We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for our anniversary”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Oxford in late July to celebrate our anniversary. We booked through Hotwire and got an incredible rate.

The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the downtown Denver area. Walking distance to all of the major downtown restaurants, shops, the river, the baseball stadium, etc. The public bus to/from the airport is only 1 block away, so that was very convenient as well.

Since we booked through Hotwire, we had an interior room. The room was in excellent condition, with a recently remodeled bathroom. The interior rooms are a bit dark, so if paying full price, ask for an outside room and it will be brighter. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings were a nice mix of antique and contemporary.

The hotel staff was very friendly and the car service was handy, but not always timely. I waited 20 minutes for them to pick me up one night.

Otherwise the stay was fabulous and I would definitely stay here again.

Tip: Jax bar across the street has some great happy hour deals, and there are many restaurants within a few blocks.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2009

For $20 or $30 more you can upgrade and get a larger room with a nice view. Well worth it. Otherwise the basic room is on the small side and the window looks at a brick wall. Furniture in rooms is quaint and eclectic, a bit cheap. Elevators are small with a rug trying to cover a bare funky floor. "Spa/fitness" is a short walk down the street but not at the hotel. Not sure any of that qualifies as 4 star.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrales63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We always look for historic hotels in our travels, and we were quite taken with The Oxford Hotel; it is absolutely CHARMING! From the moment we stepped through the front doors, we felt as if we were in London, at the turn of the last century. The hotel has been meticulously renovated, with attention to such details as the staircase railings, the carpet in the elevator (changed daily), the gold-leaf ceiling in the atrium. . . Your room keys are actual KEYS, and you may leave them at the front desk when you go out for the day. Every single member of the staff went over and above to meet our every need--from the front desk to the valets to the housekeeping staff, they were gracious, attentive and professional. Our room was perfectly LOVELY; if you make a reservation, ask for room 202, as it overlooks the front entrance and is a "larger" room. (I especially appreciate the gentleman who made my reservation, for recommending the larger room; I glimpsed a smaller room during our stay, and they face the back of the building and are a little cramped.) Our room was furnished with lovely antiques but included such modern amenities as high-speed internet and cable TV. They do have exercise facilities which are available at no charge, but the hours of operation made it difficult for me to use them while we were there. I also wish they offered breakfast as part of the rate, but apparently very few hotels in the downtown area do this. Thankfully, they have a yummy restaurant (McCormick's and Schmick's) right next door, and are only one block from the 16th St Mall where there are many restaurants open for breakfast, a free bus ride away.

The Oxford is across the street from Union Station; because of the geography, it feels more like it sits in a cul-de-sac than on a downtown street. It's in an excellent location; you can walk to Coors Field, the riverfront parks, and lots of shops and restaurants; the bus and light-rail system is excellent and can carry you anywhere in town you want to go (including the airport).

Our rate was a special package, the "Park and Stay", which included free parking (although we still tipped the valets, of course). If you are traveling by car, I recommend this package, as you can simply leave your car there and walk or take public transportation anywhere you want to go.

If you prefer staying in modern, streamlined hotels, you should not stay here, but if you are like us, and prefer hotels with character and elegance, then I promise that you will fall in love with The Oxford! You'll want to return to it again and again, just like us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The Oxford is an excellent example of how to best preserve an historic hotel while creating a comfortable, convenient, modern stay. The feeling is entirely authentic (it's not one of those places filled with replica Victorian knickknacks) and the location is a short walk to the best of Lodo. If you want a glimpse into the history of Denver and the West, I doubt you can do better. If you want completely consistent modern convenience, you might prefer a Westin, Hyatt, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1KeeneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed one night in a 4th floor room overlooking the street leading to Union Station.

Our room had a lovely old canopy bed and the room had several 19th or early 20th century antiques: an armoire with oval mirror and a chest of drawers. The room was decorated with different silks and tasselled curtains, recreating a turn-of-the-last-century elegance. Beautiful 19th c. oil paintings depicting the American West decorate every room and public hall or lobby often in large gilded frames.

The bed was very comfortable, the linens were lovely, as were the soaps. My only disappointment was not having a bath tub, but the shower was good.

The hotel is located in the heart of a newly chic and hip neighborhood with horse-drawn carriages, street musicians, art fairs and bicycle taxis. We spent the evening walking around, looking in galleries, shops, bars, and restaurants. The hotel felt authentic, while having been beautifully restored.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYViaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We recently spent one week at the Oxford. We were supposed to spend only 3 nights and then move to a golf resort. However, we liked the Oxford so much, that we canceled the golf resort and spent the remainder of our trip at the Oxford. While we thought the lobby could have been spruced up a little, we could not have been more thrilled with our room. We had one of the blue superior rooms depicted on the hotel web site. We were pleased to find that it was actually exactly like the photo on the website. It was absolutely beautiful and furnished with antiques. While it was very elegant, it was also extremely comfortable. When we take into account the service we received and the beautiful room, we believe the hotel topped any other hotel we've stayed in while traveling in the U.S. The hotel reminded us of those small and charming hotels in which we've stayed in France and Italy. Also, we've stayed at the Brown Palace in Denver, which is double the price of the Oxford and, in our opinion, does not hold a candle to the charm of the Oxford.

We are puzzled by some of the poor reviews and are wondering whether those guests do not appreciate a historic hotel? In all fairness, we had a room with a bathroom which had been recently renovated (but was still small as one might expect from a historic hotel), so it would probably be best to ask for one of those.

The other unique and charming aspect of the hotel was the Cruise bar, a 1930's martini bar which had more charm and appeal than any hotel bar we've ever seen. In addition, the hotel's 24 hour room service, nearby Oxford Club (gymn, spa and salon), excellent service, complimentary coffee in the morning and wine in the evening, flat screen t.v.'s, computers with internet access on each floor, etc. etc. made our stay as comfortable as we could have hoped for.

Lastly, each and every staff member we encountered was kind, friendly and knocked him or herself out to be helpful. The hotel had the charm and ambience one hopes for (and rarely gets) in a 4 or 5 star hotel without any of the stuffiness or pretentiousness.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Denver.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fakeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I really wanted to stay here after reading their website and viewing the photos on their website. It sounded delightful even if it was a bit pricey. I decided to book it for only 2 nights as that's all our budget would allow and then we'd move on elsewhere. The location is definitely good and it's nice to be able to workout at the gym nextdoor - that was great. However, all it takes is a bit of bad service to put a bad taste in someone's mouth. First of all we had to wait to be served at the checkin desk. That's not a problem if someone else is being served, etc. But the person behind the desk was just chatting with someone and didn't care that we were quietly waiting. After nearly 10 min my other half asked if someone could help us. The lady at the desk, not happy to have to work, claimed she had no record of my booking. I had the reference number and printout, etc. and then she suddenly located it. Phew! We got our room and were dismayed to see how old and dark the bathroom was! I can honestly say that our bathroom at the Super 8 was brighter and in better condition. The bedroom was very nice - with a Bose stereo. But my personal experience left me cold and put off, especially for the price.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
910 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £150 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's most historic hotel, featuring recently refreshed rooms, the hotel is located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing