We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique hotel experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We usually stay at larger, name brand hotels but needed a night out downtown, so we Hotwired a room and got the Oxford. This was our first boutique hotel experience and it was a good one. The hotel provided friendly, helpful service, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel itself has actual keys for rooms instead of the key card like larger scale hotels which I liked. We didn't eat at the restaurant as there were plenty of options nearby and the point of our trip was to get out. There certainly was that personal touch with this hotel and had we had this not been our first one, it very well could have been rated a 5.

Room Tip: I believe room 320 is the 'haunted' room where a murder took place in the 1800s. Not my cup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slufin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear slufin2007,

We are so glad that you found us for your "staycation" in Downtown Denver. I am so pleased to hear that your first boutique experience was a positive one. We look forward to hosting you on future stays.

Sincerely,

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    194
    66
    18
    18
See reviews for
156
446
60
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful historic hotel in great location. The service was lovely and the people so nice. Our room was on the street side and it was horribly loud all night long. No sleeping here. That's too bad for such a great old hotel.
Perhaps a room on another side of the hotel would fare better.
I can't say enough about how great the staff was though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685ChristineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Christine,

I am thrilled to read that you found our staff to be exceptional. We truly are blessed with an amazing staff. I'm so sorry to learn of the noise issues during your stay and I assure you that is not typical. Please reach out to me directly prior to your next stay as I would love the opportunity to personally be involved.

Sincerely,

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Area Managing Director
303.628.5578
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Nebraska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Oxford Hotel for a conference. The hotel and the rooms has such character, but unlike some older hotels, everything was in excellent working order. The furniture was gorgeous, and the bed was very comfortable. The friendly staff made things even better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cars1010 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Wilt8856,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I’m so happy that you enjoyed the character of our rooms. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location, in walking distance to Coors Field, lots of shops, and tons of restaurants. The service was fantastic! The hotel is restored, but warm, and I love the tassels on the keys. When we checked in, we were told "do not disturb the tassel on the back of the door." I thought that meant "don't touch the tassel on the back of the door," but it really meant that the tassel on the back of the door is the "do not disturb" sign! The room was quiet, the beds were comfy, and the bathroom was fine. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Helen V,

I’m thrilled to hear that you had a “wonderful stay” at The Oxford and that you were able to explore our immediate surroundings! Thank you for your kind words, and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My stay was refreshing. The staff were attentive, cheerful & friendly. The hotel is stately yet feels warm; like home. I could wander through its corridors enjoying the beautiful furniture and architectural details for hours.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Tracee S,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I’m glad that you enjoyed the friendly and warm atmosphere of the hotel. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very quaint, classic, a turn of the century feel when you first enter the lobby. Down to the smallest detail, the rugs in the elevators are changed daily and have the day of the week printed on them. I have to say the only real complaint I have is that a hair dryer is not provided. The best thing about this hotel is it's staff of dedicated employees. The Bellmen are fantastic. But Patrick at the front desk, his name should be listed under Hotel Accomodations. He is professional, polite, and accomodating. A class act. Both Bellman and Front desk will help you will dinner or travel suggestions.

Room Tip: Suggest purchasing the hotel package that includes parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank rhea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear rhea29,

We will be sure to pass on your kudos to Patrick and the bell staff! Next time you stay, we will be sure there is a hair dryer in your room. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Oxford Hotel is a delightful little spot at the end of the pedestrian downtown corridor. I stayed on the top floor and what i found: a quiet, serene room with lovely furniture made out of actual wood, ample linens, fringed lamps, plenty of space and a bathroom tub that was - i'm not kidding - waist high. When was the last time you missed a meeting because you were lounging in a hotel room tub? Well, it can happen here. The staff was wonderful, attentive and friendly and while my meetings were at the Convention Center - the free shuttle bus made it easy to get back and forth.

Tip: if you walk the other way on 16th street - away from down town and cross the Millennium Bridge (5 minutes) - there's a lovely park, the river and a lovely non-tourist Denver neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick K, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear lynx74,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I’m so happy the furnishings were to your liking and that you were able to relax in the claw foot tub in your room! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing