We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea at the Brown is AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

High Tea here is fantastic! The sandwiches, scones and pastries are by far some of the best I have ever had. The ambiance is gorgeous, our server Isaac was very attentive, and we had a wonderful time. HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denvergrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Seldom does any establishment deliver on all fronts. This one does!

We spent our 35th Wedding Anniversary weekend here last week. upon arrival , we received an upgrade to the Top of the Brown room~ very lovely and quite large. Housekeeping delivered a bottle of champagne & chocolate covered strawberries with a note from the managment welcoming us to the hotel!

This hotel is the nines & the florals are amazing. They have their own flower shop across the street. It shows! The bell service trots back & forth delivering bouquets to the restaurants, lobby, atrium & guest rooms. This is one fine oiled machine.

Drinks in the Atrium were beyond classy. Beautiful Music in an awesome setting. Piano is the afternoon for Tea Time & a Jazz quartet in the evenings for cocktails 4-8:00 PM.

Every one that works here is a gem & really seem to truly love their job. It was so refreshing to see so many cheerful faces! This hotel is not stuffy, just extremely classy.

We ate two meals at the Ships Tavern. Don is a standout waiter~ friendly & knowledgable and first rate. The French Onion Soup is some of the best I have ever had~ including Paris.
My husband loved the burgers~ ordered one twice. Great mixologist that pours a mean Jack Daniels~ Ask Don to chose your Beer flights for you~ Remarkable!!

We took the hotels historic tour (Wednesdays & Saturdays at 3:00 PM) ~ Free for hotel guests. Just drop an email to the concierge to reserve in advance.

The hotels location is prime. Close walk to16th Street Mall area & to the Immaculate Conception Cathedral. The hotel has a courtesy limo that will take you to any location within 5 miles of the hotel. Friendly & courteous drivers and a posh car. We never got our car out of the Valet.

I read a review about taking a night light. Excellent advice. There is a mini frig in the room for snacks & drinks. The Brown has their own artisian well so the water is crisp & clean! Great Coffee machine.

I usually write in a pros & cons format ... but there were no cons at this hotel. I would return in a heartbeat.

Nary a glitch in this weeknd getaway!

Most highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bink51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Bink51,

First and foremost let me congratulate you on your 35th anniversary! We know that you many choices when picking a hotel to celebrate such a memorable time and we are honored that you chose us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and we are very grateful for the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. Our employees love ensuring that our guests enjoy a true Brown Palace experience and I look forward to sharing your generous comments with all the departments you mentioned.

Once again congratulations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
The Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for quick drinks and macaroons. Any excuse we can use to stop or stay at the brown we will do so. Marcel and his staff run an amazing well kept property. Shelly in the cedar bar is worth a trip to meet, she is a Gem! Always exceptional service in every department. I heard they were bought recently by a private firm, so excited, I hope they keep what makes the Brown, the Brown....it's the staff!! Look forward to stopping by for drinks and brunch soon.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Dgojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Dgojen,

Thank you for the kind comments and your loyalty to the Brown Palace. We agree that unquestionably our staff is our greatest asset. I will reach out to Shelly's manager and let them know that her service is appreciated. We look forward to serving you again soon and please let us know if we can assist you with anything your next time around.

Regards,
The Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and it was amazing! We had the basic room but it was very nice! The lobby is the best part of this historic hotel, piano being played it really felt like we were in the roaring 20's! Oh and the location is 1 block from everything!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear RossSavannahGa,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We know that your time is valuable and we appreciate your willingness to share your insight and experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I will make sure I reach out to our lobby musicians and let them know how much you enjoyed the atmosphere they create.

It would be an honor to welcome you to the hotel again!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed two nights at the Brown Hotel and attended a conference there last month. The hotel itself is historical and beautiful. My king room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. I loved having a ceiling fan in my room as well. Housekeeping also did a fantastic job each day. The doormen and front desk personnel were always helpful with anything I asked. The one issue I have with the hotel, and what kept me from giving it 5 stars, is that the hotel charges $13/day for internet service. I find this ridiculous when I'm already paying $270/night for a room. No hotel in this day and age, especially one that hosts conferences, should be charging extra for internet service.

I had one lunch in the Ship's Tavern which consisted of crab cakes and seafood chowder. Both were delicious. Lunchtime was busy and since I was by myself, the waiter even thought enough ahead to try and get my order in ahead of the other larger tables in the restaurant. Great service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zihuatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I just got back from my most recent stay at the Brown Palace, and it never fails to make me leave with a smile on my face. I have been staying here for a little over 13 years now and won’t even consider staying anywhere else in Denver. Of course it’s an amazingly beautiful building, with all of the perks one would expect with a hotel of this caliber; however it’s the staff that truly sets The Brown Palace apart from anywhere else I have ever stayed. From the moment of pulling up in front and seeing Leroy out front it just feels like home. He always greets me with a hug and a smile and that just sets the tone for the rest of my stay.

I have always stayed on the 8th and 9th floors, as they are a bit larger, and have a bathtub that I can actually stretch out in. The bedding is amazingly soft and beds are very comfortable. The rooms on these floors have not been re-decorated at least in my time staying here, however they have taken extra care to make sure that everything is very clean and nothing looks too terribly warn. I needed some help finding a couple of restaurants downtown as well as to get some info on local events and Vince at Concierge was amazing. After first meeting him every time I saw him the rest of the weekend he made a point to stop and say Hi with a smile. This is the type of staff that sets this hotel apart from all others.

I usually take advantage of room service, and this trip was no different. Anything you order off the menu will be amazing. The quality of food, even off of the late night menu is better than anything I ate all weekend anywhere else in Denver. I am usually tempted to just not leave the room between the amazing food, stellar staff, and beautiful surroundings. There are no words to describe the level of service and love that goes in to this establishment from all levels. This is why I will only stay at the Brown Palace when I am in Denver.

Room Tip: 8th and 9th floor have a little larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sean,

Please know that we appreciate your ongoing loyalty to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver.

I was delighted to hear that our team always provides you with exceptional service and that they make you feel like a part of our family here at the Brown. Our employees are unquestionably one of our greatest assets and I will make sure I reach out to both Vince and Leroy and let them know how much you appreciated their service.

I know how precious time is and we value your insight and your willingness to share your hotel experience with others.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were in town for a conference and stopped by the brown palace hotel for dinner at the ship tavern. Dean was our waiter and was absolutely incredible! He knew the menu and was able to articulate the options wonderfully. He was so attentive and never let our glasses get half way down. He had a smile the entire time and made our meal so enjoyable!
Best server in Denver!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsgoebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
910 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,116 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
664 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#31 of 160 in Denver
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £157 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing