We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business District!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Business District!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Walking Distance to upscale restaurants and the Convention Centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    448
    172
    60
    31
See reviews for
172
244
81
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Westin Denver is a nice hotel. I stay with Starwood Properties frequently and although I cannot give it a 5 rating, because there was no 'wow' factor for me and for the reasons listed below, I had a comfortable stay.
PROS: Great location, close to the Street Mall, Pepsi Center, etc. Nice & friendly staff.
CONS: Basically, fees. Valet parking fees are very expensive as are the wireless internet fees (it's 2012!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, our hotel is wonderful and has the best location of any hotel in Denver with easy access to the sports arenas, restaurants and night clubs. We do offer complimentary internet in our Lobby and Entrance Level Lobby near Starbuck’s but do follow Starwood and Westin standards of charging for this service in our guest rooms. While parking prices may seem high, the company that owns and operates the parking structure (not affiliated with our hotel in any fashion other than offering our guests the opportunity to park in proximity to the hotel) assures us that their prices are competitive with other area hotels. If you would like to interact with me further regarding your experience please feel free to contact me at julie.rhodes@westin.com.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Well, almost. It's in a very good location, just about everything is within walking distance. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They do strive to make sure that you have everything you need, and if you don't have it, they'll get it. I needed and extra cot in my room, and was reluctant at first 'cause I was expecting an extra cost and to get the cot hopefully by midnight. Not the case; I called down to the front desk and had a cot in my room within 15mins FREE of charge.
I wasn't exactly pleased when I checked in though. When I arrived at their appointed check in time at 4pm, they had told me that my room wasn't ready (?!). I booked my (suite) online with my SPG account. The check in time is 4pm, I have reservations, How is my room NOT ready??!! So, had to wait at the bar, where the bar tender was very nice. The decor is very inviting, and there was a man playing the grand piano. The atmosphere was so nice that the wait for my room wasn't so bad, (in all fairness). The rooms were very clean, and comfortable. The pool and the views from the pool were fantastic! BUT, the hot tub was "on the fritz". C'mon, this is COLORADO in the winter time, the hot tub should be on your maintenance priority list.
All in all, I was satisfied. There were a couple s.n.a.f.u.'s but nothing to condemn them, or keep me from coming back. Plus, you never know, at the Westin you could very well run into a celebrity! I met Kevin Hart there, and thought that was pretty cool ;)

Room Tip: I'd suggest one of the rooms with a balcony, which are typically on the pool level, which makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience at the Westin Denver Downtown. We share these comments with our staff to motivate them to continue to exceed the expectations of our guests so we can replicate your experience. I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities The Westin Denver Downtown has to offer. Please let me know how I might further assist you in the future, should you wish to: julie.rhodes@westin.com. We look forward to your next stay.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at the Westin as a part of a package deal with the Colorado Ballet. The overall atmosphere is nice, and the rooms have great furnishings, but you could tell the building's age in the bathroom and elevator, especially.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaya73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Tamaya73,
Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that the atmosphere at the Westin Denver Downtown and the room furnishings met your expectations. We have had numerous positive comments regarding the transformation of our guest rooms. We value our partnership with the Colorado Ballet and are glad you were able to utilize the fabulous package deal we have with them. If you would like to interact with me further regarding your experience please feel free to contact me at julie.rhodes@westin.com.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Rooms were clean and comfortable -- staff was friendly and helpful. Location was very convenient -- downtown -- near many restaurants. Great location if you are there for business and you don't need a car. One interesting thing they had was that the room service menu was on the tv rather than in print which makes it greener but harder to read.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Overall an ok hotel if you don't compare it to other Westin locations, or other Starwood hotels when staying with Platinum status.

The hotel location is great, but really that's about it.

As for the Westin name...this location is a little run down and lacks many amenities. There's no lounge (sorry Platinum folks), the hot tub wasn't hot (in January!) and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in about a week, the gym is slightly below par for this level hotel, and even a "deluxe" room is nothing to brag about.

The Hyatt, which can be had for the same price much of the year, is MUCH better. I really messed up this time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegitReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
I sincerely apologize for the impression our hotel has left upon you. I would like to assure you that our hotel’s recent renovation was designed by Westin Brand designers and underwent exhaustive reviews prior to implementation. The fact that it left you feeling so despondent is disheartening to me. We have had numerous positive comments regarding the transformation but it does seem that it definitely did not meet your expectation. I would welcome any personal communication you would like to offer in the way of constructive feedback if you would like to by e-mailing me @ julie.rhodes@westin.com.
Thank you for your time and once again, I do apologize that our hotel was not what you hoped it would be.
Julie Rhodes, Executive Assistant to Tom Curley, Area Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel, perfectly located for business in downtown Denver, right on the 16th street mall. Downtown Denver is very walkable so no need to rent a car unless you plan to go further afield.

Check in was friendly and efficient. Was up to my room very quickly and it was up to the usual Westin standards. Clean, functional and understated decor - perfect for business.

Very nice pool with a view over downtown.

Overall, an excellent, reliable choice for business in Denver.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Property: The Westin Denver Downtown
Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#14 Green Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing