We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor staff attitude” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Denver
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor staff attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My personal experience wasn't going to warrant such a negative review - although the front desk staff member (Jason, I think) does have a poor attitude towards the guests. But something I saw on my last day made me write this. I was sitting in reception waiting for my taxi to the airport, when I witnessed what was essentially an altercation between a guest and this member of staff. The guest was clearly not impressed about something, and instead of being treated with decency, as a polite customer (particularly as, from what I overheard, the guest had a point), this Jason started shouting at the guest and telling him to get lost! It really was appalling, I have never seen guests get treated so badly. Combining this with the poor state of the hotel (as others have alluded to - dirty rooms, a funny smell in the corridors), and the location (it's close to the centre of town, but getting there you have to negotiate with several shady characters) - I would conclude AVOID AVOID AVOID!! PS to the request for a plate and fork (given they offer room service), instead of explaining why he couldn't provide us with these simple items, we got told "sorry sir, that's just not how we do things here".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    306
    343
    269
    223
See reviews for
229
311
135
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here for one night... the hotel rooms were adequate for the price paid. There was a great Irish restaurant/bar across the street from the hotel. We arrived at 1:50 pm and were informed that check in was at 2pm so we would have to wait... When checking in, we were informed that they did not have our reservation that had been prepaid with travelocity... it turned out to be in another travelers name. There were many homeless people asking for money around the hotel...

Room Tip: We had a rook on the courtyard and it was quiet and good for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived in Denver at the start of our holiday and chose the Ramada for its reasonable access to downtown and the free parking. Possibly this would have been a good choice, but the temperature reached over 100 degrees and the air-conditioning in the room was not working properly and the fridge didn't work at all. After we complained about this anther fridge was put in, but in order to have it working all night the bathroom light had to be kept on. The guy at reception didn't really want to know about the air-con ("I don't know about air conditioning") but said he would ask someone to look at it the next day. This wasn't much use as we were checking out the next morning. Not a great start to our holiday and the worst place we stayed in. perhaps we were unlucky, but we would not use it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in Ramada Downtown and initially were shocked with the smell of the corridors carpets and the noise from the air con but we soon settled when we remembered how cheap the booking was.

We had stayed the previous 4 nights in the Crowne Plaza and were spoiled with the standard and location of this hotel. When we were checking out and told the concierge we were moving to Ramada Downtown on East Colfax he said he was from Colfax and for us to walk up to 17th if we were walking into town at night and not to walk on East Colfax especially the 2 blocks around Pearl. We took his advice and had no problem getting about Denver on foot from the Ramada which is just under a mile from 16th St Avenue.

The rooms weren't to the standard of the Crowne Plaza, but the air con worked as did the shower, tv and coffee machine, but I would advise using your own coffee as the sachets provided were vile. Fridges and microwaves are available for a price. There was a plunge pool and sun lounger area, but we never used them. The rooms and corridors could do with new carpet and banning pets (I'm from the UK were animals aren't allowed in hotel rooms) as they smelt a bit, especially in the heat.

The staff were extremely friendly and more than accommodating when we booked the free shuttle run by the hotel, which operates within 3 mile radius, between 7am and 11pm. If you want to use it, I would book a drop off ASAP as they only go once on the hour and if someone else has booked it to go in a different direction you've no chance. They also do a pick up service on the half hour and you should phone them at least 2 hours before you want picked up.

There are a few local bars and restaurants to mention, namely The Irish Snug across the street which is a clean bar and serves "decent" food, but the beer is a little expensive outside happy hour and being a Northern Irishman myself (not a 3rd generation American Irishman wannabe), thought it was a tad like the usual plastic Paddy bars you get abroad and lacked the genuine atmosphere of a real Irish bar. Spices Cafe which is next door to the Streets of London pub a few blocks up, was a fantastic place for breakfast, serving varieties of 3 egg omelettes with hash browns and toast for about $7 with delightful background music of classical music and extremely pleasant and friendly staff. I really enjoyed breakfast here 6 times with strong coffee and cream and never needed to use the hotel's breakfast service which was slightly more expensive. Steuben's on 17th and Pearl (remember to walk down 17th and not Colfax) was another great local restaurant though it's very trendy and popular so you may have to wait for a table with a reservation. Fusion Pizza a few blocks down from the Ramada was a fantastic and cool eatery with 2nd to none pizzas from about $7 sit in or takeway and DP Dough right next door to the Ramada also did great calzone for $5.

The Ramada Downtown is far from the best hotel in Denver, but with the price, friendly/helpful staff and the surrounding businesses and parks, I would'nt hesitate to book a room in this hotel again, using it as a base to put the head down and use the money I've saved to enjoy elsewhere on tours, drinks and food on a really fantastic holiday in Denver

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Horrible location, the streets around seemed to be dangerous. Drugs, prostitutes, homeless. I read that it makes you feel like you need a gun to cross the street and that's absolutely true.

Later inside things are even worse. Old dated and smelled really bad. A/C making noises and located by the window causing the curtains to move (so the light can enter the room when you want to sleep). Nasty old carpets. The worst place I've been.

I had a reservation for one week and stayed one day before switching to a new hotel. Stay away from this place

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseLuisG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at this location, which happened to have once been the location of a tikki bar (not anymore), so that was an extra bonus. The lobby offered free drinks and a comfortable atmosphere along with a shuttle to many destinations. The rooms were a bit dated but hey it was pretty reasonable so you can't expect posh trendy hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#37 of 154 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Property: Ramada Denver Downtown
Address: 1150 East Colfax, Denver, CO 80218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing