We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Sunday Afternoon Tea”

The House of Commons
Ranked #314 of 3,005 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Highland
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a early afternoon tea at the House of Commons. The wait staff was very friendly and the selection of teas was almost overwhelming. The tower of tasty bites was very good. The atmosphere is informal with many people stopping for carry out orders. If you are looking for romantic, this isn't the place. If you are looking for an informal, affordable afternoon tea experience near downtown with great teas and yummy food, they got it. I agree with others that the address is misleading in that the storefront is actually on Platte, not 15th.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank just_da_fax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Surprise!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I'm certainly no "afternoon tea" expert, having only experienced the event a few times in Hong Kong, but I do like great food, great tea, and friendly people. My wife and I found all three, when we wandered upon this little hidden gem in Denver. I say "hidden" because the street address is 2401 15th street, but the entrance is actually 1/2 block NORTH of 15th on Platte. It's on the left hand side of the street, as you are heading north on Platte. Black awning, very reserved signage so easy to miss. But the hunt for this little treasure is well worth the effort. The sandwiches are truly out of this world good. Fresh baked bread, fresh vegetables and quality meat. The tea selection is beyond anything I've encounter in Denver and the owner and her staff treat you like good friends stopping by for a visit. House of Commons is a fantastic! I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcome taste of home”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

As an Englishman, I’m very particular about my tea, and House of Commons never disappoints. They have a HUGE variety of teas (served from a proper teapot of course), delicious soups and sandwiches and freshly-baked confectionaries, as well as various other English delicacies. And if you REALLY want to do things properly, they offer an authentic “afternoon tea” consisting of finger sandwiches, scones and so forth stacked high on a tiered tray.

Jessica, the owner, is lovely and her staff are great as well. In fact, House of Commons is easily the number one reason I miss living in Riverfront Park (I live in City Park now) and no trip to that side of town is complete without popping in to say hello and enjoying a pot of PG Tips for two.

House of Commons is a fantastic little restaurant and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a light, relaxing meal or snack, be they tea aficionado or not.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank snortpocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We discovered this unique establishment last year while visiting the next door spice shop. The food, service and atmosphere has made it one of our favorites. Grandaughters love to join us for an "afternoon tea".

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etschaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you like tea, it doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This little restaurant has become one of our favorite lunch stops whenever we visit Denver (which isn't all that often). More wonderful teas, heavenly desserts and really good sandwiches. Jessica (being from the Lake country and all) really knows how to do a traditional tea room right. Excepting the scenery (LODO Denver you know), much better than either the Empress (in Victoria, BC) or the Prince of Wales (in Waterton Lakes NP, Alberta Canada).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TerrynJean_Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House of Commons also viewed

 

Been to The House of Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing