We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't go wrong with the classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with the classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The perfect blend of history, luxury and comfort (without being stuffy or outdated). We were thrilled to finally be able to stay at the Brown Palace after so many wonderful stories from our relatives. I almost wanted to spend the night in the bathroom, it was so elegantly appointed and spacious. The staff was great; Everyone we interacted with was courteous and helpful. It's a luxury hotel so of course the price is high (otherwise you know I would be staying there anytime I had an excuse to visit Denver), but we're so happy we stayed there! Totally worth it. Even if you can't stay there, it's worth visiting for tea time or the historic Palace Arms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    312
    131
    95
    51
See reviews for
244
596
127
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque, new mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only had the opportunity to stay one night but this was a fabulous hotel in a great location. The hotel was old and classic and very well maintained. The rooms were adequately spacious unlike what I have typically seen in older hotels. The bathroom was spacious with a wonderful large marble shower with multiple shower heads (no bathtub). Service was great. We enjoyed a couples massage at the spa - also a great experience. The restaurant is well reviewed and apparently one of the best places to eat in Denver, I didn't eat there but it looked fabulous. The location of the hotel is also great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tritons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This Autograph Collection Hotel can be found under Marriott affiliate. It's almost as expensive as the JW in Denver, although JW required more Marriott points. I chose this to experience something of a different feel than the standard Marriott that I have spent almost 100 nights this year.
The Brown Palace reminds me of the other Autograph Collections in New York. The fact that impressed me most is that since the hotel opened in 1892, it had not closed for a day till now which is over 100 years. For such an old hotel, they have done a magnificent job in upkeeping the internal maintenance and modernizing the facilities.
Location - beware the main entrance is on Tremont and not 17th, even though the official address is 17th street. Excellent location , only a block away from 16th street which is the main shopping, eating and hanging out pedestrian only street.
Inside the hotel is beautifully presented, with some majestic deco and artful paintings all over the place and in rooms. You may be overwhelmed by the old style carpets and wallpaper but that's the feel you come to this place for. Take a walk up the stairs from 1st floor to the top floor, it's not that high, and you can see the center concourse walking up - very nice to take some photos.
Inside the room - it's a little dark, not enough lights but for romantic stays it's good. Very high beds, high pillows not what I am used to. But the alarm/radio is set to play some bedtime music or nature sounds - I really like that feature.
The famous restaurant inside the hotel is the Palace Arms (was told top 10 voted on OpenTable). Check in reception said they take last reservation at 9.30pm, but when we got there at 9.20pm it was closed. So we never got to try it. Disappointed. The restaurant opens till 9pm, but there was internal miscommunication. For being a top restaurant they should open for a little bit later.
The Tavern (another restaurant in hotel which is more casual) on the other hand, is open till midnight (kitchen till 11pm). It has lively atmosphere, with an excellent pianist/ vocalist. Good food too - full menu with steak and seafood and everything. Not just a bar menu. So in a way we were glad to have missed Palace Arms to experience the Tavern.

Breakfast - this is a la carte. As a Marriott Platinum member they take off $16 (as this hotel does not have a concierge lounge). Basically every breakfast choice is $16 so you have to pay for orange juice and coffee which may be more than $10. Breakfast is served in the Ellyngton room which has the grand old Victoria feel. Very nice.

Room Tip: Stayed at Top of the Brown (floors 8 & 9) which are the top 2 floors of the hotel. Had a big 480...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajero_salsero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

this was a delight, the hotel was historic and update, the tea room was front and center, and the spa was very spacious. the tavern had very good food and for a good price. our room was very spacious and traditional. we also had a drink and a cigar in churchills, very fun!

Room Tip: Request a room facing Broadway
See more room tips
Green Features: This is definitely a green leaders in a gold hotel.Education for guests on green practices Organic/local food & beverages Efficient ventilation system ENERGY STAR guest room appliances ENERGY STAR kitchen appliances Energy-efficient lightbulbs
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Staying at the Brown Palace should be on everyones bucket list. Continuously in service for over 120 years, the Brown has evolved and stayed present with the times. Historic, yet the rooms are spacious which is sometimes mutually exclusive. The staff is courteous, and very competent. The rooms are appointed beautifully, and provide many of the hi tech amenities we have come to require. Docking station, and charging stations for devices are all included. Keurig coffee makers in each room, and the "rain" shower is something to experience. Beds, are superior, and I slept well, which is unusual for me. Location is good. A curious side fact is the Brown has its own artesian well, and you can actually drink the tap water!

Room Tip: Every room has an outside view, and atrium access. I like the higher rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: They are aware and practice environment friendly techniques.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had a two night stay here for business. Was in one of the small (~ 250 sqft) rooms but laid out very well and ample room for a solo traveler. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast quick and delicious. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Came to Denver for a convention and decided to try something different besides the standard hotels. This place has classic style with more "personality" than a modern hotel. The service has been excellent and we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILtoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#18 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing