We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic hotel in Denver”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to the art museum, 16th street mall and countless restaurants and attractions and shopping. Our hotel room was rather small but there was a Keurig coffee maker with plenty of options and the bathroom was lovely. Staff was helpful, in particular the concierge staff. We did not have brunch but living locally, I hope to make it during the holidays as the decorations are beyond words. Pictures do the hotel no justice during Christmas.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room if you want a larger room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally minded business makes it an easy choice for a stay!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    324
    138
    96
    54
See reviews for
251
611
129
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here a few years ago..What a great hotel! It's very conveniently located, walking distance to everything you need downtown Denver. Was in town for a few days on business before moving to the city and the hotel provided an amazing first introduction to the city where i spent a couple of years after this stay. The rooms are average size, but the service is fantastic! And the afternoon tea there is legendary!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I used this hotel for a recent business meeting. The hotel is beautiful and was decorated for the holidays, so the lobby really stood out. The meet rooms were large and really very nice. The hotel rooms had a plethora of electrical and USB outlets, essential for all my equipment. K-cups in each room. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms very nice. The walls are a bit thin, but that is to be expected in a older building. The staff went above and beyond supporting my meeting and my guests. Every person from the hotel I interacted with had a small on their face and was a pleasure to work with. Every one of my guest was pleased.

Room Tip: Make sure to inquire on where the have construction, and avoid that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we know how precious your time is and appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and the success of your meeting. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and this specific attribute is a hallmark of our service. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at Brown palace Hotel (by marriott hotel chain) in November 2013. I am being told that hotel was opened in 1892, 2nd old city hotel, but only hotel running continuously from that period.
I am being told most of US president's stayed at this hotel. Location of the hotel was perfect as most of the business office are closeby.

Considering such heritage, I expected old period architecture. Round iron pillars were used all over instead of concrete pillars. Old large staircases were prominant.
Interior wall papers looked very old, but it requires lot of attentions and care, if you want to modify anything. Interiors within room was perfect, Walls were perfectly painted etc. Bathroom tiles were of old fashioned, but shower were modern

It has city's best bars. 2 bars located within the same premises. There was no buffet breakfast, but waiters were polite taking breakfast orders. They had courtsey car in the evening which takes guest within 5miles radius

I got good deal $194 plus taxes while stay, but wifi and breakfast not included in the charges

I will stay here again if i get a bargain rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Clean, comfortable, nice bathroom, nice amenities. No mini-bar. A tea was going on in the lobby. Surprisingly quiet, given that there was a lot of activity. I am a big van of vintage hotels, so I enjoyed this one. Very well preserved. Décor a little dated, but in good condition. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Com4tCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your appreciation of our distinct historic hotel. We are very grateful for your kind words and suggestions.

It would be an honor to welcome you to the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here several weekends ago for one night with family. I was a little hesitant about it because, although I grew up going to The Brown with my parents and have always had a special place in my heart for it, my last two visits in 2010 and 2007 left me deeply unimpressed with the service. I'm happy to say that, perhaps in part as a response to feedback from other travelers or from affiliating with Marriott as part of their Autograph collection recently, service standards were generally back to what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

A quick note - I noticed another recent reviewer referred to the Marriott as now owning The Brown. I was a little confused about this myself when I saw the Autograph Collection designation, but for what it's worth, the hotel is still independently owned. I assume the arrangement with Marriott involves fees to Marriott, benefits of Marriott promotion, and some agreement to meet certain chain standards, but there is zero sense of Marriott inside the Brown Palace (and I consider that to be a good thing). The front desk told us it's been a positive affiliation for the hotel because they get more bookings now during their slow season.

A few tips for other travelers: this is a grand old hotel. It's been renovated and refurbished many times no doubt but they're not selling change and the latest thing. The restaurants here have been the same since I was a child and I was born in the early 70s. Personally, I think it's great that The Ship's Tavern looks just like it did when I was ordering Shirley Temples there with my parents. The food does change/grow with the times, however, and I've always found the food to be reliably tasty. Afternoon tea here is a major event, along the lines of what I'm more accustomed to now at The Peninsula in Chicago. Book ahead - we were already too late for Saturday's tea when we arrived in the early afternoon and could only get a noon time for the next day. Sunday brunch at Ellyngton's is also a big event for locals. Reservations are a good idea. For about $45/person you can get the non-champagne brunch and enjoy everything from cooked-to-order omelettes and all the usual brunch suspects to a full dessert station. I appreciare that the staff willingly accommodated our group of 4 because we were hotel guests, even though we didn't actually make reservations as I'm suggesting everyone else should do. I think it was a little inconvenient, but they made it work and handled it very professionally.

Also on the topic of "grand old hotel": their basic room is not large. Really, it's not any smaller than what you'll get at a Hilton Garden Inn either, but it seems smaller because it's a 5 star hotel. It was totally fine. Would I choose this style of room if I didn't have a lifelong relationship with the hotel? Maybe not, but it was reasonably priced compared to the comparable rooms at the Denver Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton. I also appreciated the totally modern (and obviously recently redone) bathroom. Rain shower was a really nice, subtle touch. The bed, on the other hand, was not good. It was squeaky, it seemed to move around just from the normal tossing and turning of two people sleeping, and it wasn't all that comfy overall. We reported it to the front desk at checkout and the man expressed the appropriate amount of concern and gratitude for bringing it to his attention. Don't know if that was an isolated issue for our room or not.

I left with the sense that the Brown may be recapturing some of its old grandeur and sense of exclusivity. Maybe it never lost it, but it sure felt down and out in 2007 and 2010. I would definitely come back here and I kind of kicked myself for almost giving up on it altogether and going over to The Four Seasons this time. I'm glad I didn't. A couple of their famous macaroons and brunch pecan rolls made me realize that there are some special things you can find here that I'll probably never find at any other hotel in Denver, no matter how luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I choose to stay at the Brown Palace because of it's history, AND that the food at the Ship Tavern is very nice. The room are small which matches the time period that the hotel was built in. I am glad to see that it now under the Marriott chain of hotels. They have kept the decor to the standard of the Brown Palace and not just like 'other' Marriott's.

Room Tip: Just be prepared to know that the rooms are small unless you can afford a suite. The views from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ85603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

We are always delighted to hear from those that enjoy the history and the unique characteristics that make a stay here special. We are thrilled to have joined the Marriott Autograph Collection as it allows us to retain our history and unique qualities while offering Marriott members the experience they are familiar with.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,194 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
803 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing