We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Like all the reviews, I was pleased with the character of the hotel, and the wonderful stained-glassed celing in the foyer. This is probably a lovely place to have afternoon tea. However, as a guest, it was a big disappointment. The rooms were very old, especially the bathrooms which had not been updated since the 70s. We managed to change our room to one with an updated bathroom, but then we had no hot water in the evening or in the morning when we checked out. The reception area was very blase about our complaint, and refused to discount our room as we had already booked it, and prepaid via Expedia (something I will not do again for any hotel, as you lose all your leverage if there's a problem). In sum, the hotel is certainly is running on it's original reputation and character, but needs an "extreme makeover," and much more customer-oriented staff.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lucy4WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,622 - 1,628 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2008

I recently stayed at the Brown Palace while on business. This is a nice historic hotel with a lot of character. The grand lobby takes you back to the turn of the century . Room decor is maintained for the period with comfortable beds, huge windows but updated with well-controlled central air and a nice large screen TV. The one downside was the plumbing. The bathrooms have been maintained with the original tile floors and walls, the tub is the original tub so, the bathroom is somewhat dated but large and functional. My bathtub had a drain problem with water not emptying out for quite some even after calling maintainence. Also had a problem with the sink (severely leaky faucet) but otherwise a nice room. If you need a modern bathroom this might not be the best choice for you. Staff were very attentive and helpful and the location is convenient to most downtown attractions. Free internet access as well as a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel. There is also a spa but I didn't utilize that. Overall a nice historic hotel, comfortable, with character.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

First Impressions not to be trusted! Stayed one night in Denver after a great vacation in Estes Park/Rocky Mountain National Park. Upon arrival at Brown Palace, was most impressed with the hotel and staff. Hotel was beautiful and staff was very nice, professional, welcoming.
Until 10 PM when we started hearing what sounded like a cross between an alarm going off and a truck backing up - an intermittant BEEP BEEP BEEP of varying lengths. Impossible to sleep. Called the front desk at 12:45 AM. Was told that they were cleaning the banisters and that it would only be a couple more minutes. Sound continued for another hour. Called front desk again at 1:45 AM. Again told it would be a couple of more minutes. Eventually, at 2 AM, we were moved to the top floor where we could not hear the cleaning machines. Finally fell asleep around 3:30 AM and had to get up at 6:30.

When checking out, we were asked how our stay was. When we said that we had a terrible night, had almost no sleep and that it was caused by the hotel itself, we were met with blank stares and a very weak, "Well, have a nice day."!! Not even an apology.

If you prefer sleep to ultra-clean banisters, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RandLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I recently stayed at the Brown Palace with my husband and 2-year-old daughter. My husband was there for a short conference so we tagged along.

This hotel definitely has a charm to it. It has a very interesting history, which the bellman filled us in on while showing us to our room. In fact, there are tours of the hotel two times a week.

The room wasn’t large, but was well appointed. The décor and furnishings seemed to accurately reflect the historic aspects of the hotel as well.

We did not use any of the hotel restaurants so we can’t comment on that. The afternoon tea in lobby looked great and I would definitely give it a shot on another visit without a 2-year-old.

Only problem we had was with the lack of hot water. In fact, we never had hot water – only lukewarm.

The location is definitely a plus. It is right off the 16th street mall and is within walking distance of the art museum, etc. The downtown location makes it convenient to take the bus to various places as well. We grabbed the 32 bus to get to the zoo and the 20 bus to go to the science museum. Both picked up and dropped off right across from the hotel. The little one was free and adults are only $1.75 so it was a great deal.

There are a lot of places to eat within walking distance or by using the free shuttle along the 16th street mall. There’s a lot of chains, but there are some good local options as well. We tried Mici (Italian / pizza), Wynkoop Brewery and Apaloosa Grill, among others. All were very good. Also had cupcakes from Yum Yum bakery. OK, but I’ve had better “gourmet” cupcakes.

Tip: The hotel charges for Wi Fi access; however, if you cross the bridge to the Comfort Inn, you can get it for free in their lobby!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hendersongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

The toilet leaked and the toilet tank would refilled in the middle of the nigh. The conceirge gave me incorrect directions and ignored me on another request. I was even charged me for a meal I never ate even though they said I would not be charged. The worst is when I wrote to the managing director to complain and received a form letter that never addressed my issues but thanked me for bringing my problems to his attention and assured me that my next stay will be better. Oh well, I guess some things do float to the top!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We spent a Saturday night at this beautiful hotel. Right in the heart of Denver and the outdoor mall, we had a wonderful time. I enjoyed a message in the spa and it was one of the best I have had. On our way out of town on Sunday, we had Brunch in the restaraunt at the hotel. I have to say that it was truly the best brunch I have ever had. I definatly will be back to the Brown Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

The Brown Palace was absolutely fabulous! Everyone was very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Just before we arrived their computer system went down, and they handled it beautifully. Not many places could run that smoothly without the computers. Everyone was so wonderful, they made you feel like you had come home. I also strongly recommend the Spa, my massage was wonderful. I will definately stay at the Brown Palace the next time I am in the Denver area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SharonLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#33 of 160 in Denver
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
886 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £171 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing