We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and bit old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #109 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed for two nights (Saturday and Sunday).
Terrible 1st night. The bar across the street played loud music til well after midnight. To make things worse, you can hear clearly from your bed people talking in the hallway and barking dogs from room next door. Not a good night, especially after a long 20-plus hour flights.

Ice machine didn't dispense ice on the second day (99 degree F day).
Coffee was not refilled by the cleaning service.

I first book the hotel because of the location. But it turns out to be quite a walk to the 16th street mall (downtown area), and even quite far from "Denver Bicycle" stations. If i knew all this, i would spend an extra U$10-20 to stay in, say Hilton Garden Inn. Much much better location, service, room, etc.

Room Tip: Room #232 (right on Colfax Ave.) Not a good room if you want a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Booked through a package deal and let me tell you it wasn't worth money I spent. Had a late flight and when I got to the hotel there was no parking for guest. Get the room a the A/C was hardly putting out any air. Right out side our window was a bar that you can hear their music all night tell about 2am. The next night realized the maids didn't change out sheet, Sunday come back and the towel where just picked up off the floor and refolded. Too top it off Monday at 11pm they turned off the hot water, and never got it turned back on before we left. When checking out I informed the manager that I reported them with the booking company and they corp. office. The girls said "yeah we know.. Thanks" as nasty as she could. DO NOT BOOK HERE

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandlerj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel back in February but did not read the reviews until two days before our trip in June. After reading the reviews, we were a little concerned and wondered what we had gotten ourselves into. As we didn't have much time to make new reservations somewhere else, we decided to risk it and see what we thought for ourselves. This was our second trip to Denver and we are both in our mid 20's.

Upon reaching the hotel, we thought "this place doesn't look to bad from the outside." We tried to check in at noon but we were told that it would cost $20 to check in early. Check in is not until two. Rather than pay that, we decided to leave our car in the parking lot and walk through Chessman Park and the BEAUTIFUL Cherry Creek neighborhood to a restaurant that we like in Cherry Creek North. It was a beautiful day so the walk was perfect! When we returned to check in after 2:00, the staff was very friendly to us. The reservation had us in a double bed smoking room which we asked to be changed to something non-smoking. They changed it with no problem and the man behind the desk even put us in what he called an "upgraded" room. We asked right then about the shuttle service and they immediately put us down for the shuttle to take us to Coors Field that night and pick us up for free. The shuttle leaves at the top of every hour until 10pm. We had no problem getting the shuttle to take us anywhere that we wanted to go. In fact, the shuttle driver who picked us up from Elitch Gardens even offered to drive us to the grocery store when we asked him where the nearest one was. The room decor is definitely dated, but it is clean and comfortable. If you have ever traveled to Laughlin, you could say that it is comparable to any room there. (Minus the casinos and thick smoke) Not luxurious or particularly beautiful, but just right for the price. We did not notice any bad or foul smells in the hallways or our room. I was also really suprised to see that our room had a refridgerator and a microwave which we took full advantage of! The bed was very comfortable. The streets surrounding the hotel are not what other reviewers made them out to be. They are lined with century homes (some renovated, some not) and the businesses off of Colfax are not all dodgy or run down. The bars directly across the street are actually pretty nice establishments! The population of homeless people is an issue in the entire city, not just near this hotel. During a seperate trip to Denver, we stayed at a Hyatt right downtown and it had just as many homeless people around it as we saw around the Ramada. We did not feel threatened to walk around at night anywhere in this city really. The only problem that we encountered at this hotel during our five day stay had to do with other guests being noisy during early hours of the morning which the hotel took care of quickly after we called to complain. We did not go to the pool, but it looked clean and there were plenty of guests who were using it. The staff recommended a small restaurant that you walk up to to get your food and it was amazing!! It is called Bourbon Chicken and it does not dissapoint!! We were very pleased with this hotels proximity to many interesting and fun places to see. All in all, we would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future. It does need some work but, if it gets fixed up, you can bet the price will go up too! This is one of the only hotels in Denver that does NOT charge you for wi-fi OR parking! That is a huge perk and money saver.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

First off, don't let the hotel's name mislead you. This hotel is not downtown. In fact, it's located in *the hood*. Try walking down Colfax and see how safe you feel...not a good location at all.

The hotel does provide a shuttle downtown, but it's only once an hour and you must make reservations an hour in advance. Not particularly useful for leisure travelers. The #15 bus does stop right across the street, and the drivers are friendly and helpful.

It's obvious that the hotel hasn't been renovated in quite some time. The rooms, hallways and elevators all look about 30 years old at least. Rooms are fairly run down. Free WiFi in all guest rooms. Staff was friendly.

There was a party downstairs one night, and you could hear everything from the room. It was impossible to sleep.

Beware that the hotel charges a $20 fee if you want to check in before 3pm. I've never heard of this before. All other hotels are more than willing to check you in early if they have rooms available. They also charge $20-30 for late checkout, depending on the day of the week.

Pay the extra $25 and stay somewhere that's actually downtown. Avoid this hotel in the hood like the plague.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoOSUBeavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Halls smelled like cigarettes even though it was non-smoking. They had to put me in another room because the faucet in the bathrub was leaking pretty bad. My new room smelled like bleach. Not to mention, the glass door outside was shattered and taped together. The staff was incredible though, so much more than what you would expect from sush a horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaminloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were in Denver to catch a couple of baseball games and attend a concert. We booked this motel, thinking it was close to our destinations, as was stated in the description posted on the website. Next time we will spend the extra money and stay safe! This motel is smack in the middle of one of the shadiest parts of downtown Denver. Dated does not describe the place. The hallway outside of our room smelled like a combination of dog urine, air freshener and stale cigarette smoke (and this was supposedly a non-smoking floor)! The "pool" had 4 inches of green muck at the bottom. The air conditioner didnt work and when we opened the window for some air circulation, there was no screen on the window! Definitely not safe as we witnessed actual drug deals and sex trade going on in back. The front desk staff was too busy flirting with each other to be helpful. The only thing going for this place is the shuttle service. They are willing to drive you anywhere within a 2 mile radius, as long you are willing to take your life in your hands! the restaurant was too expensive, $1.50 for a small cup of crap coffee, 7 for a hot dog. Best advice, spend a little more for a motel closer to 16th Street!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We find this hotel closer to a lot of Points of Interest in downtown Denver. Locationwise, next to this I suppose would be the Sheraton. But for the price we paid our rooms for, it was not such a bad deal at all. We stayed in a room with 2 queen size bed, AC, Microwave, Flatscreen TV and a quiet spot in the inner courtyard.

Room Tip: We always choose a lower level room for ease of travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarteDeVisite08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#81 of 160 in Denver
209 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
#105 of 160 in Denver
168 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#42 of 160 in Denver
1,593 reviews
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Address: 1150 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: £78 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing