We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance and service to match”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Elegance and service to match”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

From the moment the valet greeted us to take our car to the bellman who took our bags and the front desk clerk who checked us in we knew we were in for a treat. Sitting in the atrium, listening to a fantastic pianist and enjoying afternoon drinks and tea, one feels like they are stepping back in time. The spa services were delightful. We were sad to leave but we know that it won't be long before we return to this magnificent spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
We are very happy to know that your visit with us was a truly delightful experience commencing with your arrival and on through to your Spa services.

It gives us great pleasure to know that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    317
    133
    96
    52
See reviews for
250
603
128
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This used to be an annual staple for me and my girlfriends. We'd rent several rooms, spend way too much money in the spa, restaurants and bars located within the Hotel, enjoy the shopping that was right out of its door. We would genuinely have a wonderful girls weekend full of luxury and love every extravagant second. The service was hands down the best I have received from any hotel in the country, from the moment the bellman greeted you until the valet returned your vehicle for departure. The Brown palace also had a wonderful program for Colorado residents that offered rewards for choosing the Palace for our stay-cations. The Brown Palace has now been taking over by the Marriot, and it is obvious. Everything from the tone of the employee when you first call to make your reservation to the shine on the brass, or the rain-head showers shooting in every direction but down, the Brown Palace used to be one giant step above all others with it came to service. Now, it’s not bad, but the prices have gone way up and everything else has gone down, well it’s a Marriott not a palace.

I gave it 2 based on what it used to be to what it is now. If you just compare it to other Marriot properties and had never been there before, it is probably a 4.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriG387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
We are grateful for your time in expressing your concerns with your most recent stay with us. We are truly sorry to learn that you did not receive the same genuine service as you had in the past when making your reservation and for the issue you encountered with the shower head in your guest room.

After extensive consideration, The Brown Palace Hotel joined Marriott's collection of independent, upscale hotels, which has allowed us the opportunity to provide more benefits for our guests through their Rewards program. Rest assured that our focus remains and will always be on providing our guests with a luxurious and memorable experience in a historic yet modern setting.

We would love the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay with you further and provide you with a flawless experience in the future. Please contact Ryan Pratt, Rooms Division Manager, at rpratt@brownpalace.com at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed many times at the Brown Palace, both for business (several weeks at a time) and for pleasure. I have never failed to enjoy myself - and my wife loves it too. There is an excellent array of dining options, and spending an hour or two in Churchill's cigar bar is a wonderful way of relaxing at the end of a hectic day.

The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the service is second to none, and the history behind the hotel is well worth exploring. Christmas time is the best time to visit as the lobby is so beautifully decked out with a massive Colorado fir, mounds of poinsettias and sparkling lights everwhere. Have tea or brunch in the lobby if you can - it's magical.

The only thing that stops me from staying more often at the Brown Palace is that it doesn't participate in a major awards program like Hyatt, Hilton HHonors or Starwood. If it did, I'd never stay anywhere else. But I can see why they don't: every time I go, the place is busy, so obviously they don't need to give away rooms to make up occupancy.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the hallways away from the lobby light well - the sound of the piano travels up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
It was such a delight to receive your generous comments regarding your many experiences at The Brown. We're very happy to know that whether you have stayed with us for business or pleasure, that you have always enjoyed your time with us.

We concur that the holiday season is a very magical time to experience The Brown and are pleased to read that you have had the opportunity to take in the festive decor and ambience of the Atrium Lobby.

We understand from your remarks that the lack of an awards program has deterred you from staying more frequently in the past. I am pleased to inform you that The Brown Palace Hotel has recently teamed up with Marriott and joined their collection of independent, luxury hotels known as The Autograph Collection. Therefore, our guests can now earn and redeem Marriott Rewards points when they stay with us. Please let us know if we may be able to provide you with any additional information on the Marriott Rewards program.

We are truly grateful for your loyal patronage and will be anticipating your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Excellent service from the valet, to the front desk, to the bellman to housekeeping. Friendly, helpful and simply outstanding. A beautiful, comfortable venue with superb staff. My go to hotel whenever I'm in Denver.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
It is a privilege to be your preferred hotel in Denver and we will strive to remain so by continuing to provide you with the exceptional service and royal treatment you have come to appreciate.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

For your finest quality stay in Denver, this is the place to be. It is especially beautiful at Christmas, so elegantly decorated. To complete the experience, make reservations for the afternoon tea--a priceless experience. The hotel rooms are a perfect combination of history and modern amenities. Our only complaint was the pillows were rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanlon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We're very happy to know your experiences with us here at The Brown Palace are a perfect blend of modern luxury and historical touches.

We are sorry to read, however, that you found the pillows to be uncomfortable. We would be happy to review alternative pillow options with you during your next stay to ensure your utmost comfort.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

For 5 star, ocean-going, quality dining this place goes 100 percent.
From the concierge welcome to the attentive waiters in an historic setting everything is 'right'
The menu is clear and easy to read. I had the four course tasting selection - including a perfect Lyonnaise salad, a totally succulent medallion of bison in a 'plate-licking-good' sauce which must have taken a whole day in reduction and a fabulous choc brownie with cardamom ice cream.
My host chose wines from a muscle-building huge book-list.
As might be expected each course brought fresh silverware and different plate styles.
Although courses were small and beautifully presented I felt full at the end of the dinner and unable to mange the petit fours which were nicely boxed for me to take away.
This is somewhere to experience. It is the opposite end of the spectrum from fast food and pricing is consistent with that.
Adjacent is a late lounge to enjoy a single malt from a wide range and, uniquely these days, a cigar.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the detailed account of your recent dining experience at The Brown Palace.

It gave us great pleasure to know that the cuisine you experienced was perfectly prepared, beautifully presented and exceeded your expecations with every course. We truly strive to provide an exquisite culinary experience for our guests when they visit Palace Arms. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a WONDERFUL stay at The Brown Palace. Upon check-in, we were advised that we were upgraded to a King room. I mentioned to my husband that it must be for his birthday (that day). The clerk heard me and asked my husband if it was his birthday, which he confirmed. She then thanked us for spending his birthday at the hotel. A few hours later there was a knock at the door and an attendant came in with a "gift" from the hotel. It was a plate of macaroons with fresh fruit, Evian water and a letter from the hotel manager wishing my husband a happy birthday and their gratitude that we were staying with them. It was a simple touch that meant so much. The room was very comfortable and quite large. The coffee maker was a Kuerig and plenty of coffee was supplied with it. We loved the dual shower head in the bathroom! We had a nice lunch in the Ship Tavern. We enjoyed listening to the piano player before heading out for the evening. It was a very enjoyable stay and we hope to go back someday. We never did find the 2 upsidedown panels in the atrium =( The only disapointment was the price of parking, which if I remember correctly, was $31

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for choosing The Brown Palace Hotel to celebrate your husband's birthday! Our Front Desk staff will be very happy to know that their personalized and intuitive service had ensured a truly memorable celebration for him.

We're also delighted to read that you enjoyed the upgraded accommodation, the live music in the Lobby and your lunch at Ship Tavern. We hope you will return so we will have an opportunity to show you the location of the upside-down panels around the Atrium.

I also want to thank you for your feedback regarding the overnight parking charge. I have shared your comments with our management team for future consideration. Please be assured that our parking fee is competitive with other luxury hotels in the Denver area, which we continuously monitor to ensure our pricing is fair.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing