We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing room that did not live up to high ratings of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #77 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing room that did not live up to high ratings of this hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Based on the reviews by others, we thought this hotel would meet our need for a quick overnight in Denver before an early morning departure from the airport. Unfortunately, the room smelled musty, the mattress was lumpy and the experience was disappointing. In addition, the overall cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel lobby, the hallways and our room left much to be desired. Were the previous ratings honest observations by truly independent hotel guests??

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    62
    36
    16
    24
See reviews for
53
51
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2011

So the phone didn't work during my one night stay. I would call the front desk and heard nothing. I went to tell the person at the front desk and apparently the call was coming through and I had just hung up on him... At check out the following morning I told another guy (just happens to be an indian fella, just so you know who I'm talking about if you go there, assuming he is the only indian fella there of course) about the phone and he didn't seem really concerned that it wasn't working... Oh well, just one night right? I didn't labor the point. I asked him if he could give me a number to a taxi company to get to the airport. He pushed me to use this private car hire firm - he said they were about 10 dollars cheaper than the metered taxis... I say I am not sure but he shrugs and says why not call them anyway? So he does this off his own bat and tells me they will be here in 10 min. I trust he is telling the truth and go with it. 20 min later still no show (and I have to get going) so I tell the desk guy I'm going to call a metered taxi company. He looks annoyed and calls the private hire guy who seems to get mad at him in turn and says he will charge me 10 dollars for making a "booking"... I am shocked. I tell him I did not "book" anything and in any case the car is late. I'm not about to pay anything. He is talking on the phone with the car guy and he (the desk guy) says to the car guy "yes you can come onto the lot when you get here"... (!) I am assuming to confront me and extort me for 10 dollars. I ask to speak to the manager... he glares at me angrily and says he is the manager. I leave the hotel and end up at a random business to call for a proper cab... 10 bucks cheaper than what the hire car would have been. It looks like these hotels are in league with certain car hire companies.. just be careful before asking them to make any suggestions as there may be twisting of the truth. I recommend always going with a metered cab in a city you don't know well. At least they should be regulated and not in cahoots with the hotel manager.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaggy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denver hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Situated in industrial area in the angle formed by I-70 and Quebec St. actually on the service road and hidden from Quebec St by road work. Ample car park Pleasant roomy public area. Ground floor large room with TV, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing board, etc. No fridge or microwave. Nearest restaurant seemed to be about 10 blocks south off Quebec (nothing seen going north for over 20 blocks). Breakfast - choice of 2 juices,2 cereals, toast, muffins, fruit, pastries and hot waffles.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The wife & I checked in and a young woman named Chandi was extremely helpful, professional, and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable with a good air conditioning system. The continental breakfast was outstanding with well prepared, hot scrambled eggs, waffles, muffins, orange juice, toast, etc, each day. The ladies that prepared all of the items for the free breakfast were friendly, polite, and kept the area very clean. I ordered our trip through Expedia and got each night (6 nights) for $53.75 a night! Couldn't ask for a better hotel to stay with this kind of quality, price, and service.Secure internet and nice fitness center were very convenient also.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAthens_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place is pretty bad. Lobby appeared to be in good shape, but the room was kind of disgusting. Towels had not been refreshed, a used bar of soap was sitting on a used washcloth by the sink, carpet was dirty, bedspread was stained. TV didn't work properly. The location is nothing for them to be proud of either. Very industrialized area that is somewhat difficult to enter. My next activity tonight will be to find another hotel for the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtntrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We chose this hotel for a combination of price and convenience to the airport. It satisfied these criteria, but was rather better than we expected. Nothing flashy, but what it advertises in the way of facilities, it delivers. The rooms (we stayed twice, at the beginning and end of a circular trip fro Denver) were spacious, clean and comfortable, service at the desk was friendly and efficient, and although there is no restaurant, there is a large mall just nearby with plenty of choice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, WY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This hotel is merely average. I have stayed here twice while catching a Colorado Rapids game at the Dick’s Sporting Good Park. I keep coming back because it is close to the stadium and has a free breakfast. The downside to the hotel is that it is old and showing its age; the furnishings look old and both times we had a toilet that you had to fiddle with to make the water stop running and during one of our stays we had to do the same with the bathroom sink. The rooms are not spotless but clean enough that I have never had to complain. Chances are until something better comes along for the price/location we will continue to stay here while catching a game but the hotel is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_g_Despain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Comfort Inn
#81 of 157 in Denver
171 reviews
Comfort Inn Central
#61 of 157 in Denver
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Stapleton
Courtyard Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 4685 Quebec St, Denver, CO 80216-3420
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing