We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Building Spoiled by Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
273 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Unique Building Spoiled by Poor Service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Brown Palace is a beautiful old building constructed in 1892. Unfortunately on this stay the service was not up to Marriott's standard or the grand history of the hotel. On three occasions during a two night stay the staff failed miserably. A promised overnight laundry service (with a 35% up charge) was delivered late (even after a call assured that it would be sent right up it took another 30 minutes). A request to have the room made up was greeted with a "we'll send a housekeeper right up". Five hours later -- no service. A call for room service at 11 pm (the hotel touts its 24-hr room service) was directed to the front desk (their standard practice) was greeted with a "can you hold for a moment". Five minutes later, hung up and called back. The lone clerk said, "I'll have room service call you back immediately". 15 minutes later -- no call.

Clearly seems like management is not on top of response time in any department. Too bad for an otherwise nice hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear DRLand,

I was dismayed to learn of the shortcomings you encountered during your stay. Please be assured that your feedback is most valuable to us and will help ensure that future guests will have an enjoyable and memorable stay. Our front office manager reached out to you about your stay recently, but if you still would like to talk please contact the executive office.

Regards,
The Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    324
    138
    96
    54
See reviews for
252
611
129
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is not the first time I have stayed at the Brown Palace, nonetheless, it did not disappoint. This hotel is simply beautiful, with it's gorgeous atrium, dark mahogany furnishings, and elegant flooring (beautiful tiles, marbles and floral carpeting). The rooms are small (both this time and the last), and there's no view to speak of, but the furniture and decorations in the room are first class. I have never tried their restaurants, there are so many near by, I never had the opportunity to, perhaps I should one day. The location can't be beat. I was there for work/meetings both times, and the hotel is literally next to our office building. Within less than 5 minutes walk, you are in the lovely pedestrian mall (closed off to traffic), where there are shops, restaurants, and much much more. If you are tired of walking, you can easily catch the free shuttle that runs up and down the mall. Finally, the staff at the hotel are all efficient, courteous and welcoming. This hotel is a Marriott, and is run like a creme-de-la-creme Marriott spa and resort.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor, otherwise, you may be hearing the noise from the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you like the best of the old world grand hotels, Brown Palace is the place. Great food, attentive service and a beautiful building in the heart of Denver. The rooms are all upgraded with modern features but retain the old-world classic sensibility, including odd shapes, iron scrollwork, a staircase that is fun for the kids, plus live music. A classic.

Room Tip: All the rooms aside from the top 2 floors are great. The hotel is a funky shape, so the rooms are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhengisWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Good things:
Mohammed was extremely helpful and friendly on check-in. Called us as soon as our room was ready.

Also, throughout our stay, all the bellboys and valets were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room and bathroom was clean.

Piano in the Lobby Bar from about 4:30pm-7:30pm....Superb. The pianist was very cordial and pleasant. Nice selection of music.

Ship Tavern...Good food.

Not-so-good things:
Room was extremely small, but that was sort of expected. No air conditioning in bathroom, so with the warm weather that was a little uncomfortable. Mattress seemed like it has seen better days.

Tried to get a private tour of the hotel through the Concierge. He said we could do the public tours on the scheduled dates, or schedule a few days ahead of time to get a private tour. We were not going to be there on the dates of public tours, so we asked if we could pay for a private tour that day, and he said no. No other information, not particularly helpful, very business-like, and no offer to get me some sort of private tour since that was our only night at the hotel.

No bottled water provided. Bottled water was about $5.00 per bottle at the coffee shop.

Delay in talking to someone at front desk. Sometimes only one person checking people in and out.

Left sunglasses either in room or at front desk on checkout. Wife went right back in, and clerk would not let her go back up to room to check for sunglasses. He took 2 looks down the counter and said no sunglasses there. Very disappointing service at this point.

OVERALL: Probably about 3 stars. Definitely not a 4-star hotel at this point. Showing signs of needing some updating to keep the historic look and character, but they still need to be able to get up to 4-star quality and value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darryl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Darryl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Please be assured that feedback is most valuable to us and will help ensure that future guests have an enjoyable and meorable stay.

Our historian is only on site certain days, but I will reach out to the concierge desk and let them know that we need to convey that information to our guests better and I will reach out to the head of each department mentioned and have them discuss your comments with the staff.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encounted. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced and that your stay was impacted.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a must stop even if your not staying the nice. The building is really something to look at, the service is great and the restaurants (all of them) are first class all the way. I stopped in for lunch on a Sunday and had a nice casual relaxing meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akrontravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Terrific, classic hotel in Denver. Great location, friendly intelligent staff. Very accommodating for a couple minor requests. Great location.
It really brought character and charm to a business trip. I'd stay here again any time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Travelled to Denver from the UK as it was the nearest international airport giving access to Rapid City where we were to join an 8 day tour of Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and Salt Lake City. Had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel for 3 nights. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, our room was lovely (only criticism would be lack of small fridge/mini bar), the interior of the hotel is beautiful and from a bygone age, and the facility of a limo pick up within a 5 mile radius was great - it was our vehicle to the ball game and back!! Location is excellent being a few minutes walk from 16th Street Mall, and not far from the Capitol Building.

Of course we had to experience their afternoon tea served in the very comfortable lounge area with the glass atrium above. My husband is diabetic and would not have been able to sample the delicious sweet offerings, however, without us even requesting it, they had made him some sugar free desserts which made our experience even better! Not many places would do that! A harpist was playing during the tea, it was wonderful.

If ever we went back to Denver we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llpasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,197 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing