We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really loved this place!”
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We stayed at the Brown Palace last weekend and just loved it. Boyfriend used to live in Denver and stayed at the Brown Palace as a child, but this was my first time to both the Palace and Denver. Great location, and every meal we had there was perfect. They need to work on the wine selection, but we were impressed with the port options. Loved the turndown service, and every person who worked there was friendly and helpful. The bed was large and comfy - I sort of miss it - and towels were great. Like everyone else here, we felt the shower left a lot to be desired, but it certainly wasn't the worst one I've ever had. The room and bathroom reminded me of an old studio apartment. Very clean room. Valet was very nice and helpful. There was a slight problem with my bill, but that appeared to be the only issue. Not quite sure it was worth the expense but am still pleased and will stay there again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Confusion on what the booked package included
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    324
    138
    96
    54
See reviews for
252
611
129
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

I like to stay at vintage hotels once in awhile and had the chance while visiting a college in Denver. Hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport and while you pass through a part of town that is kind of questionable, the hotel itself is in a good area, close to the 16th St Mall and "LoDo", which is the "hip area" is, e.g. restaurants, shops, etc. No problem checking in at all. Had a room w/2 queen beds and a small desk area on the side. Room was very clean and comfortable. Had no problems w/hot water. Ate at the casual restaurant and had a superb steak and crabcake appetizer. Breakfast was good, a bit expensive but good with excellent service. Would stay again no second thoughts/

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaGoNowDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Wonderful building, great location, friendly staff, good bed, great linen, stayed 3 times and love it BUT the room air con is indequate, my early evening wake up call was forgotten as was one mornings breakfast. The bathroom is well equiped as you would expect but the showers in the standard rooms are of the hand held hair shower variety. Generally the service skill level of the staff is more 4 star than 5, perfectly good but not world class.
Room service food was good to excellent.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank LondonDigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

The building is incredible, built in 1892, renovated with all the modern conveniences. The building did not have hot water every morning and the electric outlets did not always work. The real issue was the service. The room while initially provisioned with all the usual items, as the week progressed each day the number of towels, wash clothes, and toiletries diminished. On my last night I had to wash with a hand towel because there were no wash clothes in the room.

  • Liked — Historic nature of building.
  • Disliked — Poor service.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank usbrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CT
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Stayed at the Brown Palace for three days in April 2008. Great property. The service was especially good. All of the staff was super friendly and helpful. My wife said the spa was the best spa she has been in and that is saying something. We ate breakfast in the main restaraunt and that was excellent. The rooms are fine. The beds are comfy and the TV was good. The bathrooms were updated about the same time Teddy Roosevelt stayed there so that is the one negative. The bathrooms were clean and usable, just not fancy.

Last time we were in Denver we stayed at the Hotel Monaco which is a Kimpton property. That had a nicer (fancier) room, but the common areas, spa, reastaraunts and overall service wasn't as good (good, but Brown Palace was great).

We'll be going back

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cthills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

First of all, there are some wonderfully positive things to write about the Brown Palace. Great location near the 16th St. Mall. A sense of the history of the building is wonderful, if you're into that. The spa is excellent.

However, I find it incredulous that the Brown Palace would be considered a 4-star hotel, mainly because of service issues. On our first afternoon there, we had no hot water. A maintenance engineer was summoned, and he informed me that they had some recent issue with the pumps in the artesian well that the building utilizes and that some periods during the day were worse than others. After he departed, I called the front desk and the person suggested we plan to take our showers at a different part of the day.

Eager to actually start our vacation rather than simmer in the hotel room, we decided to give it a night and see if the hot water situation improved. The next morning we awoke to a trickle of water so slight that it wouldn't even come out of all of the holes in the rainfall-type showerhead. I called again and it took engineering 3 hours to come fix the problem, which was an accumulation of sediment in the faucets and showerhead from the aforementioned pump problem.

I'm certain if you've gotten this far you're curious to what the hotel management did for their guests after 24 hours in the same room with either no hot water nor any at all. Nothing... Yes, that's right, nothing. No small cheese plate for our trouble...no follow up call. Nothing. This isn't 4-star service, folks.

I should mention we stayed in one of the Top of the Brown rooms. It was well-decorated and the bed was comfortable. However, one should not confuse this with a Ritz or Four Seasons room -- it's nowhere close. They have no sundry shop, so if you need a Diet Pepsi or some aspirin you're out of luck.

I love vintage hotels. I love the history and the ability to say "hey, i've stayed there." I'm even willing to concede -- given all the raves here -- that I was an unfortunate anomaly. But if you book your room there and can't take a shower, don't say you weren't warned.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_H_CHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We planned a ski trip to Steamboat Colorado and decided to spend a few days in Denver mid week. The Brown Palace is right in the heart of downtown Denver and was very convenient to everything we wanted to visit.
When we arrived, the door man and front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. The staff were great the entire time we stayed there. The concierge recommended Sullivan's Restaurant and it was wonderful. It was everything you want in a great steak restaurant .


The hotel room was nice however we were disappointed that there was no fridge in the room. There was enough room to manouver around the king sized bed and a small sitting area by the windows. The bathroom was a bit dated although this is a very old hotel so it is not outfitted as nicely as some newer hotels. We found the restaurants in the hotel to be on the expensive side. The lobby is magnificent and the grand piano was a nice touch in the evening. There is a cigar bar which we stopped into late one evening - it is quite small so was jammed with people. the ventilation could have been improved as it was very smokey, even for a cigar bar.

the location of the hotel was perfect. we could walk to the Denver Art Museum, the state capital building, the 16th Street shopping street/mall and many other attractions.

The hotel is a landmark in the City and beautifully kept however we found the prices on the high side. If you want to stay in a historic hotel in a great location, then the Brown Palace is a good choice. The staff really try to make your stay special.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,194 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
805 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing