We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic old school hotel, modern feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Mi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Classic old school hotel, modern feel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As a committed Marriott rewards member, closing in on 1000 membership nights, we like to mix it up and stay at their upscale brands. This hotel lived up to its 'historic' appeal and was a lot of fun. King room was more like a suite with separate living room.
Bathroom was spacious and modern.
Frankly the people from the Marriott Brand hotels should visit and see how to keep a property updated.
But I digress...
Staff was awesome and knowledgeable. At breakfast, Anton explained the details of the menu and then gave explanation why the Nike Running App doesn't work well in Denver.
A few minor hiccups were resolved quickly.
It comes at a price, but that wasn't a surprise.
Would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Axel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Axel S,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and for your lovely review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the historic nature of the hotel and that our staff was able to help you with the minor hiccups that you encountered. I look forward to sharing your review with our associates.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    312
    131
    95
    51
See reviews for
244
596
127
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was lucky to stay at the Brown Palace for a four day conference. The hotel is beautiful and has a large history. They actually do have tours but I wasn't able to attend one to hear more about it. The rooms have updated features including an alarm clock with iPhone 5 interface, rain shower in the bathroom, and a single keurig coffee maker among other things. Pet friendly too! The bedding was extremely soft and the bed very comfortable. We learned after looking for bottled water that they actually have a spring under the hotel which is connected to all the faucets! The conference rooms were some of the best I've experienced both for large groups and smaller groups. It is a bit expensive, but I think they really live up to their pricing. Great location with many delicious restaurants and fun areas within walking distance. I highly recommend adding this hotel to your Denver experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TremontRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 15th wedding anniversary celebration. What a great hotel! The staff was amazing - from the champagne on arrival to complimentary chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room for our celebration. My favorite part, however, was the complimentary historic hotel tour. The tour made the hotel even more special!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YellowBrickRdTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ComputerMommy,

First and foremost congratulations on your 15th wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing our hotel to make your special day memorable. We are truly grateful to you for your kind words and I look forward to reaching out the historian about your enjoyment of the tour.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We celebrated our 20th anniversary here this past weekend and the service and accommodations were top notch. Friendly, courteous staff. They gave us champagne and strawberries in our room for our special day. Really great, old hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vassinator70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Downtown Denver seems to be awash in modern, urban-hip hotels, but for me and my three young children, the Brown Palace remains our preferred destination. I've been staying at the Brown for most of my 60-plus years, and never fail to marvel at its architecture, the impeccably clean and well-maintained rooms, the various dining and drink options, and most importantly the professional, friendly and welcoming staff, notably the bellmen, the wait and service staff and the hotel's Town Car driver. (The maître d' at Ellyngtons was unnecessarily condescending and stuck us in a dark corner for our $160 breakfast even though the restaurant was virtually empty; my fault for not asking for another table. And reservations failed to honor an on-line deal for Colorado residents.) In any case, the Brown recaptures Colorado's history, its location is perfect for the downtown museums and sightseeing, and it adheres to a sense of tradition difficult to find in today's world. I know I'll be back, and I trust my three kids will not only remember their visits to the Brown, but will be return guests for decades to come.

Room Tip: The hotel's triangular shape lends itself to multiple room configurations, especially in the cor...
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressed with the hotel's new environmental consciousness and recycling efforts.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradotreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Coloradotreker,

Please know that we appreciate your ongoing loyalty to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver. I was dismayed to learn of the shortcomings you encountered with our maitre d'. Please be assured that your feedback is most valuable to us and will help ensure that your furture experiences with us, as well as that of all guests, will be enjoyable and memorable.

It will be an honor to welcome you and your family again!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What an oasis in an already great city. You can feel the aura of the Old West power brokers. The Atrium, the artisan well drinking fountain in the lobby bringing up the water from 750 feet. You can walk 1 block to the 16th Street Mall free bus which takes you up and down, jumping off and on, 16th street filled with great restaurants, bars, shops. The Hotel also offers a free shuttle within 5 miles for drop off and pick up. Which can include the vibrant Cherry Creek area. The staff is extremely efficient, polite and professional at every position. High Tea or cocktails in the Atrium are a wonderful experience. Breakfast in Ellington's is outstanding. Eggs Benedict with a nice shave of truffle. The formal restaurant, Palace Arms, is exceptional. Classic elegant dining with that Colorado twist. The white glove table side service harkens back to forgotten times. And yet, being in the West, Jeans are acceptable but prepare for New York prices. Have stayed twice this year with the same results. Will go back again next year.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade, The junior suites are very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: The current environmentally friendly practices are in place in all areas of the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEJ250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I recently stayed at The Brown Palace Hotel and marveled at this historic building. The hotel first opened in 1892. The building is absolutely incredible. I almost didn't want to go to my room- I wanted to just stand and take the whole building in.

The hotel is situated in a great location- they have a number of restaurants onsite and are within minutes of dozens of others (the 16th Street Mall is about a 5 minute walk away). You really couldn't pick a better location if you are staying in Denver.

The rooms are a little small, but not bad considering the age of the building. The bed was quite comfortable. The minute you walk in, you can tell this is a historic hotel. The good aspect of that is that it has a lot of charm that you don't find in the cookie-cutter hotels that litter the countryside. The downside is that you have to put up with some minor inconveniences. For example, the shower took an absurdly long time to get hot. I had to stand there and wait and wait and wait. There also wasn't a lot of space for my luggage or other belongings. I ended up scattering them around the room. The room itself wasn't the most quiet I have been to- you could hear music playing in the lobby fairly frequently and some of the conversations in the lobby float up as well. The sounds weren't overly problematic, but they were always present.

I did have some meetings in a conference room. The space was a little awkward, but it didn't detract from our meeting at all. The staff were very friendly and ensured we had everything we needed.

Despite a few minor grumblings, I really loved my stay in The Brown Palace. It's a historic, beautiful building and it offers a unique experience. I would absolutely consider returning on a future trip to Denver.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a high room to put some space between you and what's happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreatone3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Thegreatone3182,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that your enjoyed your visit and we are grateful to you for your kind words and suggestions regarding the hotel.

We strive to provide a flawless luxury hotel experience and regret that the shower and noise from the lobby impacted your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for these issues. I will reach out to our engineering department about the shower issues so other guests do not have the same experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the furture.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
765 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#18 of 156 in Denver
1,167 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing