We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Old Fashioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Old Fashioned”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We've been staying at the Brown Palace for 18 years.....come for 2 or 3 nights each year.....love the place. The rooms are large and well maintained. In room dining is great and the Palace Arms Restaurant is a throwback to another era. It's conveniently located, plenty of taxis and a house car.

This time, they were having an issue with their wifi provider.....invonvenient.......but the way staff handled it was just terrific.

We're lifers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    339
    141
    97
    56
See reviews for
264
624
133
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hubby & I had concert & baseball tickets - so he traded Marriott points for a couple of nights at the Brown Palace. It was such a treat! Beautiful old school hotel. Great staff and service. Found a brochure in the room with interesting facts about the hotel to explore. Enjoyed a light lunch in the tavern. Breakfast a bit pricey - but other spots within walking distance. Location was good for enjoying the area. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

There's nothing like logging on to write a review on a two-night stay at a hotel, only to learn there is a special where you can get a third night free. Nowhere on the hotel site or Marriott.com did I see that offer when making my reservation, nor was I told that when I checked in. I'm disappointed, as I would have loved to have stayed a third night at the Brown.

My visit was great overall - until the last hour. I had a quick breakfast in the restaurant and overheard my server explaining to another about the comped breakfast for Marriott Platinum members. While they were 20 feet away from me, the second server apparently didn't think that I could hear everything he said. He said he'd hate to have a job traveling and having to leave his family that much and it must be awful. As someone who balances work and home the best I can, I did not appreciate the comment, finished my breakfast, and left. I went to my room to get my luggage and went to the restroom one last time - and ran out of toilet paper. There was none in the room, which was inappropriate (I'm not a huge tp user and wasn't in the room much; it was simply poorly stocked). I got my bags and went downstairs to the valet, only to have the two valets talking to each other outside with their backs to me. You can't use the double doors and have to use the revolving ones, which were awkward with my two heavy bags. I am somewhat relieved no one was watching, as it was probably comical. Yet, it was unecessary - I think they should have someone stationed inside to assist guests.

My room was lovely and the attention to detail appreciated. The pub was noisy and I was initially seated at a small table where bar patrons had their backsides in my face; the server was quick to move me upon request - but I am not sure I should have been seated there to start with, given there were other tables available. I assume it was because I was alone. I believe it was the same noisy bar patrons who were up and down the 9th floor hallways at 1:30 am, which made sleep difficult a bit the the first night. The desk staff were courteous when I called and asked for a hall check, as the group had been past my room three times by the time I called.

Overall, this is a beautiful hotel and I so appreciated the opportunity to stay at the Brown, as I have wanted to for years. Except the last hour, it lived up to my expectations. The desk clerks were terrific and the room was beautiful. I'd stay here again - and would have stayed a third night, had I known.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearcatprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We strive hard to meet the needs and expectations of all our appreciated guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had encountered within your last hour. Please be assured that the issues you experienced are not representative nor in keeping with the level of service that we wish to provide. Your observations have allowed me to personally review our standards, and concentrate on addressing the shortcomings with our operations team to guarantee that this does not happen again.

We hope that the ambiance and the service you had received from our front office this will give you cause to return and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more memorable experience. In an effort to regain your confidence, please contact myself or our Hotel Coordinator Vanessa Chambless, at Vchambless@brownpalace.com so that we can properly oversee your next visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with necessary feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Brown in August. It was our first trip to Denver. We try to stay at a historic hotel in a different city every year. The Brown did not disappoint. First impression is the quality of service from the staff. From the doorman, to the front desk staff, to the bellhop (who was very knowledgeable giving us a quick tour of the hotel on our way up to the room), to the concierge (who arranged for a really nice tour of the nearby mountains and Red Rock Amphitheater - a must see!). Absolutely professional (which is what you'd expect from a hotel of this caliber). Second is of course the beauty of this historical landmark. Walking into the lobby takes you back in time. It's absolutely breathtaking! Our room was spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. We had one small problem with unlocking the safe when we first arrived, but that was immediately resolved.

We didn't rent a car, so wanted to be close to shopping, restaurants, museums, etc. The Brown didn't disappoint. It's conveniently located near the 16th Street Mall and LoDo which have so many restaurants and shops to choose from. We walked everywhere and when tired caught one of the many complimentary electric buses that run the length of the Mall and into LoDo.

If ever return to Denver, we will definitely stay at The Brown again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

First time in downtown Denver, best location you can ask for. I did use all the restaurants and the food is of excellent quality, great variety and the Cigar bar is a perk. I was blown away by the Palace arms restaurant quality and five start service, you will not regret. The wine list is more like a book with extensive selection, the easiest way is to ask the sommelier your top price and he will select the best for you.
I did enjoy the breakfast complementary as platinum member but a bit disappointed because only continental breakfast, (real definition of continental breakfast) (16 dlls) was included, compared to a recent trip to paris where a 30 euros breakfast was included as MR platinum. Internet signal is excellent and the room was very clean and neat daily. You will not regret staying. I wished I had tried the afternoon tea time, don't forget. I heard the spa is also great. I forgot to say but quality is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I arrived well before the 3 pm check-in time, hoping to just leave our luggage and start on our Sunday walking tour of downtown Denver. Instead, we were most graciously welcomed, checked in, and given a map with directions to our first destination (the Molly Brown House). Our queen-sized room was charming, but maybe a little small for two people. Likewise, the bathroom, although pristine, did not lend itself to a couple trying to get ready at the same time. But both made up in elegance what they lacked in size. Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat! This is an absolutely gorgeous hotel with wonderful friendly and helpful staff at all hours.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a spectacular view of downtown Denver. Ask about size of room, some are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBeatriceCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After traveling from the east coast and tired we had a room mix up and rather than deal with it that night waited to morning. They switched us the next day. Not sure the room was much bigger but definitely more satisfying to be changed. The room itself seemed to have been neglected, needed to ask for new iron, never had a do not disturb sign for room and coffee area was not kept up. Other than that we would have rated the whole experience excellent. The Brown is magnificent and well worth the stay. We had dinner in the Tavern and enjoyed our meals, had cocktails in lobby with piano player and the best was the afternoon tea. Great experience. One block to 16th street mall where you can get the free bus all the way to Union station. Complimentary car service for evening use up to a five mile radius.

Room Tip: Top of the Brown, quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,216 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing