We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the history, charm, elegance, service & location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The Brown Palace Hotel & Spa is a treasure. The lobby is breathtaking & the staff is courteous & helpful. Dined in two of the restaurants while there & the food is delicious. Room service was wonderful too. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to most places we needed to. Will definitely return on our next visit to Denver.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at the Brown Palace for a long weekend. Booked the Palace Room 500 SF, Larger Guest room and it was a beauty. There are only 3 of this type room in the hotel.

A very interesting tour of the hotel is provided on Saturday afternoon and I highly recommend.

Strolling down the grand staircase brings you to another era. The building was constantly being buffed and polished.

Room service was great. Sunday buffet breakfast was very skimpy but the dining room is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75xyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Checked in 24th July out 26th
Service generally good.(soured by a few let downs)
Pity refurbishing immediately outside our room from 10 am till 6pm AND we were not advised at check in? We were jet lagged and were hoping for a 4pm nap. WHY did they not communicate this upfront
At drink's on evening of 25th Needed to find Mariana when we needed service? When bill came it was incorrect== overcharged! Found Mariana (again chatting to colleagues away from customers.) She brought a manager out "he said had to charge extra because it was Glen Morangie on rocks !(sic)
I asked why there was not an extra charge for ice in other drinks?

Room Tip: Ask if room is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

We are truly disheartened to read that your stay with us was tarnished by our exterior restoration efforts. We strive to ensure any impact to our guests is minimal to non-existent, and regret that this was not the case during your stay.

We are also sorry to learn of the service shortcomings you encountered in our Atrium Lobby. We will be immediately addressing both matters with our operations team and want to assure you that these unfortunate instances are far from the type of experience we wish to deliver for our guests.

We would love to have an opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact Ryan Pratt, Rooms Division Manager, at rpratt@brownpalace.com at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is an outing all you Mothers or Grandmothers will want to take your grand daughters to experience.You dress up and go enjoy yourself in this beautiful, historic old place.We have always enjoyed ourselves there. I have never stayed but I can suggest High tea!The food was great so was the tea and the experience just tops it off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetaimeparis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It is also wonderful to see the many generations enjoying the traditions of our decidant tea. We hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review because my husband and I stay in Denver very often for business. We have been loyal brown palace guests for years. This year we choose to venture out and try some other places. What a terrible idea. TBP has consistent standards that are always met. After staying at the four season, JW Cherry creek, Monaco, teatro and all the hyatts we are fed up and going back to what we know and love. Great bellman amazing staff and a management team that truly cares about each and every guest. Top of the brown rooms are comparable if not better than any Hyatt or JW found in denver. Why? Service, service, service! Four season is beautiful but it's a monster hotel, so big and always a large event that packs very seat at the bar and restaurant. Plus for the room I want it's always over $550 a night. Plus tax and parking. Makes it close to $650 a night. On week days for business. Kinda insane to me. Ill save that extra cash for my next cabo trip. Lol. JW is not consistent with service or amenities which is very important to me as a traveler. I would also say that the managing directed truly cares at the brown he goes above and beyond for his guests and keeps this amazing historic hotel looking pristine year after year. We miss you top of the brown....and breakfast has never been the same in Denver. See ya next month. Back home we go.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dgojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Words cannot express our gratitude for your loyalty through the years. We are truly grateful for this opportunity to welcome you back "home" to The Brown Palace.

We will be anticipating your arrival and the pleasure of serving you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed one night this week. I am a Platinum Marriott member and have stayed at hundreds of Marriotts including many of the "Autograph" collection properties.

If you like history and old style beauty this is the place for you. Lots of history here. Old fashioned tea-time as well.

The rooms are nice. I had one of the "larger 400 sqft" rooms on the 8th floor. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was huge but mostly taken up by a soaking tub. The shower was a small corner unit but was fine. 2 sinks.

The room was bit loud due to the fact that no matter how lightly you close the door, it closes with a loud THUNK. They could use some felt material to soften the sound. Also there is a 2" gap under the door. I stuffed it with towels.

I had my AC on 68 the entire time (it was about 90 out) and had the windows closed. The room was still a bit warm. I read others have similar issues. The building is like 100 years old, so what did I expect?

Breakfast was excellent, if not a bit over-priced. The waitress had a LOT of tables and most of the people were dressed up.

Valet was good and prompt. Front desk staff was efficient.

Its about a 1 mile walk to Coors Field.

Room Tip: Floors 8 and 9 are quieter as they have glass block separating the halls from the lobby. The lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had a very nice stay at the Brown Palace over the past weekend. This hotel is beautiful and shwanky. We were well taken care of by friendly courteous staff and the rooms were plenty roomy with high quality bedding and linens. The mattresses are very comfortable, which is always important to me. We enjoyed seeing the beautiful ladies in their fashionable hats enjoying tea and we had fun in the tavern late that night singing along with the piano player. I HIGHLY recommend at stay at this hotel when in downtown Denver. It is also very conveniently located to the theatre, the 16th mall and RTD bus stop. Enjoy!!, I did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
910 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,116 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
664 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#31 of 160 in Denver
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £157 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing