We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with the Deluxe Room”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go with the Deluxe Room”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

It costs more, but these rooms are big! The antiques are a bit worn, but the linens and amenities are wonderful. Noise does come in from the street and the hall, but it does quiet down later in the evening. No in-room coffee, but it is down the hall. Also surprised that there was no bath tub, even though the bath was roomy and well lit. It's a smaller hotel, not in "the heart of downtown," but still on the edge of it and grows on you every day you are there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    198
    67
    19
    18
See reviews for
159
451
60
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

The Oxford Hotel is the oldest hotel in Denver. I stayed there in 2009 as part of a train trip that required an overnight in Denver. The Oxford was built as a railway hotel and stands almost directly across the street from Denver's Union Station. Given that the station is on the edge of the downtown, the Oxford is also very convenient to downtown Denver.

I like old hotels, especially those that are well maintained. The Oxford is just such a property. I had a lovely suite with a magnificent bathroom (shower only no bath) that was furnished with antiques for a very reasonable (non-prepaid) rate of $220 plus tax. There are a couple of nice restaurants and bars in the hotel and several more just outside the hotel's door.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RailwayHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Oxford in late July to celebrate our anniversary. We booked through Hotwire and got an incredible rate.

The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the downtown Denver area. Walking distance to all of the major downtown restaurants, shops, the river, the baseball stadium, etc. The public bus to/from the airport is only 1 block away, so that was very convenient as well.

Since we booked through Hotwire, we had an interior room. The room was in excellent condition, with a recently remodeled bathroom. The interior rooms are a bit dark, so if paying full price, ask for an outside room and it will be brighter. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings were a nice mix of antique and contemporary.

The hotel staff was very friendly and the car service was handy, but not always timely. I waited 20 minutes for them to pick me up one night.

Otherwise the stay was fabulous and I would definitely stay here again.

Tip: Jax bar across the street has some great happy hour deals, and there are many restaurants within a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

For $20 or $30 more you can upgrade and get a larger room with a nice view. Well worth it. Otherwise the basic room is on the small side and the window looks at a brick wall. Furniture in rooms is quaint and eclectic, a bit cheap. Elevators are small with a rug trying to cover a bare funky floor. "Spa/fitness" is a short walk down the street but not at the hotel. Not sure any of that qualifies as 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrales63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We always look for historic hotels in our travels, and we were quite taken with The Oxford Hotel; it is absolutely CHARMING! From the moment we stepped through the front doors, we felt as if we were in London, at the turn of the last century. The hotel has been meticulously renovated, with attention to such details as the staircase railings, the carpet in the elevator (changed daily), the gold-leaf ceiling in the atrium. . . Your room keys are actual KEYS, and you may leave them at the front desk when you go out for the day. Every single member of the staff went over and above to meet our every need--from the front desk to the valets to the housekeeping staff, they were gracious, attentive and professional. Our room was perfectly LOVELY; if you make a reservation, ask for room 202, as it overlooks the front entrance and is a "larger" room. (I especially appreciate the gentleman who made my reservation, for recommending the larger room; I glimpsed a smaller room during our stay, and they face the back of the building and are a little cramped.) Our room was furnished with lovely antiques but included such modern amenities as high-speed internet and cable TV. They do have exercise facilities which are available at no charge, but the hours of operation made it difficult for me to use them while we were there. I also wish they offered breakfast as part of the rate, but apparently very few hotels in the downtown area do this. Thankfully, they have a yummy restaurant (McCormick's and Schmick's) right next door, and are only one block from the 16th St Mall where there are many restaurants open for breakfast, a free bus ride away.

The Oxford is across the street from Union Station; because of the geography, it feels more like it sits in a cul-de-sac than on a downtown street. It's in an excellent location; you can walk to Coors Field, the riverfront parks, and lots of shops and restaurants; the bus and light-rail system is excellent and can carry you anywhere in town you want to go (including the airport).

Our rate was a special package, the "Park and Stay", which included free parking (although we still tipped the valets, of course). If you are traveling by car, I recommend this package, as you can simply leave your car there and walk or take public transportation anywhere you want to go.

If you prefer staying in modern, streamlined hotels, you should not stay here, but if you are like us, and prefer hotels with character and elegance, then I promise that you will fall in love with The Oxford! You'll want to return to it again and again, just like us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The Oxford is an excellent example of how to best preserve an historic hotel while creating a comfortable, convenient, modern stay. The feeling is entirely authentic (it's not one of those places filled with replica Victorian knickknacks) and the location is a short walk to the best of Lodo. If you want a glimpse into the history of Denver and the West, I doubt you can do better. If you want completely consistent modern convenience, you might prefer a Westin, Hyatt, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1KeeneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed one night in a 4th floor room overlooking the street leading to Union Station.

Our room had a lovely old canopy bed and the room had several 19th or early 20th century antiques: an armoire with oval mirror and a chest of drawers. The room was decorated with different silks and tasselled curtains, recreating a turn-of-the-last-century elegance. Beautiful 19th c. oil paintings depicting the American West decorate every room and public hall or lobby often in large gilded frames.

The bed was very comfortable, the linens were lovely, as were the soaps. My only disappointment was not having a bath tub, but the shower was good.

The hotel is located in the heart of a newly chic and hip neighborhood with horse-drawn carriages, street musicians, art fairs and bicycle taxis. We spent the evening walking around, looking in galleries, shops, bars, and restaurants. The hotel felt authentic, while having been beautifully restored.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYViaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing