We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Dog House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
“Best Western Dog House”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you want to hear dogs bark from inside the hotel, outside road noise all night, and the TV of every other guest till late in the night, then you have found your hotel. There was no room to eat breakfast, unless you like standing in the Lobby, and there was no Air Conditioning in the room, so be sure to bring a portable fan if plan on visiting this facility during the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    267
    73
    11
    23
See reviews for
270
298
62
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Ptmargian Lodge in Dillon has a great location right on the lake. A simple walk across the street brings you to the shoreline. The outside is always festive with blooming flowers and the staff are considerate and helpful. They continue to improve each year, adding amenities. The breakfast is ample and varied. Rooms are nice, and we appreciated the recent addition of refrigerators. A large hot tub accommodates a number of people, and the grounds are clean, with green grass and hanging flowers. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We chose this Motel because we have stayed there before. However, this time we asked for Building 1 - open door view to the beautiful Lake Dillon! This Best Western is very clean, friendly, walking distance to some bars and restaurants. Our new find was the Tiki Bar at the Marina (owned and run by Pug Ryans - also a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Get a full lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checotah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Booked one Queen room online for a six night stay. The reservation page said "pet friendly" but gave no options for claiming a pet during the reservation process. We arrived for check-in and were told that the room we reserved was not pet-friendly "all pet-friendly rooms are double-beds only". Additionally, the room that we were switched to was only available for 5 nights so we were required to move rooms on the final day of our stay. The website Did Not Mention that the hotel Does Not have air conditioning....or ceiling fans....which wouldn't be a huge deal if my husband & I weren't already cramped in a double bed! The rooms are clean & the view of Dillon Lake is beautiful....But the hotel staff (manager in particular) is less than helpful and borders on sheer rudeness! Definitely our first and only stay @ this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildwestmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I needed to stay near Dillon, CO and was pleased to find a moderately priced hotel. Not being a Best Western Plus hotel I did not expect the best. How surprised I was. First, the hotel overlooks the lake...just beautiful. The room was modern and spacious. The bathroom was fantastic, no cramped old fashion facilities here. For the free wifi I didn't even have to juggle a password...it worked perfectly. I don't know the criteria Best Western uses to designate their Plus hotels, but this place was nicer than many Best Western Plus hotels to I have stayed. There is a restaurant and Pub on the premises, and it was great too. Free breakfast in the room off the lobby was better than most...everything hot that should have been, the selection and quality of food was very good. They even have a commercial toaster that is fast and large capacity. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I just had no complaints about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snavdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

About 1.5 hours from Denver airport, past the Eisenhower Tunnel, this location definitely puts you high in the Rockies and offers convenient day trips to Frisco, Keystone, Breckenridge, and Vail. This could be a "last night" stop if you are mindful of traffic going East to the tunnel, especially on Sundays (goi70.com).
In late June the lake was beautiful and watching the boats on the water with the snow-tipped mountains above was reminiscent of the Alps, with the advantage that the room prices are about 4 times less expensive than Europe. Earlier reviews of Lake Dillion/Frisco Reservoir noted the very low water levels but by late June the snow runoff had improved the situation so that the views were lovely. I took advantage of the walking/biking trails around the lake and reserved a Water Taxi to return. There are boats for rent and a little Tiki bar at the marina.
The Best Western Ptarmigan is beside the lake, next door to the terrific Arapahoe Cafe'. It seems to have been built in two sections: the main old-style motel where the office is located with rooms that open to the parking lot, and the lodge-style condos/suites built in clusters separate from the motel section. We had a double room ($99.24 incl. taxes) near the office facing the parking lot and lake. The room was clean and smelled fresh with the usual amenities of large TV , small fridge, iron/board. The beds had a bit of a sag in the middle but did offer a decent night's sleep. The only disturbance was that we could hear other guests talking in their rooms or out on the walkway after we went to bed; and a garbage dumpster woke us in the morning. I would think that a 2nd room or condo might offer more complete quiet if that is important to you.
As far as free motel breakfasts go, this one is generous with boiled & scrambled eggs and make-your-own waffles. Other reviews mentioned a crowded breakfast room: we took ours outside and I would suggest to the Best Western management that they use some of the adjoining lobby space for a few tables and put some tables outside. There was free use of a computer/internet in the lobby.
I usually do not like using hotel pools/hot tubs but the hot tub and sauna were so clean and there was no smell of chlorine that usually bothers me. I enjoyed the large hot tub to myself (large enough to paddle around in) and then walked down to the lake and went in waste-deep for a real hot-cold spa treatment. Terrific ; however I had a headache later and so started pounding water. I never experienced a reaction to high altitude on previous visits, but now that I'm over 50 I seem to be more sensitive, especially after drinking alcohol. Next time I'm in the Rockies I will over-hydrate prior; bring some Coca Tea; buy a $10 O2 canister, and try other natural remedies such as:
1) CHLOR-OXYGEN - min 2 drops in water 2x/day and DRINK H20
2) CoQ10 - 100mg 2x/day and DRINK H2O
3) GINKO BILOBA - 2caps 2x/day and did I mention DRINK LOTS OF WATER.
There is also an O2 store in Vail Village that is reported to be very helpful.

Room Tip: Second Floor Facing Lake if in main motel. Condo if absolute quiet is necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our stay here was ok. I asked for a room upstairs witha view of the lake if possible & recieved a room down stairs with the view of a pine tree. I have stayed here in the past & was a little disappointed both times. the two positive things are a short walk to the lake & a great place to eat breakfast lunch or dinner next door.

Room Tip: Request a room away from any outside doors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctopcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.6 mi away
The Dillon Inn
The Dillon Inn
#3 of 7 in Dillon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Inn
Silver Inn
#2 of 13 in Silverthorne
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge

Property: Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing