We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced and Clean with Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Certificate of Excellence
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced and Clean with Great Location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is hard to beat a place where you can look out over the reservoir from your room and see the ski slopes of Keystone and Breckenridge. While it is nothing fancy and a bit old, it is well maintained, very clean and breakfast is included in the reasonable price. We asked for and got a second floor room in Bldg 1 so we would have a view. The rooms are spacious and clean. The shower in the bathroom was nice and the hot water was plentiful. Their sinks have lots of countertop space so no problems finding a place to lay out the toiletries. The Marina Park is right across the street as is the amphitheater. We were able to walk to three decent restaurants - all within a block and a half. You can easily access the bike/walking trail that goes around the reservoir and down to Silverthorne. The breakfast offerings were pretty good and included sausage, scrambled eggs, breakfast pastries, a waffle station, fresh fruit, coffee and juice, various breads, and yogurt. We've stayed here twice and well definitely visit on our next trip here.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room in Bldg 1 (note: no elevator so you have to hoof your luggage up the ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NV_Travelers_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
06098, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    267
    73
    11
    23
See reviews for
270
298
62
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Showed up unannounced due to last second glitch in original plans. Really wanted to stay elsewhere but ran out of options. Boy was I pleasantly surprised. The front desk was very accommodating. We had a room overlooking the gorgeous lake. The room was outdated but very clean. I'm used to fancier places but would go back again from past experience. If only they had beds larger than a double. Oh we'll.... For the price we paid we had a lake front / mountain view. that's hard to beat!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorLover4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, RI, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In the fancy ski resorts of Colorado there aren't too many choices of reasonably priced pet friendly hotels. That's why we picked the BW Ptarmigan Lodge in Dillon. The setting is lovely, right on the lake, with lots of walking space for your dog (in the summer). We paid a bit more for a room with a fridge, which we needed. It was a bit on the small side, but adequate for two and an 18 lb. dog. Mt. nights can be cold, but the room was overheated & took a long time to adjust. If you're travelling in the summer, there is NO A/C.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Margo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELLIJAY
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel overlooking Lake Dillon. We always have a great experience and enjoy the close location to Key Stone and Breckinridge. Very comfortable and the breakfast was excellant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GARY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Deigo, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were heading to Vail, but had to stop for the night because of the snow and Ice. We like Best Western because they allow pets, so we found the closes one in Dillon Lake. I was surprise of the beautiful view, the helpful staff, awesome food next door at the Pub, and a great breakfast. It was a cold night and I was a little skeptical of the floor heaters, but it work out great. Great Location. We are now Best Western Members. They never let us down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Delozier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've stayed at many Best Westerns all over the world. I love how many are owned by family's or individuals and are branded a Best Western because of their great service. Unfortunately, this Best Western is not a good representation of the brand.

I booked my stay over Priceline, it was much cheaper than through the site. I arrived in the afternoon for a 3 night stay. At check in I was asked if 2 double beds was okay, I said "If they had 1 king available that would be great but if not 2 double beds is fine" she said she had a king room available, and she would change it. She said "okay" and then as she finished checking me in she said "never-mind I can't give you a king and 2 queens will be $20 extra a night" I declined. I said if there was a room with a view I would appreciate that instead. She then said she only has 1 room available and said they are fully booked. Hmmm...quite a change from what she previously said.

We got to our room in building 4, when I opened the door the smell hit me. I can't even describe it, but it was awful. I went to the door leading the the porch to air out the room, only to find out it didn't open. Not that it would matter, I opened the curtains to find out it was like being in a dungeon. No light coming in, a view onto a brick wall, and no porch.

The beds were hard, and the pillows hard and lumpy. The double beds were bolted down to to floor, so i couldn't push them together. My fiance and I had to sleep in separate beds! This was supposed to be a relaxing weekend for us and we couldn't even share a bed.

The carpet was dark, and filthy, I didn't even want to walk around barefoot. The only nice thing about the room was the bathroom.

Breakfast was advertised as a full hot breakfast. The eggs were soggy, sausage so dry it wasn't edible, bread stale. I didn't even eat our 3rd day, I couldn't stomach it. My fiance only had yogurt, as everything else was unappetizing.

The hot tub was a plastic, it smelled like urine and the water wasn't clear. The hot tub was supposed to be open 10AM-9:30PM, so no morning after workout soak, very disappointing AND the clock is 30 minutes fast in the hot tub area so we were kicked out 30 minutes early, despite our phones showing it was actually 9:02PM, but it didn't matter. It was icing on the cake to a crappy weekend in this dump.

This in a supposed 3 star hotel. I would have expected this from a 1 or 2 star hotel. 3 star hotels are Hiltons, Double Tree, Holiday Inn sometimes, and Hyatt, NOT Best Western and NOT this hotel. Even if it was rated at a proper 2 or 1 star level the rooms should have been cleaner, and no one should have to stay in a smelly dungeon.

All these other reviewers were lucky and slightly jaded to have a nice room with a view, but the way I was treated I will never go back there nor recommend it. Having a room with a view does not change the state the hotel is in and my rating would remain the same.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in building 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumann84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
06098, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to bring these things to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. We hope you consider a stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have used this hotel number of times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are exceptionally large with comfortable beds. Many rooms have a balcony complete with table and chairs- some with a scenic view of Lake Dillon and the mountains beyond, The facility is in a very quiet location well off any busy roads, yet convenient to the small town of Dillon and a variety of good restaurants. The folks at the front desk are cordial and helpful. The breakfast is more than adequate.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake and the mountains is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.6 mi away
The Dillon Inn
The Dillon Inn
#3 of 7 in Dillon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Inn
Silver Inn
#2 of 13 in Silverthorne
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge

Property: Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing