We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I didn't actually have a choice in the selection of my hotel in Denver as it was arranged by a conference organizer, but I wish I could thank the person who chose the Oxford. It has everything that makes staying in a hotel special - friendly staff, beautifully restored building and rooms, comfortable beds, and bright, clean bathrooms.

If you are someone who likes staying in hotels where every room looks exactly like the last hotel room you stayed in, the key cards all run together, and you can't even keep track of what city you are in, this is *not* the place for you. I'm so glad to know that there are lovely, unique and beautiful hotels like this out there - it definitely makes researching where you stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kenley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Kenley,

What a testimonial! Thank you, thank you, thank you. We're so glad that your conference organizer chose The Oxford for your event and we feel blessed that you would now choose The Oxford for yourself the next time your travels bring you to Denver. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Oxford Hotel provides a unique experience for every guest. The restored historical elegance of the building is just beautiful. We enjoyed a pampered stay there within walking distance of Coors Field and the 16th Street shopping district. The staff was excellent and very helpful and accommodating. And what better way to relax after a day of sightseeing than in the claw foot bathtub in the historical bathroom! Would go back anytime we are in Denver.

Room Tip: The deluxe room has the claw foot tub and separate shower stall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Joyce,

What a joy to read your comments regarding your recent stay at The Oxford Hotel. When we read words like "pampered", "helpful", and "accommodating", it is reassurance to our entire staff that the hard work pays off. Thank you for sharing and we will be sure to celebrate your comments with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back to Denver on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was fantastic! So close to everything, and the staff was extremely helpful! The hotel is very historic. The keys were even actual keys, not key cards. The staff was very accommodating: making reservations, suggestions on where to go or what to do, even bringing bath salts to the room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kmayher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Kmayher,

We love it when reviews have the word "Amazing" in it, especially when it is included in the title. Thank you so much for the kind words. We take great pride in providing an authentic and engaging experience from our room keys with tassels to luxury amenities like our fabulous bath salts. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Oxford Hotel is charming and everyone who works there is friendly and helpful. It's in a wonderful part of Denver for walking around, going to the great bookstore nearby or having a fabulous coffee across the street at Pronto Maggiano. Mikey the canary in the lobby is the best greeter ever, and you'll love the whimsical touches, such as the elevator carpets which announce the day of the week to you. And if you are a hot-water lover, you will be in heaven when you turn on the bathroom taps and immediately get super-hot water. We were in from Texas and used the hotel's car service several times and especially loved Dave the driver. The property is quiet for sleeping, the ambience is great, and it is well-situated in Denver. For the price of a room, it has to be one of the best values around! Try it! You will love it!

Room Tip: Our room was for two travelers and was quite large and easy for two to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Alexandra,

Mikey sends his regards, as does Dave. Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for the tips for other travelers. We will celebrate your comments with our entire team and please know that it really means a lot to all of us. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to to Amtrak station (we flew in and took the Zephyr out), and I couldn't be more pleased with the location, service and amenities. We booked early and the room rate was extremely reasonable for the area.

The staff was, without exception, friendly, helpful and courteous. We used the car service a number of times and they were very prompt. The room (2 queen on the fifth floor) was lovely and charming, with period furniture and a wonderfully spacious bath. Even the kids were impressed - this was their favorite hotel to date. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Highly recommend this lovely property, both for its historic charm and for it's exceptional staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Gracie,

Wow, with over 140 TripAdvisor Reviews and 44 hotel reviews, you are a travel expert. To receive a 5 out of 5 from a road warrior like yourself means so much to our team. Thank you for the kudos and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here several days prior to The Fourth of July and on the actual holiday. The service from the front desk and the bell hops is second to none. It's probably the best I've experienced. Everybody was super friendly and helpful. When we checked in, our toilet was not working. We went out for coffee, and it was fixed when we got back. The bell boys never failed to greet us or ask about our day. I really cannot get over the friendliness.

The room itself was clean, and the robes are a great touch. We didn't partake of the mini bar, but I thought the selections were good (especially the gummy bears on offer). The location is convenient to multiple restaurants, microbreweries, and the 16th Street Mall. I'd definitely stay here again. No complaints at all. Additionally, given the location and the level of service, I think this was a steal, even with the holiday price. Stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jen,

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We agree that our staff is some of the best in the business and we are so glad that your recognized them and their efforts. We will be celebrating your comments with our entire team and please know that your words will mean a lot to them. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location, although I have nothing to compare it too it was safe, in a great part of Denver, and convenient to many restaurants, bars, Coors field etc. The breakfast at the hotel I thought was fabulous which is important to me.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Id recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbanks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Cbanks007,

We love the title of your review! As you mentioned, our location and amenities in the area are second to none. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#3 of 161 in Denver
973 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 161 in Denver
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Maven Hotel
The Maven Hotel
#6 of 161 in Denver
199 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Cherry Creek
HALCYON, a hotel in Cherry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £140 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's most historic hotel, featuring recently refreshed rooms, the hotel is located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing