We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but not fabulous...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found this hotel just "ok". Good location, but very dated. Staff was only slightly helpful about activities in the area. The afternoon tea was terrific, so recommend going for that even if you don't stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Carrie W,

Thank you for writing about your experience at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. Please accept my sincere apologies that the staff was not able to help you with activities in the area. I am thrilled that the Lobby tea was enjoyable and I will let the staff know of your kind words.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is our second visit in one month and overall quite pleased...on arrival I thought "oh no, old hotel...this should be interesting" but the staff at the Palace are top notch, customer-oriented, and pleasant. Had a standard king room (the 400 sq ft one) that proved our initial impressions wrong. Both times stayed for a conference/meeting related event(s) and hands-down everyone commented on the quality service you don't get at the usual chain hotels. Tip: get a room that gets morning sun; What's nice: ceiling fan and AC, despite inability to control fan speed, keep us more than cool in hot July weather. Get an upper floor room and you'll get more sunlight. Daily Marriott Rewards breakfast in restaurant was quite nice and often a highlight of the morning. "Tea" or evening drinks in atrium w/live music nice. Interesting/refreshing experience from the usual boring cookie cutter chain hotels most business travelers experience. Finally, both times got an exceptionally affordable rate, perhaps due to conference. Bed comfy but they could really upgrade the mattress and bedding to really seal the deal on a perfect sleep. With a bit more effort, this could truly be a classic, historic possibly 5 star hotel in Denver. Co-workers at Hyatt convention center, while happy w/a nice modern hotel, convenient to convention center were jealous of the charm, uniqueness, and personality of The Palace.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DCSteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Don't know if it was luck but the room we got was much larger than a standard hotel room. We had kids with us and the extra floor space was great so we didn't feel cramped. Someone had complained they don't have bottled water in the room but they have their own artesian well beneath the hotel and the water from the faucet was great. We drank a ton of it. We spent a couple hours just wandering the property and marveling at the stonework, the architecture, the woodwork, light fixtures. I was there for meetings and the meeting room (Coronet) was quiet and convenient. The hotel provided excellent food for us. Every staff member we encountered was polite, responsive, and helpful. Valet parking was great but there really isn't another feasible option.

A few small issues-- public tours are included with your stay but only offered Weds and Sat. We arrived Weds night and left Saturday morning so we couldn't take a guided tour. They have a self guided tour but you can't go everywhere the guided tour goes. For the price of the room a mini fridge would be nice, we like to keep yogurt/juice for breakfasts since it isn't included and is steep for a family to eat here. All the onsite dining options are pricey as are the drinks in the Ship Tavern but the food is very good and price is somewhat expected, and the atmosphere is great. Many other options within walking distance, especially on the 16th St Mall. A channel guide for the TV would be nice, I don't know why more hotels don't provide this.

Overall a great experience for our family and rates are not crazy. Would stay there again if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I love this place! It is a lovely change from all cookie cutter hotels. The Brown Palace is beautiful and grand. The lobby is worth seeing even if you are not staying here. This trip we were on the 'Top of the Brown' level giving us a spacious room yet the room was very dark but still very nice. The shower was outstanding and I love the fact that the hotel's water is all from their underground spring.They say the 9th floor is haunted but thankfully we did not experience anything! All staff was helpful; we will be back for sure!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank konaflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is our third stay in a year at the Brown. It is a wonderful, classic, historical hotel, yet not old or stuffy. The amenities are all as modern as anywhere else. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. While late night room service can be disappointing, most service is spot on: bell service, concierge, and at the several very good restaurants. The staff is always friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a special place that seems more than just a routine business hotel, this is a great option.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Terps52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Denver should be proud of a hotel that hold up to whatever NYC, Chicago and Fan Francisco have to offer. A beautiful property,from the amazing lobby to the Ship Tavern to the rooms. Great bed and well-appointed rooms.

Nit; I think a hand-held, European-style unit in the shower would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank too-err-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Too-err-ist,

Thank you for staying at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and for your generous comments about our property. I know how valuable and precious your time is and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your experience with us.

I look forward to sharing your insight and suggestions with the leadership team.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel staff has made this an incredibly comfortable and enjoyable conference. The wait staff at our meals were among the most attentive and efficient that I've ever experienced at similar conferences in other cities and at other hotels. The meals themselves were also of excellent quality.

The accommodations are quite comfortable, although I'll admit that the music rising from the atrium could be quite loud at times.

I and many of my companions also made it a point to experience high tea in the atrium. This is something that must be tried at least once.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#33 of 160 in Denver
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
885 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £171 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing