We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope I don't have to go back...should've went to the Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“I hope I don't have to go back...should've went to the Hyatt”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I had group reservations at this hotel and was really looking forward to it. Unfortunately, before I ever opened my room door I could smell something foul. When I entered the room, the smell got stronger and I realized it was in the bathroom. It smelled like sewage gas so I called the front desk. The maintenance guy said it was just an air pump that wasn't working. I came back several hours later--smell still there. I tried wrapping the toilet in towels, spraying perfume, running the shower with an unlighted candle in the bathroom and putting bath gel in a sink full of water to mask the smell. The next day, the smell was still there and I asked for a new room and was told the hotel was full and housekeeping would be sent up. The manager was very snippy with me. The housekeeping person was very nice and shocked at the smell in the bathroom. She called another maintenance person and he couldn't figure out what was wrong; he was nice but was unable to solve the problem. I was finally given another room at my second request and that room had a bathroom that smelled strongly like fresh paint (I wasn't about to complain after the sewage gas smell) & the tub leaked on much of the bathroom floor. The building itself is beautiful, but the service is not up to par--if someone's room smells as bad as mine did--not fixing the problem or finding another room IMMEDIATELY is completely unacceptable for a hotel that charges as much as the Brown Palace. That smell was absolutely disgusting. Front desk staff is inconsistent in service & after asking for a discount due to the smell & having to move, etc. I was give $30 off --pretty lame.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caphillgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownPalaceHotel, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dear caphillgrl,

We sincerely apologize for your experience and regret not initially being able to accommodate your request for another room due to our capacity. I assure you that the particular situation you encountered is highly uncommon and was due to a failed vent that has been fixed. Additionally, the bathrooms were not yet renovated and will soon feature dual showerheads, granite countertops and beautiful marble tile as part of an $8 million renovation. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience these luxurious updates and enjoy the high quality four-star, four-diamond accommodations we pride ourselves in.

In The Spirit of Hospitality,

Philip Madrid
Director of Engineering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    336
    140
    96
    56
See reviews for
262
620
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I spent four wonderful nights recently at The Brown. The property is gorgeous. Sometimes older hotels can be noisy with poor sound insulation, but that was not the case at The Brown. The room was extremely quiet with no street noise or adjacent room noise. Muffled noise from the hall could be heard if you stood next to the exterior door, but it was not audible from the sleeping area. The bed and bedding were great as well. The bed is made up with feather pillows and comforter. If you need down alternative bedding, it will be switched out promptly. The bathroom has been updated with a large walk in shower. Great water pressure and soft water from their own artesian well. We liked having a coffee maker in the room, so we could have a cup of coffee while we were getting dressed. The entire staff was accomodating and friendly. Location is convenient to everything in downtown. We mostly left our car in the garage and either walked, took the free 16th Street shuttle or used the hotel courtesy car service. We ate at The Ships Tavern and it was very good. Also, the spa services are excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler8020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We went to Brown Palace for a local weekend getaway. We loved the old European, antique style. The staff and service was excellent and our couple's massage was great. A beautiful hotel and a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zephaniah_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We recently stayed the night at The Brown Palace to take advantage of their King Tut package. What a great value! From the moment you step up to the hotel, you are greeted warmly, graciously, you are made to feel special. They had our room ready early for us, the concierge was extremely helpful, as was the front desk staff. The location of the hotel is great- we were within walking distance of the Denver Art Museum (King Tut Exhibit), the 16th street mall, and only 22 miles from Denver International Airport. There is so much history at The Brown Palace, yet it feels fresh and has all of the latest amenities. When we travel, this hotel is the standard that all the other hotels have to measure up to!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Not only is the Brown Palace a great historical Place, but the service and accomodations are wonderful. My room was so comfortable and homey, I did not want to go to business meetings, just stay in the comfy bed. I am so sorry I did not get to take advantage of the "high Tea' in the afternoon. It looked so regal and the music was soothing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shotard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

1. Room safe was placed on the floor of a closet into which one has to crawl like a lizard in order to use it;
2. Coffee maker provided with coffee doses of wrong size and no place to plug it in;
3. Hotel operator called twice when I was in the shower to say that housekeeping wanted to deliver laundry but there was a "do not disturb" sign on my door!
4. Restaurant hours are short and inflexible;
5. The Ship's Tavern restaurant had grandiloquent descriptions of food choices, which only exaggerated further the mediocrity of the food.
6. Reception and concierge staff were invariably pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownPalaceHotel, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Dear Davthor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad you found our reception and concierge staff pleasant and helpful and sincerely apologize for your aforementioned disappointments. If I may address a few of your concerns. I am regretful you found Ship Tavern to be mediocre as it is a local favorite known for the region’s best prime rib and lively piano entertainment, but we are we are proud to offer our guests six unique dining experiences. Our restaurant hours range from 6 a.m. to 11:30 p.m., consisting of three restaurants serving lunch and dinner, one serving breakfast and Sunday champagne brunch, traditional afternoon tea daily, a coffee shop offering beverages and pastries, and 24-hour room service. Concerning the call you received for laundry delivery – we make every effort to ensure delivery of dry cleaning by the time you have requested so as not to inconvenience you and we are not able to do so if there is a “do not disturb” sign on your door. I am very sorry if you found our attempts to deliver to be unsatisfactory. Again, thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

In The Spirit of Hospitality,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights. It's ok. It is clean, and the pianist is a nice touch. But the charges for everything are unreasonable. I found out on the 5th night of my stay that the wireless code that is suppose to only work in the lobby, works in my room. I'm actually using it now. I called to complain, because I feel as if I was deceived. The manager was rude, and talked down to me. I think he could have at least offered to comp 50% of the charges. That would have made me feel better.

I wish I had figured this out the first night I was here, and I could have saved money. They charge $9/day. I have a very demanding job that requires me to stay "on the grid". It's hard for me to concentrate in a lobby.

Get the code the first night, and save your money.

I'll be back to Denver, but not this hotel.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FloridaNASAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownPalaceHotel, Front Office Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Dear FloridaNASAgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We make every effort to provide our business travelers with exceptional amenities including a 24-hour business center, complimentary Mercedes, on-site concierge and five distinct restaurants ranging from a casual pub to contemporary fine dining. Additionally, we perform ongoing research to offer competitive internet rates with several other luxury hotels in the area and apologize for your disappointment. After viewing your experience, we are currently in the process of updating our system for complimentary access in the lobby and assure you that this has been resolved. We sincerely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience that may have occurred and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

In The Spirit of Hospitality,

Ryan Pratt
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,207 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
821 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing