We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic, yet modern, hotel in downtown Denver”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Historic, yet modern, hotel in downtown Denver”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I love historic hotels but also care about location and modern amenities. The Oxford Hotel has seamlessly merged modern convenience and turn-of-the century charm in this beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Denver. First, the service in the hotel is excellent - from the valet parking, to the reception area to the Cruise Bar. Everyone was friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was a King deluxe (#208) and was beautifully decorated and spacious, with all the elegance of the 1900's hotel it was designed to be. The bed was comfortable, the room had all the necessities - TV, Wifi, hairdryer, toiletries, iron. We were on the 2nd floor, just above 17th street, and there was a bit of street noise (it is downtown, after all) but not enough to disturb our sleep. At the reception desk, they were very helpful in providing us with directions and recommendations for places to eat and visit. And did I mention that the Oxford is perfectly situated such that you can walk pretty much anywhere in the city easily without having to drive? We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to any street noise, request a room that is not overlooking 17th street (probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karrie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Karrie62,

As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor we realize that you are an expert in the field of travel and we are so pleased that your experience with The Oxford Hotel was a positive one. We have taken painstaking effort to offer modern amenities while celebrating our historic roots and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    198
    67
    19
    18
See reviews for
159
452
60
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is indeed special. It's the oldest hotel in Denver, but it's also the most comfortable. The staff if incredible, especially the Bell staff. The hotel has a car and driver for its guests and the driver was a former math teacher and delightful. This hotel takes customer service to an entirely new level. Perhaps what's best is the hotel's location: just off Denver's most popular shopping and dining street, 16th street, which offers free city bus service all day and into the evening...how late I'm not sure. There are outstanding restaurants not just near by, but even next door. McCormick's Seafood restaurant is owned by the hotel and located inside the hotel. There's an Italian restaurant across the street that is world class. If your travels ever bring you to Denver and you want a convenient downtown location, you'll be doing yourself a favor if you select the Oxford Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a tub for your room, the room has to be on the 17th Street side of the hotel, but not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandPattiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Bill and Patti,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding your recent experience with The Oxford Hotel. Guest comfort is of paramount importance in our industry and for a guest to proclaim that we are the "Most comfortable hotel in the US" means a lot to us. We are also blessed to have wonderful associates, including Dave (the former math teacher). We will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the comfort of The Oxford again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Oxford "accidentally" after my Amtrak train was delayed, as I was leaving Denver after attending a conference. What a treasure! A beautiful old hotel that looks to be a wonderful combination of vintage furnishings and impeccable restoration. The accommodations were great and the professional and friendly staff could not have been more welcoming, including night manager Tom and Morgan at the front desk the next morning, who went out of their way to make our stay excellent. Just a half-block from Union Station and walking distance to the 16th Ave mall and lots of other places. I will definitely stay here during my next trip to Denver. (I was in the Art Deco room - charming! and the Cruise Room bar is not to be missed. A beverage and a nice mushroom flat bread pizza was a perfect snack before we got on the train again the next day.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear YpsilantiTraveler,

Thank you so very much for the kind words. What a happy "accident"! We are thrilled that you were able to experience our amazing staff and please know that we will celebrate your comments to our entire staff. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Oxford for your next visit (hopefully not by accident this time).

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Oxford Hotel is everything a hotel should be: comfortable, luxurious, friendly staff, and personal touches. The hotel is one of the oldest in Denver, but is still very up to date with nice historical touches, such as old-fashion keys and large bathroom tubs. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snsmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear snsmith27,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Oxford Hotel. As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor you obviously have traveled extensively and are therefore humbled and honored that you scored us so highly. Thank you so much for the positive feedback and please come visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I love antique hotels. This is a great one! The bell hops are wonderful, the front desk staff great. The beds are awesome, and it's a great location. If there were anything to improve on, the Cruise Room could have better service. This hotel feels a lot like the Strater Hotel in Durango, but Durango is way more fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_Colorado_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Real_Colorado_Native,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with The Oxford Hotel. We are blessed with amazing associates and we will be sure to pass along your comments to our bell staff and front desk staff. We will also be sure to pass on your comments to our Cruise Room staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd J. Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Carlo and the entire staff at the Oxford Hotel did a great job for my two day meeting. The property is unique and upscale. The oxford Theater meeting room is spacious and great for u-shaped seating for 20. Check out the Cruise Room bar for a fun happy hour.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We live in Denver but wanted a weekend getaway. The Oxford is an old and historic hotel that has been renovated and well maintained. It captures the historic feel but still has modern attributes (water pressure! and a fitness center with a fabulous locker room and steam room). The staff was professional and helpful. The bar and restaurant was great and the room services was top notch. It ended up being the romantic, worry free weekend we wanted. The only downside was the bed was a little too soft for our liking.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the interior, others over the street. If that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonWWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear WinstonWWolf,

We are so glad to hear that your Denver "staycation" was a success. Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel and our Oxford Club, Spa & Salon. We are in the process of replacing all of our mattresses, so please mention your preference for a firm mattress next time and we'll be sure to accommodate.

Sincerely,

Todd J. Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing