We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant oil hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elegant oil hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very helpful bell staff, front desk, and valet staff. The building was truly a sight to see. Magnificent lobby area to just stand and look at. The room was nice but smelled of a sewer leak. Some deferred maintenance in the room. No ventilation to get smell out.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for staying at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to comment on your experience with us.

We strive hard to meet the needs and expectations of all our valued guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so. It was very disconcerting to learn of the shortcomings you experienced because of the unpleasant odor in your room, which I understand we were unable to rectify during your stay. I deeply regret the adverse impact these concerns had upon your stay and want to assure you that the issues you experienced are not typical nor in keeping with the level of service that we wish to provide.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    310
    131
    94
    51
See reviews for
241
587
127
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Old style Victorian hotel. The hotel has a great location near the art museum and government center. It has a tall open lobby and they had live music filling the space. My room was small but nice furnished. The internet connection was costly so I restrained myself. I'd visit again with the GF. I think she'd appreciate the uniqueness of the place. The bell hops were interesting too. I enjoyed eggs benedict in the breakfast restrurant (one of three). They have a cigar smoking room, but I did not partake. It looked interesting though...

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. We know how valuable and precious your time is and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your insight and experience with us.

We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at The Brown Palace with our twin 16 month old boys in a one bedroom suite. It was wonderful. The staff was very helpful. The lobby is classically beautiful and, as we entered, a jazz quartet was playing in the lobby where many people sat with some happy hour drinks.

With 3 restaurants, a lobby bar, and a top-notch salon/spa, you don't really need to leave. If you choose to go out, all of downtown Denver is at your fingertips. Most of which is within walking distance.

Our suite was spacious and the shower included a rain shower from the ceiling!

Our boys had room service for dinner and gobbled it up. They also loved exploring wide hallways and checking out the nooks and crannies of the hotel.

Of course, this is a historic hotel, so the windows are a little drafty, the elevator is dated, and the standard rooms may not be as large as you see at other, new hotels. That being said, I loved this place where the doors are always opened for you, your luggage is sent up to your room, and the valet has your car ready within just a few minutes.

It's not widely advertised in hotel literature, but this was acquired not long ago by Marriott. They have not changed the hotel at all, but if you have Marriott points, you can use them to stay here.

If you wish, they offer tours of the hotel. You can join a public tour, or schedule a private tour if you are a guest at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This classic, well-maintained protperty bespeaks of the rich cultural history of Denver. The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa is a must destination for travelers and locals lookng for a get away, relaxing experience. The Brown Palace is Denver!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unreinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We know how valuable and precious your time is and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your insight and experience with us.

Please know that we treasure your loyalty to the hotel and are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver.

It would be our honor to welcome you again!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Haven, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. I adore old vintage hotels, and this one is kept in amazing shape, but also has modern amenities. We went to a play one night while we were staying at the hotel. We chose to walk to a nearby resturant before we walked to the play. They have a complimentary car service that we used upon our return to the hotel, as it was getting late and I felt uncomfortable walking back. We called the car service and it was there to pick us up in less than 10 minutes. You will want to use the car service or walk because there is hardly any parking in downtown Denver, and if you do find parking, it is very expensive. Be forewarned that the Brown Palace does charge for parking, it is not included in your room cost, and it is pricey. If you are a guest at the hotel, you can take a complimentary historical tour with the hotel's historian. She does a wonderful job with telling stories about the hotel along with Denver's history.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Denver is filled with history and the Brown Palace is the gateway to that historical journey. Being one of the oldest hotels in Denver, the Brown Palace emulates the rich majestic charm with a twist of modern amenities. The staff exceeded my expectations with service. Tucker at the concierge desk made me feel welcome and at home. He was a wealth of knowledge and very helpful in finding my way around Denver. Although the hotel has a handful of restaurants to partake in, there are a plethora of fine restaurants within walking distance of the hotel to choose from. My suite was roomy with ample space that allowed me room to relax and space to spread out while doing work when needed. The turn down service was a nice touch to the evening upon returning from dinner, although the bed was a little uncomfortable to sleep on, but I suppose to him their own. All in all the Brown Palace is a must when staying in downtown Denver.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Stevie B,

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your generous comments with Tucker; we appreciate your taking the time to recongnize his exemplary service.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Brown Palace. We rented a "Top of the Brown" suite. The room was beautiful. You have an office area, bedroom large bathroom, makeup area and a nice foyer.

The service was exemplary, and we were given champagne upon arrival. The valet and parking is not included, but it does include in and out privileges. I did not see if they had a car service, it would be a wonderful addition if they did.

There was a single hiccup during the weekend. The office area of our room had a smoky smell that hit you like a brick wall when you entered the room. Our mistake was not reporting this issue right away. When we reported it later that night, but it was basically brushed off. The smell was so bad that we couldn't even enter the office area.

We made the most of the weekend and had a lovely time. We will return at some point, and this time report any issues immediately.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcolomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing