We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Brown Palace for our first anniversary. We couldn't have had a better stay. The Brown Palace gave us a complementary room upgrade and sent up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to help us celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay at the Brown Palace again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojodarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
There are newer reviews for The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel was so beautiful!! The staff was very friendly and the resturaunts were delicious! The spa was very relaxing, I would definitley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srkrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We found an unbelievable package deal on the internet for the Brown Palace. Having heard many positive comments about the hotel over the years, we decided to book a night after finding a really terrific rate of $129 a night (for a Friday). Since we were celebrating our anniversary, we decided to add the romance package which included an 80-minute couples massage, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, rose-petal turndown service and breakfast at one of the hotel's restaurants. We were really pleased with the hotel itself; beautiful, old-fashioned charm but nicely updated. The valet service was prompt and professional, and when we asked about a room upgrade, our request was cheerfully granted. Our room was cozy and charming, just as we'd expected, and the bed was comfy and slept well. Our breakfast at Ellyngton's (sp?) was delicious- great variety, delicious coffee, and the fruit and granola and yogurt parfait was really special.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexthreekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We should have taken the miserable reservation process as a sign to NOT stay here. They couldn't get our reservation correct, and when the BP finally did get it right, they messed it up once again on our arrival. Front desk staff COULDN'T HAVE CARED LESS that our reservations were wrong--and their fault. We had to unpack, log on to our computer, pull up our confirmation and then? no apology. Complete and utter disregard for the customer's convenience & happiness. Rooms were large but stuffy, hard beds, decent bathrooms. But the snarky staff doesn't justify even the nicest accommodations. Stayed there 2 nights and then went over to Hotel Teatro with amazing beds, a better rate, windows that open & a fabulous, well-staffed restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xnjgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownPalaceHotel, Director of Revenue Management at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

Dear xnjgirl,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and truly value your feedback. Our reservations accuracy scores are consistently well above luxury industry standards and I am very disappointed to hear that you were not shown the level of service we pride ourselves in. I assure you, exceptional customer service is always our number one priority here at The Brown Palace and if you wouldn’t mind contacting us regarding the details of your reservations and check-in process, I would really like the opportunity to research your concerns. My sincerest apologies for your experience.

Kind Regards,

Marre Brantner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I stayed at the Brown Palace for two days during a recent long road trip and had an absolutely flawless stay. The staff was consummately professional, made me feel extremely welcome and assisted me to the utmost with all of my belongings and my needs. It was a welcome interlude of elegance during my long trip and I enjoyed every minute of my stay there. Frankly, the service that I had from all staff members was beyond reproach and it made the stay memorable. The food was excellent as well, beautifully prepared and presented in a gracious environment. Lobby Tea was especially enjoyable and the pianist they had playing was a real treat to listen to as his effortless chords floated through the entire hotel, adding to the ambiance. Moreover, this a very beautiful historic building in its own right with stunning architecture. This gorgeous building is part of our American architectural heritage and I applaud the Brown Palace for running and maintaining this gem of a hotel for current and future generations. It's a great part of Denver history, a wonderful part of American history and a unique and truly fabulous place to stay overall. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

From the moment we got out of our car, the staff at the Brown Palace treated us as VIPs.
From the doorman to the desk clerk to the wait staff and maids, we were treated as though we were the only guests at the hotel. The staff at the Spa saw to our every need and proviided us with a relaxing experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjoseph43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This is a great historic hotel but unfortunately the accomodations are not up to 5 star quality. I've previously stayed in a renovated guest room but not the latest time and this room needed updating especially the bathroom. The front desk was not staffed appropriately during check-out and we had a missed wake up call. There were also inoppotune visits from maintenance which could have been accomplished at appropriate times. Also upon inquiring if there was a continental breakfast at Ellyngtons-was rudely informed that the Comfort Inn has a continental breakfast, the Brown Palace did not, as if this were some mark of distinction.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSSDDD, Hotel Management at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2009

Dear MNsota,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take great pride in providing exceptional customer service to each guest and I sincerely apologize for the impression bestowed upon you. In regard to your room, we are near the completion of an $8 million renovation of our bathrooms which feature dual showerheads, granite countertops and marble tile, and we recently renovated our guestrooms with re-upholstered chairs, updated artwork, new carpeting, new tiled entries, and new television armoires and flat screen TVs. Lastly, if I may provide some clarification about the continental breakfast comment – The Brown Palace Hotel also manages the downtown Comfort Inn, which is connected via sky bridge, and I’m sure this is why the distinction was made. Nonetheless, our sincerest apologies for your experience and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

In The Spirit of Hospitality,

Brown Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 158 in Denver
1,230 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £178 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing