We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeously historic, brilliantly updated for modern needs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 December 2013

First time visiting Denver and knew of The Brown Palace's history -- open for business every single day since it debuted in 1892! Husband and I decided to stay a few days two weekends before Christmas and were so very glad we did.

The Brown Palace is currently a Marriott Autograph Collection property so we were able to use some traveler points for the stay. This hotel is amazing -- a gilded-age architectural grand dame with functional amenities for the 21st century business traveler. We're giving it a 5 star rating as it truly is one of the best executed functioning historic hotels we've had the pleasure of encountering.

Rooms are of the era -- super high ceilings, crown moulding, awesome walk in closet (complete with safe and hotel robes), and a funky and very cool bathroom. The interior walls must also be made of stone -- the rooms are so quiet! Furnishings are period true with the modern twist (granite topped bureaus, I-Pod compatible clock radio/charger, vast cable and on-demand TV selections and a mega plug on the desk to accommodate all our 2103 electrical needs). The Brown Palace has its own aquifer beneath the hotel so the water is uniquely Rocky Mountain spring fed. Bathroom was gorgeous with its marble floor and double door. The amazingly invigorating water pressure shower had a second rainfall shower head combined with the regular one. No bathtub in our ensuite (room 408). We had a larger king room which was lovely. Bonus hint -- they have humidifiers for the rooms, upon request, if the super dry, mile high air poses issues.

We sampled three Brown Palace restaurants -- Ellyington's, The Tavern (super family-friendly), and Churchill Cigar Bar. They also have a fine dining room -- Palace Arms -- with amazing historic decor. The food is first rate and the pricing extremely fair. The Ellyington's staff was superlative on both days -- our compliments to everyone who works there.

The Brown Palace does have a spa -- didn't have time for that. The lobby itself is a destination with its ornate seven story atrium. The Brown Palace's high tea / piano bar cocktail hours seem to be a local tradition. You'll want to dress well to be here and ghosts of the past may frown upon flip flops and logo T-shirts, though management would never say so.

A brochure detailing the entire history of the hotel is included in the room -- fascinating reading. Business traveler husband was really impressed with the functionality of the hotel and we both were delighted to be submersed in nostalgia (this is where the deal to form the AFL was made -- though TPTB declared the Broncos would never attract enough fans to make the franchise work!).

The Brown Palace is in the heart of downtown. A mere two block walk will bring you to the 16th Street promenade with a plethora of shops, restaurants and horse drawn carriages. Know that, being downtown, this area is quintessentially urban with all that entails. A bonus of being downtown, it would be quite easy to take public transportation to and from the airport -- Brown Palace has a free town car limo that would take you to the 16th Street RTD station that has a train directly to DIA.

Stay at the Brown Palace at least once if you can. Your heart may draw you here time and time after that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I know you have a choice when traveling and are thrilled you chose us as your holiday destination. We appreciate your love of the hotel's history - for your next time in town please know that we offer history tours with our resident historian.

The holiday's are one of our favorite times here and we love to share that with our guests. I will reach out to the staff and let them know you how much you enjoyed their service. Hearing feedback from guests is always appreciated and helps us continue to maintain our standard of going above and beyond expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
There are newer reviews for The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our afternoon tea at The Brown Palace was a festive and enjoyable occasion in Denver’s elegant landmark hotel. The large atrium lobby, balconies and other areas are decorated for the holidays. The large chandelier is covered with hundreds of white lights. Tea was served in the lobby and along the mezzanine balcony. A talented pianist played seasonal music during the tea time. Our group of 30 was pleased to have our reservation made for the mezzanine tables. We had a great view of the lobby, balconies and the chandelier, while listening to the music. Each of our tables had attractive three-tiered plates with finger sandwiches, scones and dessert pastries. Though our waiter and waitress were better dressed (and honestly - more refined) than yours truly, their gracious and friendly manner made us all feel welcome. The teas and food were excellent. I thought the scones were outstanding. After the tea, we enjoyed seeing other decorated areas on the main floor. When two young girls walked up to the pianist, he started playing “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer,” and the girls sang along with him. All in all, tea at the Brown Palace was a fine time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The weekend before Thanksgiving my mom, sister, 4 month old niece, and I stayed at the beautiful Brown Palace!! Can't say enough about this beautiful hotel -- wrote a more in depth review on my blog - www.passportmusttravel.com/the-brown-palace/ -- but wow, what a hotel.

Our stay was wonderful in every way and what a throw back to a time when people enjoyed the finer things in life and made conversation a priority. Loved every bit of our 1 night stay.

Many thanks to the hotel staff for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedheader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at The Brown Palace for three days on business.
Very nice older, historic downtown hotel. A storied past and absolutely beautiful architectural appointments throughout.
Rooms were beyond comfortable, and probably the quietest I have ever found in Denver.
Beds were great, internet was satisfactory, bathrooms were more outstanding. All in all the entire experience was top shelf.
Be sure to wander the property a little to inspect some of the history. Have a drink at the bar. Schedule a tea time well ahead of your visit if you are so inclined.
Concierge service is competent and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went here for a night on my 10th anniversary. The service was great. Everyone was very nice and professional. Once in our room I was extremely disappointed! Everything was very dated, especially the bedding and art. Our bathroom was oddly shaped and while nice the shape was so weird. For the cost of over $250 a night, I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

First and foremost, congratulations on celebrating your 10th anniversary and for staying with us at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We truly appreciate your willingness to share your insights and comments.

We strive hard to meet the needs and expectations of all our valued guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so. It was very disconcerting to learn that your overall stay with us did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your room. We appreciate the opportunity to learn more about how we can improve upon our guests experiences with us in regards to the room accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a magnificent property. 5 star plus in every possible way. They have managed to maintain the classic beauty and character of this hotel, while upgrading roooms when necessary. From the moment you enter the hotel, the staff is ready and willing to provide anything you might require. I can't remember another property where the service was so amazing. We were fortunate enough to have a reservation for the Thanksgiving Buffet. By far one of the most wonderful dining experiences we have ever had. Give yourself a special treat and stay here if you are in Denver.

Room Tip: Upper floors have wonderful views of downtown Denver.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Carol,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We truly appreciated your willingness to share your experience with us.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we are very grateful to you for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and are always happy to hear when we have done this for a guest.

On behalf of all of us here at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I've always been in love with the Brown and was fortunate enough to spend 11/27 to 12/1 at the hotel during our wedding. Amazing service in each restaurant. Classiest hotel in Denver. The doormen and porter are amazing as well as room service. On my wedding day the room service woman I had dealt with all week sent me a personalized note wishing me her best. And may I mention michelle Gillette-hands down the best planner in Denver! Thank you To everyone at the brown for everything!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjw241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 158 in Denver
1,235 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £179 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing