We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Brown Palace Hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2012

A friend and I try to get away each year to someplace different to relax and enjoy the sites and of course the various spas. I can honestly say our stay at the Brown Palace was one of our best trips yet! The Hotel is beautiful and the Spa was absolutley wonderful.
We ate in the Hotel 2 evenings and 3 mornings for breakfast. The food was fabulous every time. We also had room service and the presentation as well as the food was great.
The Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.
This is a" Must go to Hotel and Spa" if you are visiting Denver!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor. Very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

For our 40th wedding anniversary, my wife and I decided to stay at the Brown Palace and enjoy the full experience. In the past we had eaten at the Palace Arms for dinner, Ellington's for their Sunday brunch and even had High Tea in the gorgeous lobby; so for this occasion we decided to do it all - corner suite, couples message and plunge at the spa, dinner at the Palace Arms (the exceptional food is only surpassed by th best wait staff I have ever encountered among many 5 star hotels around the world) and finally Sunday Brunch at Ellintons. The Historic facts surrounding this wonderful hotel are truly fascinating,so take the time to ask the staff about the history of the hotel and its famous guests. A special tip - you don't need bottled water, all the water from the taps is artesian spring well water.

This was a truly wonderful experience and worth every penny.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

We are delighted and honored that you have chosen The Brown Palace to commemorate your very special anniversary!

Even more rewarding than knowing you enjoyed the restaurants, the Spa, your accommodation and the history of the Hotel, is reading that our staff's service was second-to-none during your stay. I will be sure to post the generous recount of your visit for our staff to read and enjoy.

I am also glad to know you took advantage of our pure artesian well water, which has been the sole source of water for the hotel for the past 120 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Beautiful historic hotelonere from the 18th to the 22nd of July during some very hot weather there. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was attentive to our every need. We did not get a chance to dine in the restaurants but spend some time at Churchill bar. Make sure you can handle the smoke as it does get strong at the end of the day during the work week. Staff was efficient and prices were good. My husband loved that he could enjoy a cigar and drink in a bar.

Michelle the Chef Concierge was wonderful. Continued to give us tips for places to visit that we could walk to given the high heat index during that time.

Unfortunately our only bad experience was a lazy housekeeping staff. We had two rooms as our daughters were in a separate room and we had to contact the staff on several occasions because towels were not replaced during the daily service. When I called and gave them our room number for towel delivery they at one time delivered to our daughters room then stayed with a pause at the door expecting a delivery tip. That was an unfortunate experience, but did not feel that it deserved a lower rating for one lazy staff associate.

This hotel is a must visit. While there, we noticed many people enjoying the daily Tea. On the Saturday we were there, we noticed a bridal shower at one corner and at the other was a young girl having a birthday tea party with her American Dolls. The tables were beautifully dressed and it reminded my daughters of the birthday tea party we held at our home many years ago.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fu3l3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us recently as our guests at The Brown Palace!

We're delighted to read that you had a memorable stay and that your husband especially appreciated the service and ambience of Churchill Bar. And I know Michelle Cobb will appreciate receiving your generous comments regarding her insightful service and recommendations for handling the high temperatures.

I would like to apologize, however, for the inattentive service from a member of our Housekeeping staff. We are grateful for you bringing this to our attention, which will be sure to address immediately to avoid a similar occurrence.

I am glad that this small service misstep did not blemish your stay and are hopeful you and your family will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Brown Palace Hotel in Denver, Colorado is a historic landmark. The Brown Palace was built around 1890 during the Victorian period.

Overall - the hotel is fantastic - a great place to stay while in Denver, Colorado.

* The rooms in the historic section of the hotel are beautiful. Beautifully appointed.

* The newer rooms are also beautifully appointed ( I stayed in the original part of the hotel in one of the historic rooms during my last visit - April 2012 ).

* The guest rooms were immaculate - spotless - perfect.

* The customer service was excellent - exceptional - from check in to check out.

* The restaurants are great. My preference was the Ship Tavern - a wonderful place to relax over superb food. Excellent service. Nautical flavor.

Summary - check out the various specials - there are numerous special packages that offer some very competitive rates, including weekend packages. Please be sure to check out the various online sites to explore the special packages & promotions.

This is a wonderful historic hotel from the Victorian era -- highly recommend.

Room Tip: Do some research & ask about the special promotions. Check out the online websites for the spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As a surprise for our 41st Anniversary, my husband surprised me with a night at the Brown Palace, that in itself was enough, but upon check-in we were upgraded to a suite. It was amazing, from the amount of space to all the windowed views of Denver. The furnishings were all very elegant and high quality. We loved the Ship's Tavern for lunch, and a high tea was being held in the Atrium (Reminded us of The Pump House in Bath, England). We were going to go out for dinner, but our suite was so beautiful, that we chose to get late room service, and it was not only beautifully presented, but DELICIOUS! I would highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion!

ion

Room Tip: We were in Room 915 and it was AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDCami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Congratulations on your recent 41st wedding anniversary!

We are delighted to know that our team had provided you with an experience fit for royalty. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding several aspects of your celebration with us, which I will be sure to pass on to our staff. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed your room accommodation so much that you decided to stay in for a delicious dinner served up by Room Service!

We hope to see you again in the near future for some more royal pampering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Was truly an awesome, unforgettable experience. The friendliness and caring of the staff, the exceptional food and service in the Palace Arms, the extraordinary history tour, and of course the building itself and the history behind it. The live music in the lobby really adds to the ambiance. This is worth a stopover to truly experience the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodaC172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I did not stay there, but was there for High Tea and a tour. The lobby and the inside is breathtaking!! They even had an old time gift shop with full size toiletries, magazines, newspapers, candy, sodas, and the like. It is Turn of the Century and you could almost imagine the ladies and gentlemen dressed up in their finest, instead of like today, with people in jeans and tee shirts!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank missjeepgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
909 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,115 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
662 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#31 of 160 in Denver
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £158 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing