We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the historic crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For the historic crowd”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Not my choice for five nights but my partner had meetings here.

Pros: Architecture, great rain shower, hotel robes, free car service within 5-mile radius from 6:00pm-10:00pm, wonderful housekeeping staff, close to 16th St walking mall; fluffy, light, perfect pancakes at breakfast.

Wifi: free in rooms, decent speed.

Cons: Low natural light in room, overpriced mandatory valet parking (nice guys; but self-park for less at nearby indoor or outdoor lots), atrium acoustics really carry sound up; small fitness center in adjoining Comfort Inn has limited cardio and free weights but with the already high room rate it's a stretch to ask for another $20 per guest to use the better-equipped D.A.C. six blocks away.

Local tip: Plan ahead for dinner at Root Down. Buy books at The Tattered Cover.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    317
    133
    96
    52
See reviews for
250
603
128
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Love the old time charm and access to downtown shops and dining. Hotel staff was top notch and very knowledgeable and informative. Sunday BRUNCH is a Denver must! The best part was the Concierge and CHURCHILLS bar!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldlyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

I will reach out to Concierge and Churhill's and let them know you enjoyed their service. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Egremont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Long considered the most prestigious hotel in Denver, the Brown Palace continues to provide great service and good value. My room was welcoming and perfectly equipped. The bathroom was to die for. I arrived in late afternoon and wanted to see a sold out performance of the Denver Symphony that I had tried unsuccessfully to get a ticket for. The concierge was able to get me a ticket, which may have just been pure luck, but success is its own virtue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Richard,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. I was delighted to hear that our Concierge were able to provide you with your request for Symphony tickets. I look forward to sharing your gracious comments with our team and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Treat yourself to the best. A late lunch, an early cocktail, mid afternoon coffee or a Christmas Eve dinner.
Plan time to stroll thru the lobby and look at the rich interiors. Go back in time
With a visit to this historic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Michael,

Thank you for your review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The rooms are wonderful, both bed and bath. Terrific job bringing a classic hotel up to contemporary standards. Staff is friendly, efficient and very knowledgeable. Central Denver location is perfect for my business needs.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room on the Ship Tavern end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davejoan1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dave,

Thank you for staying at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the kind words regarding the updating of the hotel.

On behalf of all of us here at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is an historic hotel and includes all you expect would come from this style of hotel – from a great concierge to a large and open lobby.

I actually made contact with the hotel while in transit in order to get a recommendation for dinner and arrange a reservation. I received email confirmation of my reservation 5 minutes later and the recommendation proved to be exceptional.

Check in was quick and easy and a porter helped me with the larger than normal luggage I was transporting.

The room was quite spacious and well appointed.

The beds were very comfortable and the duvets and pillows of good quality.

Internet was wireless and free and there was a good desk to work at.

The ironing board and iron were not good quality but they did the trick.

The TV and coffee machine were both great.

The bathroom was spacious, clean and had a great walk-in shower and heated floors.

I did not have the chance to eat at the hotel’s restaurants.

All in all, a great stay and I would recommend.

Green Features: I would like to see bills emailed rather than receiving a paper copy.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I frequently travel to Denver and thought it might be nice to stay in the Brown Palace since it is close to our office. I enjoyed staying there several years ago.
I have stopped by twice and called several times to check on corporate rates for weekly stays. The manager is never around but they gave me his direct number to call. I've left a few massages but they must have more business than they can handle because the manager has never returned a call.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheElanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We know how valuable and precious your time is and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your insight and experiences with us.

We strive hard to meet the needs and expectations of all our valued guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so. It was very disconcerting to learn that several employees failed to provide you with the quality service we are known for. I have reached out to the sales department who take care of corporate rates and have let them know about your issues. If you would like to discuss further please have the main line direct you to the executive office and we will get you in contact with the right person.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing