We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in its class in downtown Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best in its class in downtown Denver”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have stayed at a number of hotels in downtown Denver for both business and pleasure, and on my most recent trip I stayed at the Downtown Westin. For the price point, this Westin is heads above the other downtown hotels in its class. The location in the Tabor Center is hard to beat - Palm Restaurant and Starbucks in the lobby, the best of Lodo right out the front door. This Westin does justice to the Starwood brand - large and recently renovated rooms and bathrooms, comfy beds, flat screen tvs, mountain views. My only recommendations are that (1) the hotel should offer free wireless internet to guests and (2) that the hotel could improve its restaurant (where I admittedly only ate breakfast) - the food was great (albeit, as you would expect, overpriced), but the oversized tables are awkward and the decor is nothing to write home about. All and all, a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckShruringa, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear DFWgal,
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, our hotel is wonderful and has the best location of any hotel in Denver. We do offer complimentary internet in our Lobby and Entrance Level Lobby near Starbuck’s but do follow Starwood and Westin standards of charging for this service in our guest rooms. If you would like to interact with me further regarding your experience please feel free to contact me at chuck.schuringa@westin.com
Chuck Schuringa, Director of Operations, The Westin Denver Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    457
    174
    62
    31
See reviews for
176
250
82
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We held our Christmas Party at the hotel in the Tabor Room and everything was top notch but special thanks goes out to our server, Johhny Pocernich. He was on top of his game as were all the staff, the food, and ambiance. Thanks so much!!

Thank you very much,
Annie Allen

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckShruringa, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Annie A
Thank you so much for your encouraging words! We have passed on the kudos to Johnny as well as posted your comments for the rest of the hotel to continue to be motivated to take care of great guests such as yourself. We look forward to the next time you can stay with us again,
Chuck Schuringa, Director of Operations, The Westin Denver Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We visited over a cold December weekend. Chose it for and LOVED the proximity to the outdoor skating rink in Skyline park: couldn't keep my kids away. Room was contemporary and comfortable, with great bedding. The honor snackbar charges sneak up- my kids moved some things around and we were hit with big charges, which the front desk was happy to remove. The pool area is pretty neat with an indoor/outdoor set up. We were disappointed that the hot tub was closed due to icy conditions- seems like that's the point. We wished for complimentary coffee in the lobby, as many other hotels provide, but settled for an actual Starbucks in the lobby. Also would wish for free wifi. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckShruringa, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear mksw,
I appreciate all the wonderful comments regarding your stay. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations of free coffee, we do offer this during the arrival times in cold weather, as well as complimentary coffee in your guest room year round. We also provide complimentary wifi in our lobby and Starbuck’s areas for all guests of the Westin Denver Downtown. We do keep our Hot Tub open during the winter but have to close the pool deck itself due to the icy and slippery conditions. I have asked our Maintenance team to investigate if it was closed during your visit and apologize that you were not able to enjoy this amenity of our fine hotel. Thanks again for staying with us and please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions: chuck.schuringa@westin.com
Chuck Schuringa, Director of Operations, The Westin Denver Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in Denver and it never fails to disappoint. Being a Westin I have come to love their standards of great staff and cleanliness. I had a room with two queen beds-it was very comfortable and somewhat oversized. The bathroom was gigantic, lots of room for friends and I to get ready for the party we were headed to! The location is great, the 16th Street Mall is just right outside the door. You really don't need a car if you plan on doing the theaters and shopping, great transportation system.
The only drawback I have about this hotel is that I wish the Starbucks located on the street level of the hotel was open more hours, it never seemed to be open and that would have been very convenient. I know it has nothing to do with the hotel, but they are located in the hotel building on the street level where you enter the hotel--just would have been nice and convenient!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mypicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckShruringa, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear mypicks,
Thank you for your business and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you, we have the best location for a hotel stay in Downtown Denver. I am also glad you appreciated the guest room experience and thank you for staying with us in the past and certainly hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Denver. Please let me know, if you feel comfortable doing so, how we could improve your experience to achieve a 5 on your next stay: chuck.schuringa@westin.com Looking forward to seeing you again,
Chuck Schuringa, Director of Operations, The Westin Denver Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I really like this hotel especially when I am traveling for business. My employer is just a block away. Staff was very courteous. Room was great (with a great view!) Room service was good. My only complaint was they do not have complimentary WIFI/internet. The fitness area was great also!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rspence1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Recent business stay at this facility for 5 nights and found exceptional reception and service. The hotel had IMMEDIATE room access although I arrived early (about 1:15 P.M.), and supplied a microwave without charge. The offer of a refrigerator was made, but declined - nevertheless, an offer that was noted. The heating / cooling of the room was outstanding and the other room amenities were functional. The concierge services were outstanding. Staff at the front desk were quite accommodating, especially Sidney and Vesna. Kevin, at the concierge desk, made dinner suggestions, provided easy-to-follow directions, and handled reservations for touring through ColoradoSightseeing. The workout facility on the 4th floor was great, and equipment was more than adequate. I will return to this hotel for any reason the next time I am in Denver, and the treatment as a "Starwood Preferred Guest" is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Nicholas_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckShruringa, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear J_Nicholas_Mitchell,
WOW!!!
Thanks for the kind words, especially pointing out some of our outstanding team members. Your comments have been shared with our hotel associates as this kind of feedback definitely encourages them to exceed the expectations of our guests. I am glad you were able to enjoy several of the many amenities this hotel has to offer and truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thanks again,
Chuck Schuringa, Director of Operations, The Westin Denver Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I was here on business and will be back again in a couple of months. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckShruringa, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Keith N,
I really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return. If, at your convenience, you would like to share with me how we could have scored a 5, please send me a note at chuck.schuringa@westin.com. Also, it would be great to meet you personally when you return, so let us know and I would love to introduce myself when you are next in the hotel. Thanks again,
Chuck Schuringa, Director of Operations, The Westin Denver Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Property: The Westin Denver Downtown
Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Green Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing