We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of an Historic Hotel”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jewel of an Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed four nights at The Oxford Hotel in December for a family wedding. This is a handsome hotel with a cozy lobby and a great variety of room shapes and sizes. Service was impeccable - very friendly and helpful. From exploring the Tattered Book Store to eating brunch at The Kitchen to catching the light rail at the nearby train station, the location was wonderful. And, if it's snowing outside, enjoy drinks at the Cruise Room. A lovely time for all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclarktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

It was a great honor to have the family with us for such a special occasion during a lovely time of year! It is a grand opportunity for us to help create a LoDo experience for visitors and it sounds like no matter which side of the doors you were on, you had a lovely time.

Let us know next time you will be passing through Denver - we would love to see you again!

Best regards,

Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    201
    69
    20
    18
See reviews for
163
456
63
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I love the Oxford. It is a beautiful historic hotel right by Union Station. The Tattered Cover is about one block away, you can buy your Rockmount cowboy shirts across the street, and, of course, have cocktails at the Cruise Room. Great place to stay if you are downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coresidenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience! I have to agree with you that our location is hard to beat. Most of my holiday shopping took place within just a few blocks of here and everyone on my list was pleased! It sounds like you had a very relaxing stay and we look forward to seeing you here again!

Best regards,

Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The rooms are the thing at the Oxford Hotel. Each is different, so try to sneak a peek at a few if you can. Lovely original fixtures and details such as original fireplaces. Bathrooms can range from barely-a-shower to new tubs and so on, so do inquire as to what it is you need and want. Love the old school feel of this 1891 hotel. Excellent Cruise Bar on the first floor, and breakfast (not complimentary) is excellent--don't miss the breakfast potatoes, if a bit formal. Lobby and the public areas all have the air of an older time---high ceilings, wide halls, antique furniture all give you a sense of what the hotel must've been like back in the day. Beds, however, are fully contemporary and wonderfully comfortable. A super nice stay. Looking forward to another trip down to Denver soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMightyQuint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear guest,

I'm so glad to hear that you were able to stay with us during your business trip to Denver! It sounds like you are a big fan of many of the room's details that draw their charm from The Oxford's past. Next time you visit, check out the hinges on the doors to the guestrooms. Most of them are hardware that were original to the hotel in 1891!

When you plan your return trip, keep in mind that you can request your bathroom preference. If you are interested in the five-piece bathroom with a clawfoot bathtub, any of our premium room types have those luxurious bathrooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope you return soon - maybe even for pleasure! Have a lovely holiday season!

Best regards,

Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Oxford Hotel whenever we come to Denver for over ten years, and we love it! We started off making it our Denver landing place when we took the train to Glenwood Springs, and lately we've been making it our romantic weekend destination. The staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are as comfortable as they are beautiful, and the amenities (valet parking, lobby, room service, spa, town car, Cruise Room, Corner Room, McCormicks, etc.) are superb. I would recommend The Oxford to anyone looking for a luxurious stay in Downtown Denver.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are particularly awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 419JimR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear repeat guest,

Ten years of romantic tradition! That's incredible and we are so very honored that we get to be a part of it! The passenger train is a beautiful scenic trip and Glenwood Springs is a charming mountain town, itself. With our proximity to the train station and a welcoming charm that matches the mood of your trip, I think you two have found the perfect way to start off your vacation.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us all of these years. You two are the type of family whose visit we look forward to every year! We can't wait to see you again next year!

Best regards,

Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at the Oxford on Sunday night with my partner and we had the most amazing time! Everything about this hotel is perfection, from the Christmas tree and open fireplace in the lobby, to the valet guy James, to the welcome mats in the elevators that change every day. We saw Sunday and Monday written on the carpet during our stay! Love the beds in the Oxford, they're so comfy, oh and don't forget bath salts as you'll probably want to try the claw foot tub like I did! We ate dinner and breakfast at McCormick's and both meals were exceptional, especially the Lobster bisque at dinner and the eggs bennidict Southern style for brekkie. We also had two cocktails in the Cruise Room and you shouldn't miss this, it's a Denver institution, not to mention the fact that the cocktails were yummy.

I wrote my blog on this hotel I loved it so much. You can read it here if you like. http://beckywicks.com/how-to-beat-an-alcohol-ban-and-get-seriously-addicted-to-oysters-in-denver-the-oxford-hotel-has-it-all/

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writesitedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear honored guest,

Firstly, thank you for your glowing review of our boutique hotel! We become absolutely giddy when travelers tell such detailed stories about their experience and you have a lovely blog! This is certainly a special time of year and we think it's a fitting experience to have combined the seasonal ambiance with soul-warming food and crafted cocktails.

Of course, the experience of our location and charming hotel might not be worth as much if the room lacked a comfortable bed... It sounds, though, like you had a relaxing guestroom stay with a great night's sleep!

It was truly an pleasure having you two with us here in Denver and look forward to seeing you next time you are passing through! Have a lovely holiday!

Best regards,

Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in the Oxford. My corner King birthday was perfect for a birthday girl. The ltbed was SUPER comfortable, I must say. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a car service to help you get around downtown and all service is delivered with a smile. They might want to work on the details, tho. My room service breakfast was soggy and kind of gross. (The front desk took it off my bill, though!) And my shower had two dispensers of conditioner, when I think one should have been a shower gel (rm 410). Minor, quibbles. The spa was wonderful (get the hot stone. GET IT!) And the bar "The Cruise Room", excellent cocktails. Love it.

Room Tip: make sure you get an outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Silver-Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,
It sounds like you were able to sample many different facets of our hotel and we are pleased that those minor mistakes didn’t get in the way of a lovely birthday celebration! Relaxation is an important ingredient for any hotel stay and we agree with you about the beds: they are incredibly comfortable! We would love to have you return soon! Whose birthday is next?
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting Denver and need a good place to stay in the Downtown area, you'd be doing yourself a favor by staying at the Oxford. The location is unbeatable: it's within walking distance to lots of happening places like Larimer square, the 16th street Mall, and Denver Center for Performing Arts. I never felt I needed a car throughout my the 3-night stay at the hotel.
The staff is great, especially the front door personnel. They can drive you anywhere within a 2-mile radius. All of them are helpful and will try their best to accommodate your needs.
The parlor suite was more like a regular room than an actual suite, but the rooms and hallways have an old charm to them, especially the decor. Even the keys are custom-made to fit the old times theme this hotel projects. The bathroom and bedsheets are nice and clean.
Sometimes, I could hear the neighboring room's conversation, but that wasn't a problem for me (I usually sleep with earplugs), but might be for others.
I used the fitness center once. I was pleasantly surprised by its size, the quality and diversity of their equipments. They had resistance bands, kettlebells and lots more.
Except for the small size of the suite, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Oxford and would stay there again if I get the chance to revisit Denver.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,
We do agree with you! This area of town is fantastic to visit and explore all types of fun things that Denver offers without the need of a car. Of course, there are many options to stay active and fit in the area, but the Oxford Club’s fitness center is a neat and spacious place to keep up your healthy routine. If you do have the opportunity to visit again, we would love to have you return as an honored guest of The Oxford Hotel!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
822 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing