We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I bet this place would be great. Super cool location and nice decor. But, I stayed here this week and the HVAC system went out. It was brutally hot in my room. I came down in the morning to check out and the guy asked me how my stay was. I told the guy at the front desk that it was really hot and I couldn't sleep. He said "yeah, you're the 5th person that said something about that". But that was it. I wasn't expecting a free room but a legit apology or maybe breakfast would've been nice considering I dropped $200 to sweat all night and not sleep. It wasn't exactly the service you'd expect at a place this nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timeless09, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your stay being considerably less than satisfactory. The staff obviously did not handle the situation properly and not just with you. I will be using your survey as a training tool to emphasize that we never let a guest leave unhappy. Please feel free to contact me directly to be our guest on your next trip to Denver. I can assure you that this is not the normal experience our guests receive and we will fix it thanks to what you kindly shared.

Sincerely,
Michael O'Shea
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here on a recent business trip to Denver. The location is amazing as it's within 4-5 blocks of probably 50 bars and restaurants. Very easy to walk to Coors Field or the Pepsi Center from there. It's an older hotel that has been restored and renovated to a certain degree, but still has all the comforts of one of the larger chains. The service was fantastic! The staff were very attentive and extremely helpful. The Fitness Center is one of the best I have ever seen at a hotel. The cost was also very reasonable and less expensive than one of the chain hotels in the area (Westin, Marriott, etc). I would say we definitely got more value for our money here. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Denver.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franchise35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timeless09, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We do have an amazing location being in the heart of LoDo. I am pleased that you found the service up to your expectations. We truly have an amazing staff that understands what it is to serve others with authenticity, heart and soul. I am glad you enjoyed the Club as well. We are in the process of making many improvements to our Club, Spa and Salon. Please feel free to contact me directly and it would be my pleasure to give you a personal tour the next time you are with us.

Sincerely,
Michael O'Shea
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This a wonderful Hotel with amazing staff but they do not and have not cleaned there carpets in years!!!!

If you stay here be sure not to take off your shoes in the room. The carpet is not suppose to be mated brown but a plush gold.

Head of Engineering Michael Michna says is because of a tight budget.

Why do hotels spend money to clean there windows but not carpets? Windows are the first thing you as a consumer see. This must change.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timeless09, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid response. I must admit that I am a bit baffled at your comments about the carpeting. We have just finished installing new carpeting in 25% of our guest rooms and also the hallway carpeting on three of the guest room floors. In addition, all the guest rooms carpeting are deep cleaned on a regular basis.

Regardless, your experience was less than satisfactory and I do apologize for that. Please feel free to contact me directly to have you back as our guest so you can experience what we are really about. Once again, I appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Michael O'Shea
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Upper middle class retirement age couple who eschew the chrome and glitz of yuppiedom, were guided to this lovely renovated downtown hostelry for the Easter weekend. Rooms out of the 1890s west, but very nicely appointed. They had good coffee machine on each floor (with robe to wear to fetch it). And, they had complementary Sunday NYTs in the lobby. Terrific service, two different types of bar, lovely old restaurant, which we did not try as our friends provided dinners in their home and at other venues. Did not use Spa facility.
Downside is its location in the new hip club area near the old Union Station that is now under renovation.. Quite safe, but a tad noisy on Friday night. We had a splended corner room looking SE.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiminvirginia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timeless09, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to share your comments on your last visit with us. The Oxford is truly a unique gem in Denver, quite different from what you would find in any of the larger and as you refer to as "Chrome" hotels.

LoDo is am extremely vibrant neighborhood and I do apologize for the noise. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Michael O'Shea
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

oxford hotel experience was great. the staff from the time one enters to check in till you go to check out they all were there for you ---.small hotel but BIG in accommodations---location was very good & close to everything---one can wake up to some coffe by the elevators on each floor & computer access available----we were there for the ncaa tourney in pepsi center so we could walk there -----next time i go to denver staying @ OXFORD HOTEL ---hope who ever reads this will enjoy as much as we did .

Room Tip: higher floors allow one a little better view but any room you choose you'll like due to the amme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank len l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timeless09, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased you had the opportunity to have the true "Oxford Experience" during your visit.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael O'Shea
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Wonderful old hotel (city's oldest) with lots of charm, ambiance and creature comforts. Rooms very well furnished, appointed and comfortable, and made us feel like we were staying in a B&B. Service was outstanding reinforcing the B&B feel. Great location in LODO area near 16th Street Mall, Union Station and downtown with many shops and attractions within easy walking distance. Great in-house spa, restaurant (McCormick and Schmidt’s) and very nice, relaxed, historic Art Deco bar (Cruise Room) in lobby (as long as you don’t mind red and pink décor.) Elevators are nice (with carpets for each day of the week) but do yourself a favor and take the stairs if possible to get better feel for the place. Hotel has a town car that will take guests to anywhere within a certain radius which is very handy. In morning excellent coffee is available near the elevators on each floor. Internet (wired and wifi connections available) is included, business center on second floor and packages are available that can include breakfast, parking and other amenities. You definitely get more than you pay for and we’ll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for exterior views and book using one of the available packages if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timeless09, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. The Oxford Hotel truly is the most unique hotel in Denver which obviously is not lost on you. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit as I would love to give you a personal tour of the property. We are currently upgrading of our Club, Spa and Salon which you will appreciate as well.

Sincerely,
Michael O'Shea
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

You know this is a great property when my biggest complaint is the failure to have a soap dish in the shower - or anywhere for that matter. I just put the soap on the floor. And the bathrooms are very small with little counter space. But this is a wonderful old hotel (Denver's oldest) with lots of charm and comfort. It definitely has the feel of a B&B. The service is top rate and they have a town car and driver available to you for free (if you stay in the downtown area). The connected McCormick's restaurant is very handy. Location is in the most interesting part of Denver allowing you to walk most anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouffetarde55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 159 in Denver
884 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 159 in Denver
638 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#33 of 159 in Denver
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £173 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing