We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel, great location, superb staff”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A marvelous, historic hotel, beautifully furnished. We had two lovely rooms, with large, modern, even plush, bathrooms. Delightful beds. The room on the interior was very quiet (423). We also had a room called a King Suite, which was one room with an enormous bathroom, but not really a suite in my opinion. Despite reservations made months in advance, they had "upgraded" one of our rooms to this suite, which had a king bed instead of the two queens reserved--not perfect for a group of women sharing rooms, and we were unable to change when we arrived. But the total experience overcame this fault. The halls are filled with lovely, beautifully maintained antiques. The staff here is truly exceptional. From the moment you arrive and interact with the doorman/valet/bell staff, the greetings were friendly, personal and sincere. Dave Weber, in particular, gave us recommendations for everything from beautiful hikes to restaurants, each of which was spot-on and terrific. We could walk to most meals, and the hotel's complimentary car service efficiently carted us both ways to a slightly-farther-afield restaurant. We had a great time in Denver, thanks in large part to our stay at the Oxford.

Room Tip: The room on the interior was very quiet (423).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for joining us here in Lower Downtown Denver for a girls’ getaway! We are very proud of our team and are pleased to hear they helped make your Denver experience shine. I do apologize for the inconvenient upgrade and hope that will not deter you all from returning to our hotel!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Overall I enjoyed my stay at The Oxford Hotel. The Hotel had a great ambiance with lots of old world charm. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I booked a Parlor Suite and was disappointed by the size of the room, especially for the price. I also found it strange that the hotel did not have a self-accessible ice machine, you had to ask the staff for ice, which they were glad to get however. You absolutely cannot beat the great location, very central to downtown!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy you chose to stay with us and are sorry you were disappointed in the size of the room. Luxury hotels in this area can seem pricy, especially during high-demand dates like large city-wide conventions. We do hope you return to the property and invite you to book our Presidential Suite which is 300 square feet larger than a Parlor Room. Additionally, reservations for the new Crawford Hotel at the Union Station will be opening soon and select room types there will be larger than a 400 square foot Parlor Room.

Regards,

Afsi Bird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

There are lots of nice hotels, but what really separates the Oxford from other top hotels...is the staff. My son and I stayed there while he was relocating to Denver. The team there treated us like even more than royalty...they treated us like friends and family. I could name almost anyone on the staff...we were all on a first name basis with everyone. My son'sold relocation had a coupe of surprises (like his new apartment being delayed a week...finding out one day before move in!), and the staff bent over backwards to help. World class service from a wonderful group of friendly, caring human beings!

The hotel was charming. The rooms likewise...and spacious. And you can't beat the location in LoDo.

While the bricks and mortar were wonderful, it was the special group of people who work there that made the Oxford Hotel so incredible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear guest,

If you were to guess what we are most prideful about, and you were to mention our staff like you did above, you would be completely correct! It is the only way we know how: we take the best care of our employees so that they can take the best care of our honored guests!
We are thrilled you got to be part of our family and look forward to a family reunion when you return!

Regards,
Afsi Bird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Let me just say that I didn't want to leave.

After three days of this kind of luxury, it's hard to go out in the real world again!

The hotel sits solidly on it's corner in Lower Downtown. The oldest grand hotel constructed in 1891, it pips Browns Hotel to the post by one year.

My room was on the corner and the huge windows let in the light. All the rooms are decorated in one of several ways. I had French empire in a beige colourway. When you have to use steps to get into bed it's serious luxury.

The bed, pillows, shower, towels and toiletries were all excellent. The WIFI is free and there's a work desk and TV. Breakfast is not included, as will all luxury hotels.

The bathroom is just sybaritic. I love white subway tiles and it was just gorgeous.

No coffee, fridge or microwave in room, however, there is a BOSE iPod dock by the bedside.

Parking is valet only for a daily fee.

There's a nice library on the mezzanine.

With two restaurants and a Art Deco cocktail bar onsite there's very little need to discover the outside world, but you really should as LoDo is hopping with great things to do.

I highly recommend this hotel and it made my Denver.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear guest,

We had the pleasure of having you in one of our three corner rooms in the hotel! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience with all parts of the hotel. We do have coffee machines now in all of our guest rooms and also serve complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby and business center areas. We would love to see you here again, and definitely let us know if you need a refrigerator in the room during your stay – we can certainly accommodate!

Afsi Bird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We left Chicago in the high 20s so our arrival in Denver at 8am where it was snowing was a bit of a shock! The Union Street station (we arrived by train on the California Zephyr) is closed at the moment it will reopen I understand in 2014 and this hotel which is adjacent to the station will have more accommodation in the new complex. For now the station is in a temporary building out of the centre so it was not as convenient for us as it may have been (we had an early start the following day) However, the station staff rang for a taxi and we received a warm welcome at the Oxford despite arriving so early. We were able to leave luggage and go off exploring. The bathrooms were lovely with huge tubs and lots of hot water and the bed was very snuggly! We rejoined our train the following morning and the hotel supplied a free car to take us back to the temp station which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

Traveling by train can be an excellent way to see the country and we are so happy we were one of your stops! The temporary station is just 5 blocks away, but guests can call for a complimentary pick-up from our town car. Of course, when the station is finished, it will be 4 blocks more convenient for guests!

With such a short stay, comfort of the bed and amenities are of grand importance! We are so happy you found your room to be a restful environment and hope we get to see you again soon!

Regards,
Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband & I enjoyed our stay at the Oxford Hotel for a romantic get-away. It definitely has a unique ambience, and it is clear that the staff & management are keen to make your stay enjoyable. There are nice touches, like a different pillow selection if you don't like the one on the bed. The older furniture & art work really add to the feeling of bygone western elegance.

It's an old hotel, so the rooms and doors are not insulated from sound like a modern hotel. Be prepared to hear other guests.

We booked through Hotwire, so I was pleased with the value. But I think if we had paid full pop, I would have liked a better view (we had the brick wall of the building next door), and a larger room.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the alley so there is no view, just the exterior wall of the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oxford Hotel for your romantic getaway! Our quaint hotel is ideal for romantic weekends and we offer packages through our website that include amenities to enhance the experience. Booking through other third party sites sometimes does limit your selection when it comes to room type and package options. We would love for you to return and experience one of our deluxe or premium room types for a larger room. If art is something that you enjoy, ask for one of our Art & History Brochures to learn more about many of the pieces of Western art that we have on display throughout the hotel. See you next time!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at The Oxford Hotel for one night while we were travelling through Colorado. It was a great choice. Very well located for walking or locating public transportation. They also offer free car service within a two mile radius of the hotel. Our room was on the second floor. It was very clean and the bed/pillows were incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower had excellent water pressure. The staff make this special place shine. My sister and I asked for directions and recommendations and were not led wrong. Everyone was incredibly friendly and welcoming. I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger_Diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest,

We are so lucky to have had the honor of your visit! It’s important to us to be able to share our favorite parts of Denver as recommendations for special guests and it sounds like you have a great Denver experience! Next time you travel through with family, let us know and we will help the whole family get to know our neighborhood!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
909 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £152 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's most historic hotel, featuring recently refreshed rooms, the hotel is located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing