We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time Charm for those whose prefer the Bed&Breakfast Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Old time Charm for those whose prefer the Bed&Breakfast Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at The Oxford Hotel for my mom's birthday and to see Lenny Kravitz at the Buell Theater which was a quick 2 minute drive away. I purchased the package with a room, valet and breakfast and it was definitely the way to go. Upon arrival, Mia, the manager on duty, greeted us with a big smile! My mom requested room 420 because of her favorite movie, Somewhere in Time. The staff was playing along with my mom's request, and sure enough, we got the room upgrade to 420 "on the house." Mia was super sweet to let us have that room and the royal treatment was only beginning. I let her know it was my Mom's birthday, and she sent up some goodies to our room along with a sweet birthday card signed by all the staff. The room reminded me of a cozy B&B which is my favorite way to travel. The next morning we had breakfast downstairs at McCormick's and breakfast was perfect, and the staff super friendly. Definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. I just can't say enough good things about the Oxford. It was cozy, historic, and the staff was awesome! Beats any chain hotel any day!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenbensven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    195
    66
    18
    18
See reviews for
156
447
60
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This old historic hotel has been updated with the latest technology and yet remains beautiful and elegant. The location is delightful and makes enjoying the neat places in downtown Denver easy. The friendly staff adds to the gentle and warm ambiance. The morning coffee available near the elevators on each floor was absolutely wonderful. McCormick's Restaurant and bar, located in the hotel, are also a plus. We are glad we live only 45 minutes away so we can stay here again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Victorian" type room. Art deco rooms are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I chose to take a long weekend and just get away from the everyday "race of the rats!" The Oxford was a wonderful choice. What was even better we combined it with some of the wonderful offers during the "Denver Restaurant week" known as the $52.80.
We definitely will stay at the Oxford again the staff was wonderful, helpful and courteous!
Enjoy this jewel from Denver's past that still shines.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've stayed at the Oxford a few times and without fail each time I'm had a wonderful experience. The front desk staff is always very pleasant, attentive and helpful. This last time we arrived in the evening during a snow storm, on a Sunday, and most local restaurants had closed their kitchen doors to help their staff get home safe and sound, including McCormicks which is associated with the hotel. The front desk called around (and around) and found a place nearby that still served food for us. (By the way, I was less impressed by the manager at McCormicks who brushed us off.)

Also, I was able to take advantage of their partnership with the Oxford Spa next door for a yoga class - a great option and far above and beyond the typical hotel gym!

Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_0312_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I opted for the Oxford Hotel for my wedding anniversary with my husband and we brought our dog. I am not surprised that this reminded me of another of the 200 best ranked hotels worldwide, the Royal Hawaiian pink palace where we spent our wedding night. The atmosphere, design and decor, polished staff, the thoughtful gestures of wine and chocolate treats in the room upon arrival, the fact that my husband (and our dog) felt right at home... all this meant so much to me. There is a plethora of fine and/or fun dining within and outside the hotel. This hotel is incredible for leisure travel but if I was traveling for business I would never want to settle for anything less.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanoa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have previously reviewed this hotel back in November when my husband, dog and myself were traveling cross country. It was not up to our expectations after reading numerous glowing reviews. At any rate I would like to rescind my initial review and post a more positive one. On our trip back to Los Angeles we stopped once again in Denver....having driven through Nebraska after it's first snowfall of the year and horrific driving conditions we were looking forward to Denver. My husband, contrary to my choice of hotels wanted to stay at the Oxford again. I relented, simply because I knew that the location would be perfect, I was willing to forgo comfort.
Upon check-in we were given an upgrade....when we got to our room we were more than happy, thrilled was more like it. Double windows, a bed that didn't need a chair to be hoisted up into and a normal bath. This room was heaven! We were so exhausted from our trip up until this point, we decided to stay an extra day to bathe ourselves in comfort.
It was 8 degrees so there wasn't a whole lot to do, but the lobby was cozy with a fire blazing and there is a restaurant attached to the hotel which was very convenient.
Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating and seemed to really try to make our stay enjoyable. We would definitely return to this hotel, and since they allow dogs it's a def thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormdog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver58
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel first opened it's doors in 1891. It's been refurbished and offers all the modern conveniences but, retains it's original elegance. It's a warm, cozy, sparkling clean boutique hotel full of gorgeous antiques. The valet (super nice and very accommodating) takes your car to a parking garage a few blocks away. There is no on street parking - it's downtown Denver which is metered. If you want, the hotel also has a town car available to take you to dinner.

Justin (who was wonderful!) checked us in. We settled in to our lovely room, then explored the other floors. As you get off the elevator, on each floor you see a lounge area with overstuffed chairs. If so inclined, this would be a very pleasant place to sit and read one of the books from the library located above the check-in area. These areas also serve as a place to get your morning coffee or tea from silver urns. After we were done exploring, we went down stairs to the Cruise Room Martini Bar. It's located on the first floor I was told by a friend that the bar is patterned after a bar in the Queen Mary. Whether or not it was, it is a fantastic place to have a drink including any kind of martini you could imagine. They also have a nice wine selection. We had no trouble finding a place to sit only because we got in there early. By the time we left for our dinner reservations at 7:30 pm, the place was SRO.

The bed was very comfortable, the towels were plentiful and the toiletries were high end. All and I all - I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms only have showers. If a bath is your thing, clarify it when you make your reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing