We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment at the Brown Palace” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment at the Brown Palace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed often at the Brown, and this was disappointing overall. We did have a good dinner with room service, and of course the lobby is beautiful.
Our main complaint was that, despite two calls to housekeeping and then engineering, our room temperature remained at 72 degrees all night, which is too warm for sleeping. (The outside temperature was 68.)
The mattress was too firm, there was only one piece of soap in the bathroom.
It appears, under its new Marriott management, that the luxury and good service of the past is gone. For this price I will stay at one of the other luxury Denver hotels, which are more highly rated.

Room Tip: For the cost of this hotel, stay somewhere else. Paying $12.95 for wifi is way too much, as is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Marilyn M,

Thank you for writing to us about your experience, feedback is one of the best ways we can ensure our service and quality exceed the guest expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced due to the lack of service from the housekeeping staff and from the air conditioning. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. I have reached out to our leadership team about your stay and let them know of your experience so we can better serve our guests in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    310
    131
    94
    51
See reviews for
241
587
127
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My new husband and I recently went to Colorado to get married in Aspen. The first night we stayed at The Brown Palace. I only mentioned that we were here to get married and the next thing we knew the concierge had a bottle of champagne and fresh chocolate covered strawberries sent to our room. The experience that we had was wonderful! We felt very welcomed and right at home. I would recommend putting staying at The Brown Palace at the top of your bucket list!
Thank you to The Brown Palace for making our trip an unforgettable one!
Tina and Bob Sutton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

In many ways, loved the Brown Palace Hotel. It is historic and the ambience of the restaurants and lobby area are wonderful. However, when we checked in, we were told they were upgrading us. We though: "Great"! Their service could not have been better. However, we were in a room at the top of one of the staircases. Lovely view. Then we walked into a freezing room. Temp was set at 65 degrees. Someone did come to try to adjust it and even adjusted it with their central heating. We waited an hour, the room did not get better and next door were very loud women. We contacted the front desk. They moved us to the apartment floor which was much, much nicer and a real "upgrade". Would we stay there again....no!

Room Tip: Ask to see it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Linda,

We always strive to provide a flawless hotel experience and regret that you were disappointed with your upgrade. Accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered with the air conditioning unit in your guest room. We are truly sorry that you were inconcenienced by this issue and that it impacted your stay. Please be assured that your comments and time with us will be shared with the management team.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Unlike many I prefer ambiance to food quality. At the Brown Hotel I received both and excellent service as well in the "Bar"...and live piano music on top of it. Not only was my party of five seated among history, but the portion of steak I received was big enough for three meals (and with tasty vegetables). I requested a soup instead of potatoes and waited for the bill apprehensively. I knew there would be at up-charge..but there wasn't. It was my favorite dinner while in Downtown Denver. It is a bit costly, but a super experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JRTOY89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Historical without being backward, I found the Brown Palace a wonderful stay. The Signature Room in which we stayed was spacious, well-appointed, and included a tasteful bathroom and very comfortable bed. Wonderful amenities available on the property, and a gracious staff. There was some confusion with billing for a colleague, and the sound-proofing between walls wasn't quite what is should be in a hotel of this caliber. That said, I would be happy to stay there again in Denver.

Room Tip: Investing in a Signature Room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogondai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First we like these old hotels which have been saved. The Brown is one of the best we have been to. The staff is great and most helpful. We had one of the small rooms in the original hotel, and it was ok. (note if you stay in one of these rooms in the summer be sure make sure the AC is working well).
If you are into Hi/Tea it is there with music. Starting at 4:30 till 7:30 there is a jaz combo in the bar, which is in the atrium. This is worth the trip..
There are three restaurants and we visited two. The food is excellent, but expensive.
There is a tour of the hotel at 3:00 most days and it is worth the trip. The location is next to Denver's Museum of Western History. Other sites are more than walking distance...

Notes: If you are driving in parking is $34.00 per day and in this location no other options.There is a cross walk which connects the Brown with a Comfort Inn (which is owned by the same people that run the Brown) so you can get a lessor rate and still enjoy the Brown.

In any case if you find yourself in downtown this is worth the trip. We will be back.

Room Tip: Summer months be sure A/C is really working
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarineAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms had lots of character and were very comfortable. During the day I had injured my ankle and the hotel provided a wheelchair for me to borrow so I could still go sightsee some brewery's. The hotel also has complimentary car service and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing