the most expensive either.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaGuy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very proud of the recent enhancements we have made to our property, which allows us to continue providing our guests with a true luxury experience while maintaining the integrity and original ambience of our past.

I am also very pleased to know you had a memorable experience in our fine dining restaurant, Palace Arms.

Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Brown Palace for my birthday weekend. I was immediately taken by the character and charm of this turn of the century hotel.

SERVICE: Hotel staff was outstanding and made the weekend the best. They are pleasant and professional and will provide you with anything you neglected or need during your stay. The staff at the pub and the restaurant were also outstanding.

ROOMS: The personal products provided are excellent and come in larger sizes. The towels are soft and fluffy and the beds are very comfortable. Sheets were soft and thick. The furnishings and room appointments reflect the old fashioned charm of the hotel. There is a flat screen TV and an iPod dock for modern folks.

FOOD: We ate in the Ship's Tavern and in the hotel restaurant. All meals were excellent; I highly recommend breakfast at the restaurant.

THINGS TO DO: There is some shopping in the area at the 16th street mall (or was it 17th street)? But Cherry Creek is much better although farther away. The hotel is located close to the pro sports stadiums and to the downtown museums.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

We are pleased to know your husband chose The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa as the destination to celebrate your birthday, and even more delighted to learn that you had a truly memorable experience.

Our staff will be very happy to know that they helped to ensure your celebration with us was enjoyable. I am glad to hear your stay was also enhanced by our comfortable rooms, luxurious amenities, your dining experiences in our restaurants and by our conveninet location in downtown Denver.

We hope to see you again, perhaps to celebrate another birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

It is in a great location and a beautiful luxury Historic Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kseow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for your post - we are truly proud to be able to offer our guests such a historical and luxurious experience in the heart of beautiful downtown Denver.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Brown Palace recently for a business trip and stayed a couple extra days for pleasure. Customer Service was perfect, our room was not ready for check in when we arrived so while waiting we had lunch in the restaurant . The food was excellent. Our room was large, nice and old world charm. Very comfortable. The employees were all friendly and efficent, they drove us to our meetings in the hotels courtesy car and were helpful if needed. They were not ever condesending, like some employees in nice hotels. All our meals we had at Brown Palace were excellent. This is a nice place to stay with alot of history. I know some people prefer the newer modern hotels but this place was excellent. The fire alarm did go off once in the middle of the night and the fire department responded but we didn't leave our room, they didn't have an explanation as to why when I inquired at the front desk the next day. I was hoping they would give us a complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience. Great hotel and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay wish us, and that your experience was highlighted by the comfortable room, our friendly and engaging staff, as well as our fine cuisine served in our 6 restaurants. We are also happy to know that our complimentary car service was an invaluable amenity during your visit.

We hope to see you again at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa in the near future, whether it be for business or pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had four rooms at the Top of the Brown. It is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful lobby and well appointed clean rooms. I stayed here with my 85 year old father, his nurse, 2 teenagers, and 2 little kids; everyone equally loved the hotel. It's a great place from which to walk around town. My father loved sitting in lobby and felt part of the action there. That having been said, I never felt that I was a known to the staff after 3 days. There are many interesting things in the hotel and it would be easy for them to have a small treasure hunt set up for young guests, such as finding the upside down panels etc. However, no one remembered my name and the Concierge absolutely stinks. One time we were trying to head out and I wanted to ask a quick question, but the concierge was on the phone with a prospective guest without never acknowledging me, I finally just left. The outside bellhops were awesome and they know the city well. I simply just bypassed the inside staff and made a beeline for the sidewalk. It is my expectation that booking 4 rooms at the Brown I would have a staff ahead of me, it was simply not the case. We floundered a bit on resturants because the Conceirge was awol. I recommend it as a place to stay, but don't count on anything extra from the interior staff they are not there to deliver. The two exception is the friendly servers at the Ships resturant/bar and the maitre d' at Elingtons - should run the hotel...he is wonderul!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frontrangesojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

I am very pleased to know that you and your family loved our hotel and appreciated the fine abmience and luxurious rooms.

It was quite disconcernting to learn, however, that our staff had failed to provide you with the attentive and intuitive service that we are known for. Please be assured that this is not typical and I will be sure to share your critique with our management team for training purposes.

We would truly appreciate another opportunity to welcome you and your family back for the experience that we should have provided and know we are capable of.

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at The Brown Palace while two of our married children stayed a few blocks down 17th St. As a guy who spent thirty-five years traveling extensively there is no way the Magnolia is better than this awesome home away from home. Yet had we listened to our fellow Trip Advisor friends we'd have selected the Magnolia. The rooms are much better decorated, the lobby is not to be compared, the bar is far superior offering a much better menu and the afternoon tea is not to be surpassed unless you leave the US. So let's get more people who have tried both to tell me why in the world they'd select the Magnolia over The Brown Palace. Two more things... We got a King room via Internet fir $150 & the wait staff in Ships bar are tops!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you very much for your gracious remarks!

We are very proud to be able to offer our guests a first-class luxury experience unlike any other hotel in the Denver area.

We hope we will be seeing more of you and your wife, along with your TripAdvisor friends, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Brown Palace is a 5 star hotel that offers luxury, professional staff, excellent restaurants, a beautiful spa and a rich history. It is within to shopping, restaurants, the convention center, center for the performing arts and sporting events.

We've actually stayed at the Brown Palace several times in several different rooms, a king room, junior suite and king room on the Top of the Brown. The Junior Suite is possibly our favorite but we loved them all. Each one offered richly decorated rooms with spa type bathrooms and luxurious bedding. There is a nightly turn down service that places chocolates on your pillows. The staff is wonderful and willing to satisfy your every need with a higher rate of service than any other hotel that we've stayed at in downtown Denver.

Ellyngtons restaurants offers a wonderful Sunday brunch and the Ships Tavern has the most amazing burgers in town. We have not tried the afternoon tea in the lobby but that is on our to do list during one of our next stays.

I highly recommend taking the tour of the hotel on Saturday afternoons. It's free for guests and $10 for visitors. There is so much amazing history in this hotel that is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is a clever use of space with a sitting area behind the elevators and a bedroom,bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

First and foremost, thank you warmly for your loyal patronage and for taking the time to post your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to know that we have become one of your favorite hotels (if not the favorite) and that our staff, restaurants and accommodations continue to exceed your expectations. We also appreciate your recommendation of our Historical Tour, which is a fun and exciting way to learn about the great history of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 161 in Denver
975 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 161 in Denver
709 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Hotel Teatro
#30 of 161 in Denver
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £162 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing