We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Serious Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs Serious Improvement”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here in the past and during our most recent visit at the end of July, we noticed the service has diminished significantly. We arrived on a Monday night, and as we approached the front desk, the only person staffing it nervously looked around and avoided all eye contact. Check-in was slow but fine, but when we asked for the concierge, we were informed there wasn't one that day. So we made our inquiries to the front desk person whose reply was "I wouldn't know." And during check-out, even though we called ahead to have our car pulled up well ahead of time, it was not ready and someone had to go get it. We were the only ones leaving at that time so no rush hour excuse we could detect. We are staying there again (SPG membership points) and hope that the hotel management pays some badly needed attention to guest services, please!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KCF6326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
I am so sorry your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. At The Westin Denver Downtown, we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and we did not do this in your case. Should you wish to share more specifics with me, please feel free to contact me directly at julie.rhodes@westin.com. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Denver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    457
    174
    62
    31
See reviews for
176
250
82
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Everything a hotel ought to be without the pretentiousness and expense. Well, ok, they're a little bit more expensive than other hotels. But you get what you pay for. And when you pay for a Westin Denver hotel room, you get a clean, nice, comfortable room with access to a fantastic exercise room and indoor swimming pool. Plus fantastic city center location and a phenomenal wait staff and concierge.

Love this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TieTheKnotVideos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience at the Westin Denver Downtown. We share these comments with our staff to motivate them to continue to exceed the expectations of our guests so we can replicate your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
505 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A cragefully aging property with lots to offer in access and facilities. Close to 16th streetat the northend of the walking street, its a comfortably worn in some places and could use a refresh. Good staff and services, worth the freight for access and locaiton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I agree we have an excellent location, great staff and comfortable rooms. We post reviews such as yours to further encourage and motivate our staff to take care of great guests just like you. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Probably great if you are at a convention, but you are somewhat lost if you are not. The staff were all busy with badged guests and the service suffered as a result. Hotel is typical USA style and looking a little tired.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel property was comfortable, conveniently located, and the bonus was the bar on the Mezzanine which had surprisingly good appetizers and wine selection. The Bartenders were all very friendly and competent, especially Jennifer, who served us in the comfortable seating area away from the bar. I don't normally choose hotel bars for hanging out, especially in a city like Denver, and yet I did. Happy choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charrise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business. Its a good location within walking distance to many restaurants. The hotel itself is average. The room is clean but quite stark; I couldn't even find a pen and a note pad. ( I suppose every penny matters in the profit equation these days!)
On check in I opted for the "Green Option" meaning they don't change the towels out everyday. The problem with that is there is no towel bar to hang a damp towel on in the bath room. Shouldn't have to hang towels from the shower curtain rod.

The lobby bar isn't much and the hotel needs to get those people some help. The bay was waaaay understaffed. They were doing the best they could but they just needed more people working.

Room Tip: The view is nice from the high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Westin Denver Downtown is one of the best Westins I've stayed in. Not only do the renovations look great, but the service is wonderful. In particular, Johnny on the banquet staff went above and beyond to ensure our group was having a great experience. I would recommend the property for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Property: The Westin Denver Downtown
Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Green Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing